Ludum Dare 30 — August 22nd-25th, 2014 — Theme: Connected Worlds

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend (Games) | MiniLD #53 | Wallpaper (1) (2) (3) | Mailing List ]

Back to Browse Entries

Color Wheel

by Robot Souls Games - Jam Entry

Color Wheel
============================================================
This game was made for Ludum Dare 30 by Dean and James Yockey.
We have a website at robotsoulsgames.wordpress.com
Art by Dean Yockey - robotsoulscomics.wordpress.com
Music by God

Story:
There exist seven connected worlds. Your hero lives in the central world, the white world, where all color has been removed. He decides to travel to the neighboring worlds to discover colors and bring them back to his world.

Controls:
Arrow Keys/Numpad - Move (you can move diagonally by using the numpad)
Numpad 5 - Rest one turn
(Press towards a space occupied by an enemy to attack it)
Control + Direction - Use weapon (if you have one)
(using a weapon costs gp)
Z/X - Switch selected weapon.
H - Use healing spell (costs 20 gp)
M - Use multi-attack (costs 15 gp) (attacks every adjacent enemy with sword)
T - Use teleport spell (costs 10 gp)

Gameplay:
The game progresses in turns. Every time you perform a standard action, the enemies will act afterwards.
Killing enemies rewards you with gold (gp).
Gold is consumed by using weapons and spells.
You enter worlds of different colors by entering doors.
After defeating enough enemies in a world, the boss will appear.
Defeat every boss to win.

Press any key at the title screen to start.

We are planning to release an updated and upgraded version of the game to our blog.
Version 2 will improve where this version was lacking, principally level design, enemy behavior, etc. It will also add new features.
If you would like to be notified when it is released, you can follow our blog or e-mail us at robotsoulsgames@gmail.com.
If you find any bugs in the game, or you have any suggestions for version 2, e-mail us at robotsoulsgames@gmail.com.

(Note: A bug involving curses lasting forever has now been fixed at 5:00PM 8/27/2014. The README has been updated and some typos were fixed.)

If you had issues downloading it before, it should work now.

We now have a blog!

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness77%
#266Humor(Jam)2.69
#289Fun(Jam)3.20
#340Overall(Jam)3.29
#372Theme(Jam)3.18
#423Mood(Jam)3.00
#492Graphics(Jam)3.10
#493Innovation(Jam)2.84
#617Audio(Jam)1.95

Comments

ShivaFang says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 1:56am

Chrome reports that this zip is malicious - game author might want to look into that.

WebFreak001 says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 2:07am

Interesting idea. I like it

Aug 26, 2014 @ 2:24am

@ShivaFang: Go to your downloads page and click recover malicious file. I do not know of anything that would cause that, though. Many games on Ludum Dare are reported as such. Please retry and play it, you won't be dissapointed.

Jaloko says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 2:55am

Interesting how you went with tile based movement. All in all nice job.

sigfig says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 3:01am

very evocative of a windows 95 era shareware roguelike. i miss those!

BrainSlugs83 says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 4:32am

Most LD games say they're malicious -- because "they're not commonly downloaded". XD -- would be cool if the maximize for this game worked right (and scaled it up, of course). But otherwise, this is pretty cool. I don't hear any sound though, is there supposed to be sound or was that a joke?

jprogman says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 6:32am

This game definitely reminds me of "Castle of the Winds." It was difficult at first, but, after a few tries, I've won! Nice work with the retro graphics.

camlang says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 11:03am

Very cool performance!

egos says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 1:20pm

good rogue like with nice retro style graphic
Maybe you can put a auto use weapon

ShivaFang says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 2:04pm

Interesting game. I have a nit-pick about the colours though. The colour wheel is based on paint colours (Primaries Red, Blue, Yellow) and thus the centre should be black, not white (all paints mixed together make black.)

With White in the centre it should have been based on light colours (Red, Yellow, Green, Cyan, Blue, Magenta)

As for the 'this file is malicious' thing... all other Lundum Dare games I've downloaded have said it may be harmful and gave me the option to keep it. Yours is the only one that definitively said it WAS malicious.

Aug 26, 2014 @ 5:14pm

@BrainSlugs83: Forgive us about the maximize, it actually isn't supposed to be able to maximize. And there is no sound, that was a joke.

Aug 26, 2014 @ 5:15pm

@jprogman: I (James) have not even beat it, but my brother has once. Very well done. I'm proud of you.

