Ludum Dare 30 — August 22nd-25th, 2014 — Theme: Connected Worlds

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend (Games) | MiniLD #53 | Wallpaper (1) (2) (3) | Mailing List ]

Back to Browse Entries

Follow The Light

by kostka - 48 Hour Compo Entry

This is my first game ever. You need to find light which will take you to other labyrinth in other world.

Exit will work only playing using exe file.
Next level take you to the beginning of 1 level as I did not finish 2 level on time.

Welcome to my labyrinth ;]

Linux! : I build Linux version but I don't have possibility to check, if it works. Tell me if something is wrong.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness60%
#615Graphics3.00
#845Theme2.79
#907Humor1.69
#922Mood2.54
#1054Innovation2.38
#1075Overall2.58
#1139Fun2.09

Comments

mrexcessive says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 2:28pm

Hi, Liked the graphics and mood. Found the first light, wasn't sure how to proceed - some instructions on webpage or in game would be good. Looks good - as far as I could get!

iSamurai says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 2:53pm

The idea is cool. The light is the connection of the two worlds. However, I don't know how to proceed to the next level, as I got Next Leve or Exit popup, and I chose Next Level, it returns the same old level.

Daisy64 says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 4:34pm

Liked the concept. It was neat to see the transition to get you to find the next light. Too bad that you weren't able to finish the second level in time, but not a bad start for 48 hours!

Aug 25, 2014 @ 5:32pm

I liked the levels art style :)

kdunee says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 6:22pm

The controls didn't work for me :<. I tried web and windows version and I kept walking into one wall, diagonally. Tried everything with mouse and keyboard. Anyway, nice artwork ;)

Aug 25, 2014 @ 6:55pm

this game would be good if it had some exta levels.

r0x0r says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 7:22pm

can you make a linux build, please?

kostka says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 9:21pm

@kdunee
Only thing that comes to my mind is that maybe you have connected joypad? I once heard about that kind of problem with xbox joypad, but not in this game.
Noone had problem with playing :(

ehtd says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 10:08pm

Art is really nice, too bad is a short game

r0x0r says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 10:28pm

the linux build works fine

MyougaHiroshi says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 7:47pm

Liked the game, nice graphics, but too short :( Anyway it's a nice game

LuisDC says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 11:45am

I like the graphics and concept, but it is difficult to judge with just a tutorial level. Maybe next levels with enemies, traps and so, would improve the fun a lot.

c023-dev says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 11:52am

Heya! Congratulations on getting the idea out! Nice title image and concept. Keep it up!

yodamaster says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 2:23pm

I like the perspective. You should expand this with levels, sounds, enemies, objects etc.

idovingx says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 4:34pm

Great job for your first game! Definitely keep at it! I also like the drawing of the main guy.

Aglavra says ...
Aug 29, 2014 @ 11:31am

I liked the design and mood of the game.

zeal says ...
Aug 29, 2014 @ 11:36am

Too bad about the second level missing. Nice ideas.

Rehacked says ...
Aug 29, 2014 @ 1:14pm

Good game but i is there any end in game ?

kostka says ...
Aug 30, 2014 @ 2:00pm

@Rehacked
In the beginning I had an idea, that the labyrinths are different worlds not only in colour. I wanted to make some cave,forest and other different environments. Hero was supposed to look for his way home through all this worlds, and find it at the end.
But this is idea which can be improved beside contest, because 48 hours was to short time to build even second level, for beginner like me:P

I am sure that I will make more levels in September after exams.

Drew Van Camp says ...
Aug 30, 2014 @ 3:23pm

Hmm, I really like the basic concept of a labyrinth of lights. Perhaps the lights could be seen from further away so that you know what general direction you're supposed to head but then allow the maze to make a direct path unavailable, thus making it more puzzling. Would love some music and sound effects! I'm guessing I saw the whole thing, though I was really hoping to see more. But I totally realize that you wanted to create a lot more and just ran out of time. Played through it twice in a row, so I guess I enjoyed it! (:

Nice work, especially for your first game! Congratulations! Will you expand it?

kostka says ...
Sep 1, 2014 @ 10:11am

@Drew Van Camp
Yes I will.
I can't wait, as I'll pass the exams, I'll be expanding the game.
I have more desire with every positive comment. I'm very happy when I see that my first game is so well accepted. It encourage me for action.

egor-idiot says ...
Sep 15, 2014 @ 7:18pm

Crazy game %)

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]