Ludum Dare 30 — August 22nd-25th, 2014 — Theme: Connected Worlds

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend (Games) | MiniLD #53 | Wallpaper (1) (2) (3) | Mailing List ]

Back to Browse Entries

Galacticonga

by nkornek - 48 Hour Compo Entry

Galacticonga is a game of ever expanding conga lines! Press Spacebar on the beat to conga!

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#1948Coolness22%

Comments

varun says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 4:03am

Cute presentation! My only gripe is that I wish there was a better visual indicated for exactly when to press the beat.

capsizedmoose says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 12:01pm

I agree withe the one above me. it's really hard, but it could become reaally fun :D

Aug 25, 2014 @ 4:37pm

I wish it had music to get the beat too, it would make the game a bit easier. :P I included it in part 4 of my Ludum Dare 30 compilation video series :) http://youtu.be/ydSxZiryhsI

Aug 25, 2014 @ 9:27pm

It's adorable, but much too fast ! Anyway I love those characters :D

nkornek says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 6:34pm

Balancing the difficulty is definitely something that I'll be working on. There's a lot more to conga with than just the people, but so far I don't think anyone has managed to make it far enough to see the cars/houses/multi-story-buildings that you can eventually add to your conga line

CogComp says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 6:52pm

Great game idea! But I have to agree with Varun that it needs a better indicator on when one should press the beat.

Aug 27, 2014 @ 1:32pm

It looks really cute, but the way it controls feels off! As it is, the player's best bet seems to be to just mash space as quickly as possible. Could do with audio, obviously, and it'd probably help if it were more lenient with the timing but punished completely spurious presses.

DragonInstall says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 2:08pm

Like the game it is very cool. Good art. Good concept. Lots of potential.
If you plan to improve this. You must have musics and press indicator. Also a progressive difficulty would be nice. Like for example beats get faster or more complicated as the song goes on.

mechabit says ...
Aug 29, 2014 @ 11:07am

cute!

yodamaster says ...
Aug 30, 2014 @ 6:27am

Web doesn't work.

cardboard says ...
Aug 30, 2014 @ 6:23pm

I think one reason I found this game so hard is because the audio is a bit out of sync. The game is very unique, and the graphics are pretty, though the drum doesn't match the style of the other art. The animations and 'characters' further down the line are cool. :)

IamAcoconut says ...
Sep 15, 2014 @ 7:35pm

Pretty good game! Could use some nice conga background music to go with the beats!

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]