Ludum Dare 30 — August 22nd-25th, 2014 — Theme: Connected Worlds

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend (Games) | MiniLD #53 | Wallpaper (1) (2) (3) | Mailing List ]

Back to Browse Entries

Tile Drifter

by SpaceEngineers.Normalize() - Jam Entry

[Note]
This game was created at the PilloJam 2014. The original controllers were 2 pillows with pressure sensors, each controlling one of the thrusters. Check www.pillogames.com for more info.

[Description]
TileDrifter is an explorative game which lets the player drift around in colorful tile-based worlds.
The game consists of several worlds which all tell the player how to get to the next world in a certain way.
The player has to watch carefully how the world reacts to him as it reacts more dramatic the further away from the goal.

[Controls]
Left Engine: A or Left Arrow
Right Engine: D or Right Arrow

[Credits]
Alexander Arends
Ruud van Boerdonk
Paul Hermens
Luuk Waarbroek

[Special thanks]
pillogames.com
Pedja Koncar
Maarten Crefcour

http://tiledrifter.com/

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#125Audio(Jam)3.63
#138Innovation(Jam)3.53
#308Fun(Jam)3.16
#327Overall(Jam)3.30
#358Theme(Jam)3.21
#368Graphics(Jam)3.42
#461Mood(Jam)2.94
#1730Coolness33%

Comments

MRvanderPants says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 7:17am

Great game! The controls are really hard at first, but that just adds up to the fun

Kedume Bits says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 10:32am

The controls transforms an easy game into a hard one. I like the graphics and music.

bob_fish says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 10:33am

very had controls, but game is quite fun because of that! Nice music and art as well!

capsizedmoose says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 10:41am

nice little game :)

Rothens says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 10:41am

Game completed! :) Well, this was pretty hard, especially because I'd put the controls exactly in reverse. But the visuals are nice, the audio is nice, and I almost get a seizure on the last level, and I enjoyed that after getting used to the controls :D

Terrabalt says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 10:55am

Great game! love how there's many ways of telling the player the hole place.
Also, do you know how to do that glitching thing on the last level?

Aug 26, 2014 @ 11:16am

What glitch? :)

Aug 26, 2014 @ 11:22am

We used steffantans's glitch shader and script, you can find it on his github: https://github.com/staffantan/unityglitch

pedja says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 12:50pm

"This game was created at the PilloJam 2014. The original controllers were 2 pillows with pressure sensors, each controlling one of the thrusters. Check www.pillogames.com for more info."

I bet this is so much fun with 2 players using pillows as controllers :)

43iscoding says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 6:57pm

Very interesting game, controls seemed impossible at first, but the I got used to it :)

hogtrick says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 6:57pm

Pretty nice to control the ship. Music is nice too.

Aug 26, 2014 @ 7:09pm

Very interesting and relaxing game, could of really used more direction but very nice, especially the music and innovative control scheme.

Pitoum says ...
Aug 29, 2014 @ 5:11pm

Tips: I turned my keyboard upside down and controls became much more fun! You should try to invert Left/Right effect :)

Artamus says ...
Sep 3, 2014 @ 3:59pm

Nice game, congrats!

cstudios says ...
Sep 8, 2014 @ 8:56pm

first i was just pressing left and right repeatedly, then i figured out that i can push both buttons at the same time :D.

I did like the innovative control scheme, the graphics were nice, the colors and the music. To bad that it had no point in the game just finding the portals.

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]