Ludum Dare 30 — August 22nd-25th, 2014 — Theme: Connected Worlds

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend (Games) | MiniLD #53 | Wallpaper (1) (2) (3) | Mailing List ]

Back to Browse Entries

WCOM

by ShadowTzu - 48 Hour Compo Entry

Hello
My name is Wahid Garci or you can call me ShadowTzu.

This is my first participation in the event Ludum Dare. I made my game using VB.NET and my own graphic library: Tzu3D (VB.NET + SlimDX (DX11).

Your goal is to find artifacts, allowing, once assembled, the construction of a machine distorting the time and giving access to the inter-stellar space travel.
Your equipment consists of: A pistol and a machine gun.
It should be noted that for the emergency, it is impossible to heal between each mission.

Good luck Soldier, all humanity is counting on you!


Requirement:
- Windows 7 (64bits)
- Framework .NET 4.5

Tips:
You can destroy walls !

Useful Key:

ZQSD or WASD = move (QWERTY and AZERTY support !)
Spacebar = fire !
1: Pistol
2: MachinGun

-------------------------
G: focus on next bot
R: focus on player
F: attach or not camera
Arrow = camera move

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#419Humor2.53
#868Audio2.00
#870Fun2.68
#922Graphics2.50
#961Mood2.47
#1010Overall2.70
#1121Theme2.12
#1125Innovation2.17
#1204Coolness49%

Comments

Lord Draficus says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 8:38am

What are the controls?

Lord Draficus says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 8:42am

For me, I couldn't figure out what move up was, but move left on my keyboard: Q, move right: D, move down: Z, the rest of the controls worked as they were listed as far as I could tell.

ShadowTzu says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 8:45am

French keyboard, use Shift+Alt for switch to us keyboard

Lord Draficus says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 8:53am

Thanks

Lord Draficus says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 8:55am

Shift+Alt is not working for me, and I tried every combination of left shift, right shift, left alt, right alt.

gwa says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 8:59am

Also had problems with the controls :(

ShadowTzu says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 10:32am

I will correct that

ShadowTzu says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 10:39am

is corrected !

Lord Draficus says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 11:40am

The controls do work now, thanks! This game has a lot of potential, though as it is now, it is quite fun.

JosephLittle says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 11:59am

Nice game, it was a little hard to get used to the controls at first but not so bad when I did.
I would suggest making it so that the player shoots wherever the mouse is pointing.
Great job making your own graphics library! :)

Tomker says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 4:03pm

Well you could add more details on the grass etc. but looks promising.

DrMelon says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 4:03pm

Not bad! I'm a fan of XCOM, so it's nice to see an entry in that vein.

n42k says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 4:11pm

Engine and gameplay are rock solid.

Unfortunately, after the first run it feels rather repetitive and there is also no audio. I had to quit after I found the following bug, however: http://puu.sh/b7pih/4239f466c4.jpg.

ShadowTzu says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 4:26pm

you can destroy the wall!

Vallar says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 8:56pm

Interesting game. I liked the part where you collect artifacts to advance. Although they weren't easily found but it was fun collecting them.

As mentioned it got a bit repetitive after the third mission. Also something else I found another thing where the text trails off to the right of the game window and I can't see what is written.

Overall it was a nice premise and I felt if you had time to polish it, could have gone to be something better.

Good work :)

McFood says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 9:40pm

I really enjoyed firing so many bullets and ploughing through enemies. As others have said, the levels seem a bit too big given that the gameplay remains relatively constant.
Maybe a hint of where to go, or a gameplay twist (power ups or bosses maybe) would keep it fresh.
Fun game, congratulations on your first entry!

AtomicVikings says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 10:45pm

Great job on your first ludum dare, we welcome you!
Add some sounds and an awesome upbeat backing track and your game would be even more awesome!

Lvyn says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 11:05pm

Enjoyed these slug creatures :D You should have included a salt gun ;)
It needs some polish but did not find bugs.
I wish there were sounds, but nice game :)

Crefossus says ...
Aug 29, 2014 @ 11:41am

The spacing of the font for the story made it a bit hard to read. Sfx/audio could really help. It gets a little repetitive, but the first level was decently fun. Maybe if you had some other mechanics in the level to mix up recovering the artifact like a boss or gate/button etc.

I liked the fadeout and win screen for each level and feel of the machine gun although I would love to be able to shoot in all directions maybe like a twin stick shooter (or wasd + mouse).

JTGaming2012 says ...
Aug 29, 2014 @ 11:43am

I think it looks very unfinished. I think you should make the camera follow the player rather than having to move it automatically.

ShadowTzu says ...
Aug 30, 2014 @ 8:16am

thank you to comment, your advice helps me a lot!

egos says ...
Aug 30, 2014 @ 10:27am

well polished just a bit repetively after first mission.
But good work. And i dont see the connection with world connected

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]