Ludum Dare 30 — August 22nd-25th, 2014 — Theme: Connected Worlds

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend (Games) | MiniLD #53 | Wallpaper (1) (2) (3) | Mailing List ]

Back to Browse Entries

6 Dimensions

by Fanttum - 48 Hour Compo Entry

6 Dimensions is a puzzle platformer that will test you skills, reflexes, and make you think on your feet in interesting ways.

You control 3 connected characters at once in different worlds as you make your around each plain getting to a single tip on the cube. Run, jump, and puzzle your way in these interesting levels that will make make you wonder.

Move with WASD, or the arrow keys. each key represents 2 of the dimensions for each of the 3 characters, thus 6 dimensions.

Enjoy!

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness58%
#185Innovation3.68
#318Fun3.33
#339Overall3.42
#417Theme3.43
#806Graphics2.71
#838Humor1.90
#875Mood2.61
#994Audio1.44

Comments

Fanatrick says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 3:46am

Very neat concept. The characters don't interact a lot, you basically complete every character's own set of puzzles in a level.

GreenyUk says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 3:49am

Really like this game, lot's of fun and a cool concept. I do feel it's lacking audio and some effects badly, but really fun to play.

Matt Hartley says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 3:49am

Very fun, quite addictive :D

wolfmother says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 3:51am

Not a bad effort. It's a little too easy to solve each player character separately, since each stops when they reach the goal - the challenge in this kind of puzzle is in getting them to all work together. Making puzzles like that is a lot harder, though.

haveric says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 3:52am

I like the concept of this almost more than I like the gameplay. I made it quite a ways through, only to be frustratingly killed by the fireballs because red would overjump when I was trying to jump green. The levels I really liked are the ones where you have to collect the colored keys to help out the others.

Altourus says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 3:54am

Very Cool

martindilling says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 3:54am

Have the same comment as Fanatrick :)
But I really like the idea :)

OnlySlightly says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 3:57am

Awesome idea. And slick minimalist look and feel. This would be a fun game to speed run.

Fanttum says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 4:10am

Thanks for all the comments. I wish I could have added sound and effects but this is my first LD and I did all of this under 10 hours so I ran out of time more or less. Given more time I would have made more levels and added more connectivity between the sides, but I wanted to nail down these concepts for the compo and let people see into what I was thinking, and what is possible with this concept. For those who say is it too easy, wait until the last two levels ;)

Miziziziz says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 4:16am

Pretty cool, but I agree with Fanatrick.
Would be a lot more interesting if you could design the puzzles so there wouldn't need to be the "sticking" when the players reach the end.
Also, would be nice if you could have more control over the players when they're in the air. As it is, it's hard to land them on platforms

varun says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 7:13am

A very cool concept - what's jump for one person is movement for another. Art reminded me a bit of Monument Valley.

badlydrawnrod says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 2:58pm

It is a little too easy to solve the puzzles by treating things more or less individually (ie, once you can get a character to the goal then they're out of the game), but the overall aesthetic is good.

icedvariables says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 4:15pm

Good fun, very clever idea, especially unlocking barriers for ever characters.

ryguydavis says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 6:12pm

Great concept. The first time I completed a level was surprising and delightful. I was impressed with the number of levels you were able to create in such a short time.

DragonXVI says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 7:43pm

Simple enough idea & nicely presented. Lots of levels too. With a bit of polish & maybe some more clever interaction between faces this could be quite nifty!

Calciumtrice says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 10:59pm

This is neat. A simple idea that works nicely and when I wondered if more stuff would be introduced, the next level would have dangers or keys, which was nice and mixed things up.

On the key requiring level, I encountered a bit of a problem by accidentally moving one of my characters into the exit before they'd picked up a key for the others. I couldn't get them out again or find a restart level key so I ended up stopping there.

Fanttum says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 12:58am

Thanks for that heads up, and I see what ya mean. One of those things I would never think of and need testers for.
I could have put in a reset button but I wanted to design around that, guess some bugs always fall threw the cracks when you have such little time :P

SaintHeiser says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 5:28pm

Idea is looking fresh and interesting.
Only continiusly falling through walls makes me mood while playing.

Vallar says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 10:18pm

Played the game and it is quite fun. Interesting take on the theme too. Was much more playable and manageable than some of the games that had the same concept on LD.

I liked the levels and they progressed well and the difficulty curve was very good. Albeit I encountered a bug that stopped in the level where there were boxes going up and down on the left side while there are fire orbs around the entire level (on the right side there was a long platform with 3-4 orbs beneath it the follow it going up and down).

Every time I jump on the platform on the right side for some reason I slip through and fall from that moving up and down platform.

All in all it was really a cool game and I enjoyed it. Could have used some art, but definitely that might be the time limit. That said, congratulations on your first LD :D

JavadocMD says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 10:39pm

Really cool concept and I love the elegant simplicity of the design. At first I would have agreed with Fanatrick, but the later levels have more interaction, so I was pleased by that. Maybe some simpler interaction in some earlier levels would improve the pacing.

nonetheless says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 7:01am

Nice entry, zooming when dying is a neat touch. Great job!

John Drury says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 11:54pm

Great use of theme with 3D! :3

dustyroom says ...
Aug 29, 2014 @ 7:07am

Fun to play. Great introduction of new features, wish there was audio too.

uvwar says ...
Sep 4, 2014 @ 8:42pm

Making precise jumps was really frustrating me, as I seemed to fly forward with a lot of speed but couldn't stop myself in mid-air. I also kept clipping through a lot of the platforms. Otherwise a solid game!

George says ...
Sep 7, 2014 @ 6:14pm

Really, really cool. Love the concept! You should take this further maybe? :)

Sep 8, 2014 @ 6:52am

Some collisions bugs but not game breaking. It's a great idea and a nice execution. I've enjoyed more the levels where the connected controls were meaningfull because on the first levels, you just move alternatively the colored beans without any real difficulty.

nilstastic says ...
Sep 13, 2014 @ 4:26pm

Good: Very interesting concept combined with an awesome mechanic!
Bad: Graphics could be improved, and no audio?

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]