Ludum Dare 30 — August 22nd-25th, 2014 — Theme: Connected Worlds

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend (Games) | MiniLD #53 | Wallpaper (1) (2) (3) | Mailing List ]

Back to Browse Entries

Soul Shepherds: Passing Ghasts

by A Flat Miner Studios - Jam Entry

Have you ever wondered about the afterlife? No? Well... fine. But let's pretend you had for a moment. What happens to your soul when you die? How do you get from one world to the next? Meet Cheryl and Sonia! It's their job to make sure the good guys go up and the bad guys go down. Grab your game controller, hop on your PC, and get ready to find out just how crazy a job they have!

Best played 1P or 2P with a single Xbox controller. (Left stick for Sonia the reaper, right stick for Cheryl the angel.) Can also be played with WASD/Arrow keys.

AFlatMiner Studios is...
Carla Castillo, Dexter Davison, Micha Faw, Jesse Slade, Jodi Slade, Jen Thrasher, and John Thrasher

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness66%
#61Graphics(Jam)4.31
#77Theme(Jam)3.82
#109Humor(Jam)3.29
#159Overall(Jam)3.56
#246Audio(Jam)3.36
#248Mood(Jam)3.33
#278Innovation(Jam)3.21
#391Fun(Jam)3.00

Comments

stink123456 says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 2:46pm

Cool idea and nicely executed!

ShivaFang says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 2:55pm

Very well executed.

tillrobby says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 3:03pm

Game looks very good :)

everystone says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 3:03pm

Nice done, I laughed out loud at the sound fx.

Stepwise says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 3:06pm

Cool idea! Found myself wishing I could do levels perfectly, or do chunks perfectly. Realized it'd be pretty hard! The sketched art was a pretty nice touch, as were the sounds.

Satyre says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 3:21pm

Nice game. I find it difficult to play alone, but 2 players can have a lot of fun together. The graphics are polished and the gameplay fast to learn.

puppetmaster says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 4:03pm

+Intro Screen
+Graphics
-Sound
-boring

Almax27 says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 4:09pm

Nice tight gameplay, excellent music, no bugs (that I could see :P) and cool to see a 2P game. Good work!

Lvyn says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 5:55pm

Well done, graphics are great love the animation ^^, the idea is simple but that's hard ! I'm a **** at it :D, this would make a nice two player coop game (much easier ^^).

GFM says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 11:47pm

Nice game. :)
I think this could be really good as a co-op/competitive game. But, I didn't find it as fun as a single player one...

Aug 27, 2014 @ 2:36am

"Percentage of souls herded: 66.67%" Man, I truly am a natural at this Heaven/Hell stuff.

Controls feel a bit weird, but I'm pretty sure that's related to character positioning more than an actual technical issue; having the game go horizontally would be a lot easier on the brain.

Handdrawn art and audio are great. Game flows smoothly, without any major issue.

Good job!

aeveis says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 5:09am

21600 was my score! I think there was a bit too much on the screen to manage everything (I played with keyboard), maybe if the people moved slower or if there were less people. I did like the bouncing back and forth mechanic, maybe focus on that for something to move forward with? overall I liked the concept!

ninjascript says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 6:00am

Looks fabulous, extremely tough to play. Excellent work!

TehSkull says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 6:01am

This is just a little bit annoyingly hard. I just feel like crap when I miss even one, which makes it frustrating to me. Good quality on the gameplay and the art though. Very smooth and gorgeous.

Rage Paint says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 6:01am

Nice game. Really enjoyed the artwork and all the little side comments being made. Overwhelming to play by yourself but I could see this being a good co-op game.

Tommislav says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 6:03am

A very hard game for me. Guess I'm not that good at multitasking =). Excellent graphics.

jjhaggar says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 6:07am

Hahaha, it's really fun for 2 players! I like it a lot, great job! :D

lekochen says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 7:45am

32600. Well done!

Aug 27, 2014 @ 1:44pm

Feel free to post your overall % and high score. (And difficulty levels if you changed them!) Playing a little bit of soul pong might be the secret to a high score. (Or not!)

Amvere says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 3:05am

Very nice graphics! It really bent my brain trying to keep both characters moving. I would have liked to see my score after each game though. Overall, a really impressive game!

Sep 4, 2014 @ 1:46am

Love the ambient sounds that combine with the music.

vinull says ...
Sep 6, 2014 @ 1:08am

Some very nice artwork and music/sound. The gameplay was a little chaotic and I felt like I should be catching them all but I guess that's not supposed to happen.

Sep 7, 2014 @ 4:39pm

Sweet graphics, nice two player. I included it in part 18 of my Ludum Dare 30 Compilation video series, if you’d like to check it out :) http://youtu.be/Ix-68aPFWAc

Moosefly says ...
Sep 13, 2014 @ 1:41pm

Nice graphics and atmoshpere, although the voice overs get a tad annoying after a while. Really hard to play alone, got a bit over 60% herded correctly. Cool options menu, should've probably set it to something easier than the default mode before playing.

Anssi@MooseflyGames

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]