Ludum Dare 30 — August 22nd-25th, 2014 — Theme: Connected Worlds

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend (Games) | MiniLD #53 | Wallpaper (1) (2) (3) | Mailing List ]

Back to Browse Entries

Columbus Close the Door of Your Seas

by DSalles - 48 Hour Compo Entry

Does an age of exploration have to result in the extinction of some cultures? Open or close doors between continents to allow for the migration of their inhabitants. Individuals grow in size as they interact. Some are larger at the start. Larger ones will replace smaller ones, eventually resulting in a global monoculture. Try to manage the migration to maintain a diversity of populations.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#55Theme4.00
#133Innovation3.80
#1106Graphics2.13
#1171Overall2.31
#1177Fun1.93
#1872Coolness26%

Comments

ethankennerly says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 5:21am

When I saw the embellished map of the world and the people interacting, I felt fascinated. If you continue to develop this, I'd be curious to see how you clarify the technology level of a nation.

Aug 27, 2014 @ 5:51am

This is a neat idea! I love that map graphic in the background, and the jostle is cute. There's a couple things that limited my interaction with it--first of all, that without being able to get a sense of the rules of immigration, or cultural conversion, etc., I didn't feel like my actions had much of an impact. I would open a door and often travel would happen in only one direction--and I wouldn't know why. And then, even with flags marked it was difficult to understand which doors controlled travel between which continents. It'd make more sense, I think, to have them lie on some kind of line between the islands, just for the sake of helping the player make quick decisions.

Thank you for the game!

Marcellus says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 6:04am

Nice web-troll link, it leads to a download... well anyway I played your game.

First of all the screen is too big, half of the game was outside my computer.

But I like the homemade graphics, I played until I discovered that the people grow in size slowly which makes it creepy, and I stopped when argentina conquered the world. I guess if I let all the doors closed, the diversity of population is kept.

If it was a philosophical metaphor, it was one I didn't like that much. I hope you had another idea behind this game.

Will Edwards says ...
Aug 29, 2014 @ 11:00am

The web link doesn't link to a web game, it seems to link to a bunch of windows exes? :(

strong99 says ...
Aug 29, 2014 @ 12:03pm

The idea is nice but it was hard to understand the rules for diversity. Why would I open any door at all if I should maintain diversity of population?

Hempuli says ...
Aug 29, 2014 @ 1:57pm

Interesting concept and neat implementation! It seemed that after a certain point closing the doors no longer prevented people from migrating? I'd love to see this expanded upon!

LandoSystems says ...
Aug 31, 2014 @ 9:59pm

Interesting idea, tough to know quite what's going on though. Good work!

yodamaster says ...
Aug 31, 2014 @ 10:03pm

Not web.

JavadocMD says ...
Aug 31, 2014 @ 10:05pm

Definitely a fascinating concept. Without something to gain by allowing interaction, the easiest way to maintain diversity is to keep everyone separate. This, of course, could be intentional, to make a point -- but in any case this makes this less a game and more an instructional simulation. Still, much praise for the attempt!

vividhelix says ...
Sep 1, 2014 @ 6:53am

Awesome take on the theme - after a while, I decided to open all the doors and could see the monoculture take over...creepy! good job!

moi93101 says ...
Sep 1, 2014 @ 3:30pm

It could be more interesting, but I think it's too "simple" actualy.

commodoreKid says ...
Sep 1, 2014 @ 9:32pm

I can see this original mechanic being a game but glitchy look should be fixed and a proper interface should be added in my opinion. Also a reachable aim for the player would be nice.

Sep 7, 2014 @ 1:55am

It's hard to really tell/predict what opening a door does/will do. Some "cultures" seem to be more likely to travel than others and thus I didn't really feel like I was having any real strategic impact on the outcome.

The idea IS however, quite interesting and it's a truly outstanding "experiment" for a 48h game. It actually leaves you thinking about globalization and cultural exchange.

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]