Ludum Dare 30 — August 22nd-25th, 2014 — Theme: Connected Worlds

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend (Games) | MiniLD #53 | Wallpaper (1) (2) (3) | Mailing List ]

Back to Browse Entries

Tangled Mini Worlds

by Lars-Kristian - 48 Hour Compo Entry

A small and fun puzzle game about connected mini worlds. To complete a level, you have to align the worlds with there corresponding goal.

Controls:
Move: Left mouse button
Camera: Right mouse button
Back: Esc

I was very busy this weekend so I only got to spend 12 hours making this game, so it is very short and it features no sound. :(
But I am really happy with the end result. :D
Have fun playing.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#60Innovation4.00
#153Overall3.67
#172Graphics3.80
#223Fun3.48
#348Theme3.53
#625Humor2.23
#630Mood2.89
#997Audio1.43
#1659Coolness36%

Comments

Aug 25, 2014 @ 1:08am

That was clever and cute, good job :)

Lars-Kristian says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 1:32am

Thanks, I am glad you liked it. :D

harko12 says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 2:02am

Nice work. The look is cool, and the idea is cool too. The controls are a little wonky, but that's the only problem I saw.

shico says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 2:18am

This is a fun idea. I like the way the trees shake when it come to a sudden stop, it's a nice touch. I wish there were more levels though I cleared all 6 in less than 5 minutes...

jaunmakenro says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 6:38am

Wow, nice and clever idea ! Good work. It deserve a post compo version with better control and more (and bigger) levels.

chriskdev says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 6:39am

Nice idea! I think the levels were a bit easy, but it was fun to play through :D

nonetheless says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 8:44am

Great idea, nice play on the theme. You should polish it ;)

Tonasz says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 9:17am

I really loved the concept and can't wait till you upgrade it with more levels and better controls. I think it should somehow snap to a grid in order to avoid shaking.

Steve says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 1:30pm

Man this is cool.
Not much to say about the gameplay, it's perfect.
Very short though, I see this being one of those games with a billion levels.

The trees and skyscrapers bouncing around when you move the piece is a nice touch. Some sound and/or music is always a nice touch, so it could do with that.

The controls you've listed on here seem reversed. It's left to drag, right for camera. Also, every time I release rmb the Unity menu pops up (web player version). Fortunately the puzzles can be solved without moving the camera.

By the way, you should mark your web links as Web (Unity), since it only works on Windows for the time being.

Menu could do with some work. Maybe a little screenshot of each level, and showing which ones have been completed.

Overall 4/5 though. Some tasteful audio would have made it 5/5 for me, given the kind of game it is.

Aug 25, 2014 @ 1:35pm

I like the idea. It was a lot harder than I thought it would be. I really liked the jiggle effect of the little buildings when you slide them around

khahem says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 1:35pm

Great idea and I love the physics animation :)

Controls were not so bad, maybe a bit of snapping would help.

LostTrainDude says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 1:35pm

Really nice puzzle design. The controls feel a little strange, but so far it's the only issue I've noticed.

Good job!

mrspeaker says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 1:38pm

Wow - very effective... looks so good. It took me a litte while to figure out the way things moved, but I love that it didn't need instructions: very nice piece of game design!

mrexcessive says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 1:39pm

Nice puzzle, good job!

SaintHeiser says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 2:29pm

Well done!
Very clever concept. And I would like to see more levels for this game =)

dickpoelen says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 2:39pm

Fun little game. Love the wobling!

Lars-Kristian says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 2:41pm

Thanks to everyone for amazing feedback. It is so much fun to see so many have played it. :D

I agree on the controls not being the best, but this was the best I could do with given time. Hope to make a new and upgraded version on day. Maybe it have more levels and sound. xD

NamNam says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 4:35pm

Realy cool game, a little bit short but there is a good concept with a good level design. We want more ! =D

Digiraze says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 4:49pm

I enjoyed the puzzle.

Rekedens says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 5:39pm

Very clever!

StrideWide says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 6:08pm

The houses are so bouncy! I like this game.

joonamo says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 6:25pm

Super cute wobble on the buildings! Controls were a bit buggy, but I definitely enjoyed the game. Unfortunately the unity web player beta crashed my graphics card which caused a kernel panic.

Pinqu says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 7:15pm

Very good. Love the animation on the houses and trees when moving. Needs a little polish on the controls, sometimes you can get stuck even though you are properly aligned.

Lars Faust says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 10:30pm

Very cool. Got really fun when you ramped up the difficulty a bit for the last 2 levels.

Love the wobbling of the assets.
With some fine tuning and more levels, this can be really good.

gene-z says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 10:59pm

toooooo much gooood ... very nice guy

foobraco says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 12:03am

This is a very clever concept and mechanics, really like it!

nikki93 says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 2:16am

I love it! A really neat idea, and the graphics are cute. I like how the little houses bounce around when you move the worlds.

keddelzz says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 2:19am

Great game! - Sweet graphics! - If it had more level, I'd be fun!

taocayo says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 5:43am

Great puzzle game. Very smart and a great take on the theme. Would love to play a more finished version! Great job!

C_Walden says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 7:40am

Pretty fun. It was a little tricky to control though; you need to hold right mouse button to move the camera, but right click kept bringing up a context menu. Otherwise, pretty fun! I played it to the end.

varun says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 7:40am

Cool mechanic! My only gripe was that the puzzles felt like they could be easily solved through trial and error.

