Ludum Dare 30 — August 22nd-25th, 2014 — Theme: Connected Worlds

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend (Games) | MiniLD #53 | Wallpaper (1) (2) (3) | Mailing List ]

Back to Browse Entries

Worlds Apart

by ClownAround - 48 Hour Compo Entry

Controls:
WSDA or arrow keys to move.
SPACE to attack.

Description:
Two people, separated by vast distances, are about to find that their worlds are still connected.

This is may first ludum dare game. Boy that was hard. But I finished.
It's an adventure game inspired by games like zelda,hyper light drifter.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness81%
#417Theme3.43
#471Mood3.09
#663Humor2.17
#818Audio2.18
#827Graphics2.67
#830Fun2.72
#912Overall2.83
#1105Innovation2.24

Comments

Aug 25, 2014 @ 9:47am

Pretty interesting take on the theme. Little rough around the edges, especially with the girl who seems to collide with her own magic missiles so shooting with her in tight places gets difficult.

Dx724 says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 3:05pm

In the second level, shooting while moving left will cause your projectile to stay in place and eventually expand. Possibly cause by your character colliding with it?

Bozwellox says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 12:27am

A good concept but the actual gameplay is a bit sub-par

GLStephen says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 12:40am

I like the feel of this. Awesome start, but doesn't feel complete.

Team Luminous says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 2:25am

Nice!

KuGrou says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 2:50am

I like the concept and style. A bit simple but a good start for your first ludum dare.

brodavi says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 3:15am

Well, I liked the theme and the narrative. There were some pretty bad collision bugs though. Could have been a bit longer. But I liked it :)

artifex says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 3:19am

Nice game, little sad story though. the fact that you cant shoot in diagonal feels weird. Maybe more violent enemies will be a good touch

Scott Baker says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 5:07am

Reading the other comments... Yes this game has some bugs. Yes this game isn't really complete. But this is a perfect translation of the theme. I gave you 5 stars on theme. I love the cause and effect in different worlds. Brilliant! Great narrative and mood too.

Kaelaholme says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 8:52am

Nice short game. Liked the retro style and the narrative - could have used some music though.

enderargent says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 8:53am

Thanks for voting!
Like the concept of your game!

MerlijnVH says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 10:23am

I really like where you were going with this. Two separate characters, their story intertwined through their actions. Good take on the theme!

g_o says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 10:24am

I liked the game style and graphics.
One of the best entries in that repsect.

Aug 26, 2014 @ 10:48am

Liked the character design but did notice you could still shoot when in the text sections.

mrexcessive says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 10:54am

Hey there. I like your ambition and you've done a lot towards satisfying it. The combat and movement works great. Needs a bit more polish on the graphics, love the animated main char though. Good sounds.

lolofinil says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 2:31pm

Good enough as first entry, keep going !

Kiwiboi says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 3:55pm

Nice entry! Great concept, cute graphics and solid audio/gameplay. I feel like 48h limit really hurt it, you could make something really fleshed out with this idea! :) Well done!

LudusPactum says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 4:07pm

Cool game, a BGM would have been great in this case.

TrickFishPie says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 7:24pm

Decent effort. Needs some background music to go with the pretty large levels.

Hypnohustla says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 7:46pm

Good job for your first LD. A bit buggy but a fun little game still. :)

OnlySlightly says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 11:45pm

I really liked the narrative you told through the game, and the way their stories connected with each other.

GAFBlizzard says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 6:17am

Kudos for having both WASD and arrow key support!

I like the idea of two characters in different areas who keep getting annoyed at changes the other one is making. Where did these wolves come from!

Also, those final enemies were scary...

Aug 27, 2014 @ 11:04pm

There are a few collision-detection issues but I REALLY liked the game! At first the text between levels was confusing but then I realized I was switching between two characters whose worlds are connected and it was brilliant! Well done!
Quite amazing for a first LD!

ClownAround says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 2:00am

Thanks to everyone who played and rated! I really appreciate it.

TKia_ says ...
Aug 31, 2014 @ 8:20pm

Very fun gameplay; I liked the magic, it was light and responsive. Also liked the character designs, and I feel like you were touching on a good idea for a story.

tiff says ...
Sep 5, 2014 @ 11:03pm

Really cute little game, loved it!

Kojan says ...
Sep 9, 2014 @ 8:17pm

I really liked the story, I felt really submerged into the game.

whalebot says ...
Sep 9, 2014 @ 9:43pm

Good concept, could use some more polish though.

Cake&Code says ...
Sep 16, 2014 @ 12:43am

It definitely felt like it was a game jam game, which isn't necessarily a bad thing. You have a pretty interesting concept there, but it really needs some polish for it to really shine. (Sometimes I say it's easier to notice the negatives than it is the positives :P ) I thought it was great work though, and the visualization of the theme was interesting.

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: using cached page]