Ludum Dare 30 — August 22nd-25th, 2014 — Theme: Connected Worlds

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend (Games) | MiniLD #53 | Wallpaper (1) (2) (3) | Mailing List ]

Back to Browse Entries

Music Race to the Moon

by eddiegtp - Jam Entry

A local two-player game. Each player is on a planet and they race to the moon by building a tower out of music notes. Speakers pop out of holes on your planet and create notes that you use to build your tower. Each speaker on your planet is connected to a speaker on the other planet. Pulling a speaker to your planet takes it from the other.

The graphics for this game were hand-drawn with a lot of heart.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#240Humor(Jam)2.77
#303Innovation(Jam)3.17
#322Theme(Jam)3.29
#368Graphics(Jam)3.42
#397Overall(Jam)3.20
#450Mood(Jam)2.96
#468Fun(Jam)2.88
#590Audio(Jam)2.17
#1542Coolness41%

Comments

Makio says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 11:41am

Play with my girlfriend and we love the graphism, but the score isnt rely to musical note ? I was pink ( left ) and get more point but she have more note =(
Anyway we get fun to destroy our keyboard, thanks!

DvanderAart says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 11:46am

Not very challenging ofcourse, but a cool concept.
I actually like the handdrawn look.
Good use of the theme.

yodamaster says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 12:13pm

Frantic and funny! I like the hand-drawn graphics.

mrexcessive says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 4:14pm

Hey. Love the art and game. Blue got there first, nice win graphic.

Bernte says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 8:26pm

I love the visuals! Did you actually scanned the sprites or is it some program? Good pencil style! What about adding notes as music or even chords you build with your tower?

eddiegtp says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 12:17am

Thanks for the comments :) Bernte, I drew everything on paper and scanned them.

stephenhaney says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 1:08am

Very solid. Proof that games don't need to be overly complicated to be fun. I definitely like the art style, frantic gameplay and the mood. If I had to add a critique, I thought the sound could actually add more than it did, but obviously there's only so much time. Very fun and uplifting! Good work!

enderargent says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 1:28am

Pretty impressive!

Miziziziz says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 1:37am

Nothing really seems to happen no matter what you do.
I tried pulling the speakers and nothing happened, then I tried building and sometimes it would work, some time it wouldn't.
the music note score goes up no matter what you do, and seems to be higher for those who don't do anything.
Otherwise, the graphics are nice :)

popcorn897 says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 1:42am

The game is adorable, but not much to play.

jukimv1986 says ...
Aug 30, 2014 @ 7:15pm

hahaha nice! neat concept, a novel take on the connected worlds theme and great execution. cute graphics to top it. great job!

hoyt hoy says ...
Sep 3, 2014 @ 11:59am

Good entry!
Sad I didn't have someone to play with me :/

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]