Ludum Dare 30 — August 22nd-25th, 2014 — Theme: Connected Worlds

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend (Games) | MiniLD #53 | Wallpaper (1) (2) (3) | Mailing List ]

Back to Browse Entries

A Game of Worlds Colliding

by Dx724 - 48 Hour Compo Entry

Should work with Java 7 now :)

Left and Right Arrow to Move. SHIFT to switch between protected and unprotected. You move faster when unprotected, but can't block your planet from incoming planets. When protected (yellow cover above head), hit planets to destroy them. If a planet reaches the center of your planet, the screen will become gray and you will lost. There is a sort of ring in the top-left corner, more will spawn there and some will get stuck in the top-center and the left-middle. Later on, more will spawn near the bottom-right also.

The more you move in one direction, the further the black square by your shield will move away from you. That's what will destroy planets, so remember to move in both directions.

I know worlds and planets aren't the same, the original plan was to have some planets connect and merge with your planet, but I ran out of time.

NOTE - v1.01 is the game as it was originally meant to be although the originally uploaded version is faster/more exciting. The original version is sometimes unbeatable due to planets spawning too fast as I had 2 functions running at
10x the speed so I could test faster. It's your choice which one you want to play.

Some planets will move wildly/extremely fast. That can be
considered a feature - it's planets moving fast and passing your planet instead of hitting it. As for the top and middle, that is the ring or vortex mentioned above.

Sorry if it's bad - didn't have much time to work on it (I'm very young - don't want to say my age though and being my first LD, didn't expect to need as much time as it took).

Made in Java.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#1040Theme2.38
#1105Innovation2.24
#1185Fun1.88
#1196Overall2.21
#1197Graphics1.65
#1364Coolness46%

Comments

Aug 25, 2014 @ 3:27pm

Can't play, keep getting "A Java Exception has occured"

Ohems says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 3:48pm

Is it a bug or a feature that some of the planets go really wild? :) Also, game over screen is just gray. Idk if that's how it's supposed to be.

Ekilibr says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 5:20pm

I've tried to launch it, but it definitely don't work :(

Dx724 says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 10:52pm

@Ohems Game over is supposed to be gray. Didn't have time to do the text :P The planets going wild was kind of supposed to be a feature, but it's unfinished, partially caused by me leaving 2 numbers multiplied by 10 from when I was testing.

Also, A Java Exception has occurred seems to be happening to some people, but I can't reproduce it on my machine so I can't fix it.

fleegle2000 says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 11:21pm

I got a Java Exception when I tried to play it.

MacGeekPro says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 12:09am

Java error. :(

xxmicloxx says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 1:15am

The error is "Unsupported major/minor version 52.0"...
I don't have java 8. Compile for java 7/6 and everything should work!

ChuiGum says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 1:17am

Pretty innovative!

LexGear says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 2:52pm

Could not be launched. Java error :(

Cake&Code says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 3:32pm

Agreeing with xxmicloxx here, I have java7 set to be my machine default so it wouldn't open. When I tried used java8 it worked, if you recompile it with java7 more people will be able to play it out of the box since 7 is installed on almost every machine while 8 is only on a smaller set.

Dx724 says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 5:23pm

@Cake&Code thanks, yeah I realized it was compiled with java8 but wasn't 100% sure if that was the problem. Thanks

Endurion says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 5:43pm

Sorry, no Java.

gnuwind says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 1:27pm

sorry, it's couldn't work for me.

Headmade says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 1:36pm

The game worked for me. Keep working hard and one day you might make a great game. Starting at a young age is a huge advantage.

gene-z says ...
Aug 30, 2014 @ 7:06pm

Don't work

avh4 says ...
Sep 4, 2014 @ 4:29am

Congrats on your first LD, I hope you enjoyed it! The original version was way too hard, but the 1.01 version didn't seem to spawn any planets for me. The circular playing field is unusual to see in a game but you implemented it well, and I thought the fast/slow movement when protected/unprotected was a cool idea.

Dx724 says ...
Sep 6, 2014 @ 7:41pm

@avh4, v1.01 spawns planets a lot slower than v1, so it could take up to a minute to spawn a planet that will go towards the planet as a few planets will shoot past, as not all planets would be moving towards the center of the larger planet. Thanks for the feedback.

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]