Ludum Dare 30 — August 22nd-25th, 2014 — Theme: Connected Worlds

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend (Games) | MiniLD #53 | Wallpaper (1) (2) (3) | Mailing List ]

Back to Browse Entries

Down With Unification!

by NickFrushour - 48 Hour Compo Entry

Original Compo version requires Xbox controller
Left Stick: aim your ship
Left Trigger: Throttle
Right Bumper: Shoot
Right Trigger: Tractor Beam

Post-Compo version is available with keyboard controls if you're interested.

Destroy enemy ships and bring their cargo to the rebels before the Unificator shows up to do battle! You'll control more ships in the boss battle for each planet you make happy. So do your best!

Downloads and Links




NickFrushour says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 1:05am

My very first LD. It's not perfect, but I'm super effing proud!

DesignerNap says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 1:15am

Well done for finishing! :D I remember my first and it is a great feeling of accomplishment. Great work! and don't be too hard on yourself, it looks great.

stimpact says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 5:01am

Congrats on completing your first LD :) I thought the controls handled well, and I got a laugh from a couple of moments. Nice job.

GAFBlizzard says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 5:13am

One negative note, I really dislike respawning enemies. I died because of them. Q_Q

I actually have a 360 controller and was able to play using it! The graphics are cute and the idea of playing delivery person is clever. Who knows what those planets are going to do with the poor pets though.

varun says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 6:15am

Applause sfx were quite satisfying.

tmpxyz says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 6:15am

A controller game, great :)

Aug 25, 2014 @ 5:22pm

The grabbing mechanic is nice!

NickFrushour says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 5:50am

Has anyone made it to the boss fight?

elkiwydev says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 10:21am

Well..Can't really play it since i don't have a controller.. Why you did not make a keyboard-game? :|

Aug 26, 2014 @ 5:17pm

Dont have a controller - I included it in part 7 of my Ludum Dare 30 compilation video series :)

MintArcade says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 9:56pm

Good thing I have a whole bunch of controllers, and in this bunch also xbox controller as well. But how many users have keyboard on theirs desktops and laptops - I'd gestimate around 100%. Controller support for PC should be complimentary, not mandatory.
Cool game othervice - nice grabbing mechanic, funny pictures. Congratulations. First LD game is a nice experience for you. Keep up good job.

mcapraro says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 5:29am

would love to play but i dont have an xbox controller, just a keyboard :(

bluemaroo3 says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 3:35pm

Had great fun playing this. The graphics were nice and clear and I liked the pop pop sound of the gun :D

darkshadow says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 3:40pm

That was great fun! It was a bit weird at the end when I seemed to be controlling 10ish ships all bunched together. Is that number of ships dependent on how many planets you satisfied?

jukimv1986 says ...
Aug 30, 2014 @ 7:19pm

Congrats on your first LD. Keep it up and see you on the next one!

Nooner Bear says ...
Sep 1, 2014 @ 12:34am

Great work. Did you record the firing sound effect yourself? I imagine you'll want to include more support if you continue to work on this.

NickFrushour says ...
Sep 2, 2014 @ 8:58pm

Thanks for playing, everyone! I'll get a post-compo build up soon with keyboard support so you can at least play it if you're interested.

@darkshadow: Yes, the number of ships at the end will depend on the number of planets you satisfied.

@Nooner Bear: Yeah, the sound effects were all me. Mostly just making stupid sounds with my mouth.

NickFrushour says ...
Sep 6, 2014 @ 2:18am

Post-compo keyboard version is available!

Sep 6, 2014 @ 9:35pm

Love the Keyboard version! I included it in part 17 of my Ludum Dare 30 Compilation video series, if you’d like to check it out :)

cstudios says ...
Sep 8, 2014 @ 9:32pm

The constant popping of projectiles was annoying. Maybe the mouse control would work better if you would use some other button than the right one on the mouse, because it opened up the context menu.

However its a nice little game. I like the hand drawn style of it.

jojocanard says ...
Sep 11, 2014 @ 12:57pm

Great mechanic. The controls (mainly the way the ship moves) and the identification of the supply icons are not easy to master. But the idea of building your fleet for the boss fight is really fun.

PeerPlay says ...
Sep 15, 2014 @ 7:39pm

Everything but the graphics are awesome about the game. I'm glad I have a controller, it was great fun!

You must sign in to comment.

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs ( and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.

[cache: storing page]