Aug 26, 2014 @ 5:16pm

@egos: Please explain what you mean by "auto use weapon."

Aug 26, 2014 @ 5:17pm

@ShivaFang: We were short on time and just picked the colors we wanted. Forgive us if the game isn't realistic.

jprogman says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 8:52pm

I have to clarify my last comment. I meant I've won this game, not "Castle of the Winds." Sorry for the confusion. I needed more sleep.

Aug 26, 2014 @ 11:34pm

@jprogman: Don't we all?

Aug 26, 2014 @ 11:37pm

@jprogman: Did you beat every single boss? Due to a mistake in the code, you only have to beat four colored bosses. Did you beat the camel? It was the one I (James) repeatedly died on.

jprogman says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 1:11am

Yes I did. The blue sword helped me out. That and a wall, heh.

jprogman says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 1:12am

Every boss was beaten, and the camel too; in which the blue sword and walls help me out.

nerd burglars says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 2:44am

Solid entry. Wasn't as difficult at some of the other players are making it out to be. Good luck!

PapaCheech says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 3:16am

nice job I had alot of fun playing this!

OinkIguana says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 3:39am

The idea is interesting, and the gameplay is pretty good. A little confusing at times, I never figured out how to progress other than to attack and wander and then eventually die because I didn't pay attention to my health. Graphics are fitting, and looked pretty good. No sound though, which would have been good. I liked it overall.

Aug 27, 2014 @ 3:57am

@OinkIguana: Beat enough enemies in a level, and the boss will appear. Beat enough bosses, and the final boss will appear in the white world. (You also have to beat enough enemies in the white world) Beat the final boss to beat the game.

Stepwise says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 5:08am

Interesting little roguelike. I couldn't figure out what the benefits or strengths of using each weapon were, but I did get sucked in for a good 30 minutes. I ended up killing enemies in the fire world easily then got stuck with the firewall dude. Then I went to yellow and got beaten back by a camel. Went to Orange and killed olmec easily enough. Tried the camel again and got beat back. Went to blue to grind gold and killed loch ness easily enough, then went back to try and kill the camel. Got beat back and went to orange to grind up and got dwarf'd. Fun game, wish I knew more of how it worked!

AlucardX60 says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 9:14am

Really nice game, love the retro style graphics. Unfortunalty Rouge-likes just isn't something I'm particularly good at and I only last a few seconds within an area.

Aug 27, 2014 @ 5:28pm

@Stepwise: You use the weapons by pressing Control + a direction. The arrow is a projectile, the ice sword freezes, and other weapons do various other things. The camel is probably the hardest boss. Even I had difficulty on it.

IsaacL.Balogh says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 11:00pm

It felt a lot like old ascii rpgs, the art is much better than an ascii game though.

Aug 27, 2014 @ 11:17pm

@IsaacL.Balogh: Thank you! The art was done by Dean Yockey, who has a blog at robotsoulscomics.wordpress.com where he makes comics. We were going after the visual style of old roguelikes because we like the visual contrast and simplicity, but we also wanted the characters and monsters to resemble actual beings, instead of being represented by letters.

dunin says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 4:06pm

problem with dropbox...
"The resource could not be found."

Aug 28, 2014 @ 7:54pm

@dunin: That's odd. It's downloading perfectly for me right now.

Aug 28, 2014 @ 11:14pm

"The resource could not be found." :c hope this gets fixed because looks fun :D and the story is very creative :D

Aug 28, 2014 @ 11:43pm

@NiceAlexanderAS: Do you have the latest version of .NET? Could you tell us what computer you have? We can't find the issue.

Aug 28, 2014 @ 11:48pm

@dunin @NiceAlexanderAS: We've added a MediaFire link, so try that.

gene-z says ...
Aug 30, 2014 @ 7:04pm

Nice game

Benjamin says ...
Sep 4, 2014 @ 11:05pm

Wow very nice game. I was so hooked that I had to check your previous LD entries after finishing hit... And it looks it's the first one so I will defintively look forward next LD to check your games :D

The 7 world have solid leveldesign and the weapon collection really give a megaman feeling :)

Sep 4, 2014 @ 11:08pm

@Benjamin: Thank you very much! We were aiming for a megaman feel. You look like you've been in a lot of LDs. Thank you for your compliment. We hope to be able to enter again next time.

pansapiens says ...
Sep 15, 2014 @ 9:49am

Great classic roguelike - I like all the little character sprites.

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]