Ludum Dare 30 — August 22nd-25th, 2014 — Theme: Connected Worlds

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend (Games) | MiniLD #53 | Wallpaper (1) (2) (3) | Mailing List ]

Back to Browse Entries

ColouredWorlds

by sai_aya - 48 Hour Compo Entry

There are four coloured worlds, each one has different physics. You have the power to switch from one to another. Try to reach the end of the level by choosing wisely and quickly !

Note : If you want to play on MacOS X/Linux, you have to download LOVE at love2d.org.


Tools used : Lua, LOVE, The GIMP, Inkscape, MuseScore

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#66Audio3.72
#102Overall3.77
#121Theme3.85
#124Fun3.65
#133Innovation3.80
#166Mood3.50
#301Graphics3.50
#1694Coolness35%

Comments

micahcowan says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 2:57am

I had some difficulty running it on Mac OS X: it got an error while trying to load the level files. I don't think it was finding it via the relative path: you might make it easier by finding the path containing ColouredWorlds.love and setting it as the current working directory.

I worked around it by dropping the "love" app directly in the same directory, and then running in the terminal:

$ love.app/Contents/MacOS/love ColouredWorlds.love

micahcowan says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 3:12am

A lot of fun, and good use of the theme. Never quite beat that 10th level. The 9th sure tricked me. Geat game idea! Would love to see it developed further.

Pcholt says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 7:39am

Finished the game! Boy that last level is hard! Excellent game, well done.

Got it working on Linux by
1. Adding the LÖVE PPA (https://launchpad.net/~bartbes/+archive/love-stable)
2. Adding LÖVE with (sudo apt-get install love)
3. cd into the installation directory
4. run "love ColouredWorlds.love"

Vallar says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 12:31pm

I really liked the concept of the game and somehow it made me feel like I am playing with Alice in Wonderland with each world and effect of itself.

It was fun and I liked the puzzles. Although some of them didn't quite feel obvious but generally got to it but I didn't beat level 9 I think (forgot which).

All in all it was really a good game.

Good work :)

ronaldm says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 5:20pm

Nice game, I had fun playing it!

Bozwellox says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 8:28pm

Great mechanics and I love those transitions, graphically and musically. Just wish there were more levels, but I suppose that's one of the limitations of LD

arttut02 says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 9:06pm

Nice idea and fun to play! I also didn't get past the level 9..

sai_aya says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 12:58pm

Thanks for the feedback everyone!
And special thanks to micahcowan and Pcholt for giving instructions to run my game on Linux and MacOS X.

- SPOILER -
If you are stuck in level 9, are you sure you tried every world? The solution isn't what you'd expect...
- /SPOILER -

Aug 26, 2014 @ 10:56pm

Very nice take on the theme. Fun to play and original.

AtomicVikings says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 3:52pm

quite challenging, concept works really well! great job! :D

Rage Paint says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 4:03pm

Nice game. The different world concepts were pretty easy to pick up with your level design. The only controls that threw me off was inverting the controls on the green world.

Nooner Bear says ...
Aug 30, 2014 @ 7:03pm

Neat application of the theme

bluesky says ...
Aug 30, 2014 @ 7:11pm

this game is awesome. Really nice done!*

Moosefly says ...
Aug 30, 2014 @ 7:39pm

Too bad I already saw a playtrough at @AtomicVikings' livestream so I already know all the puzzles and such :P. I also think that inverting the controls in the green world was a mistake, since it takes some getting used to and didn't feel very intuitive even in the end. Although each of the worlds had their own melody they got pretty repetitive after some time. Good entry nonetheless!

Anssi@MooseflyGames

5T4MP5 says ...
Aug 30, 2014 @ 7:45pm

I really liked the music transition. The world switching mechanic works nicely, and reminds me a bit of Quantum Conundrum. I like the trial and error approach, but some more consistent logic to how the world switches affect the levels would be cool. Very well done.

Resonious says ...
Sep 4, 2014 @ 12:58am

Dude that was sweet. Very neat puzzle solving.

teamawesome says ...
Sep 15, 2014 @ 8:23pm

Wow, brilliant entry. The musical themes are amazing, and the mechanics are sublime. Great work!

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]