Norgg says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 10:16am

Whee, really pretty. Love the way the buildings wobble. Found the puzzles a bit easy, and the controls a bit fiddly in places though.

Florent says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 12:00pm

Very cool ! I would love this idea to be developed further ! Well done !

Ludipe says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 1:18pm

Well executed game. A little hard to control sometimes but fun and with nice art.

Yword says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 1:26pm

Very unique and innovative concept! Well done! Also, don't forget to disable the context menu. ^_^

Aug 26, 2014 @ 1:31pm

Simple and sweet! I like the little things like the trees and house, etc bouncing with the movement with the block. The puzzles were nice and nothing too complex. Great job!

PixelMind says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 1:32pm

Very clever and enjoyable experience. The block movement could be more fluid and you should disable the right mouse menu for the web build.
Great job. Would have played longer if there were more levels :)

Lars-Kristian says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 1:34pm

@Yword: thanks for letting me know. :D

desmarkie says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 1:34pm

Nice little game this! Good job.

dustyroom says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 2:18pm

This game would be very popular on mobile.

Josh H says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 2:26pm

I love this! The puzzles are very cool and I love the mechanic. I really like how the buildings wobble when you move the pieces. Very nice touch. The controls are a bit tricky, but manageable. I'd like to see this idea expanded upon with more levels. Well done!

DustyStylus says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 2:35pm

Heehee, I love the way the various bits wobble on the ends. Got through it pretty quickly. I care not though, for I am sucker for isometric polygons. :] Well done, fab wee game.

Kerdelos says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 3:32pm

Nice game but a bit too short.

DragonXVI says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 6:18pm

Need idea. Must've been fun to design the levels for :p Collision's a bit odd when you try and force something into a position it can't do, but overall controls pretty simple! Wasn't immediately obvious which bits to grab to see how to move the shape, but figured it out quick enough.

Fairly short as folk said - Guess it would be interesting to see how the puzzles & difficulty would increase as levels went on? Fairly polished result though!

Lissar says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 11:47pm

I'd love to see this concept expanded on!

pythong says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 1:16pm

Great job! played all the levels, too bad there are only 6 :D and I love the little bounce effect

howkj1 says ...
Aug 30, 2014 @ 8:05pm

I loved all 6 Puzzles! I loved the little jiggle the houses make.

ClownAround says ...
Aug 31, 2014 @ 8:09am

Like the graphics. Nice puzzles.

Simon says ...
Sep 2, 2014 @ 7:43pm

I love the way you interpreted the theme! And the game is pretty cool and clever. Well done :)

hb3p8 says ...
Sep 6, 2014 @ 2:20pm

Nice puzzle. Want it for my smartphone=)

lotusgame says ...
Sep 12, 2014 @ 12:47pm

Very nice entry ! Challenging, interesting, on theme, good graphics. Bravo !

klianc09 says ...
Sep 12, 2014 @ 12:49pm

Great puzzle game, I have to agree with previous commenters, it's pretty short (but that's OK for a LD entry).
Sad that there is no sound, but the wiggle effect is a nice touch. (strange how such little things can make a game so much more enjoyable)
Sometimes the ... 'thing' got stuck in the wall, but that's just a minor issue.

Andrew Adams says ...
Sep 12, 2014 @ 2:53pm

I dig the jiggly buildings. Well done

brookman says ...
Sep 12, 2014 @ 3:23pm

I really liked it. The idea is great and I like the visual style. Unfortunately it's too easy/short and the controls feel a little glitchy sometimes.

sephyka says ...
Sep 12, 2014 @ 4:03pm

Very nice and ingenious idea. I like the three small worlds, with small shakes on move. It would be better with a bit more polish as sounds, logotype and better user interface. This kind of game might be perfect for mobiles. :)

tbam says ...
Sep 13, 2014 @ 3:29am

Very clever mechanic. Would love to see it a bit more fleshed out.

Sep 13, 2014 @ 10:14am

Fun little puzzle game with really nice graphics for 12 hrs work. Also liked the way the trees swayed as you moved the platforms. Some nice ambient music would be a nice touch to the atmosphere. Would like to see an expanded version.

runvs says ...
Sep 13, 2014 @ 12:11pm

Nice and well executed entry!

ncannasse says ...
Sep 13, 2014 @ 12:28pm

Good but a bit short. The controls are a bit imprecise too, should maybe have been better to lock in the grid ?

apiotrw says ...
Sep 13, 2014 @ 4:00pm

Really great idea

nilstastic says ...
Sep 13, 2014 @ 4:55pm

The good: Very nice idea and nice graphics!
The bad: The menu could be improved

All in all, great work!

jackyjjc says ...
Sep 13, 2014 @ 11:14pm

Nice little game, I managed to finish all the levels! Would be nice to have some music :)

SteveSalmond says ...
Sep 14, 2014 @ 5:31am

Great idea for a puzzle - felt a bit like trying to change gears with 3 sticks at once or something... One of those games you wish you'd thought of yourself. ;) Awesome work Lars!

mcapraro says ...
Sep 14, 2014 @ 5:45pm

really neat and original game, congrats on a great entry!

NicePenguins says ...
Sep 14, 2014 @ 6:07pm

Great idea ! The controls are a little bit frustrating.

Stan Sypek says ...
Sep 15, 2014 @ 10:04pm

Really like this, the levels could have been harder, but if you were going to turn this into something then they're fine, because you could progress to harder later on. Great job!

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]