Ludum Dare 30 — August 22nd-25th, 2014 — Theme: Connected Worlds

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend (Games) | MiniLD #53 | Wallpaper (1) (2) (3) | Mailing List ]

Back to Browse Entries

Think Fast

by shico - 48 Hour Compo Entry

This is the first game I've ever made I made it with unity basic as a challenge to myself to complete a game even under strict conditions. I kinda ran out of time before I could make more levels, but I managed to get the first one done in time so I'm pretty happy. The web version is now hosted online so it should be playable without a download. The game is in 1080p though so you may need to zoom out to see the whole screen at once.

w,a,s,d to move, and space bar is the fast button if you want speed just press space. You can cling to walls by continuing in the direction of a wall you are touching. Gravity stops pulling you down while you cling to a wall.

I hope you all enjoy the game I made.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness66%
#386Humor2.62
#501Audio2.79
#904Fun2.63
#1008Mood2.34
#1036Overall2.66
#1116Innovation2.20
#1117Graphics2.11
#1177Theme1.72

Comments

BoskoSokolov says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 2:55am

What is this?

FacticiusVir says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 2:56am

I've seen a few people using itch.io for online hosting, though I've not used it myself. You can always share web pages from the Dropbox public folder; it's the easiest way to get your web version hosted if you don't have an existing website.

TheZiggy says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 2:57am

Uhh... the game doesn't come up.

FacticiusVir says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 2:58am

Also, please using something other than fileswap, the spam pages and talking adverts are a nightmare.

shico says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 4:01am

I use ad blocker so I had no idea the ads were bad sorry about that. I'll see if I ca find another host.

sharpcoder says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 4:10am

Pretty fun for a few minutes of challenge. I like being able to push those turret things down. One suggestion I would make is the scaling, I am pretty sure there were things off screen that I was supposed to see (like the text at the beginning) :) Overall, cool entry!

oranebeast says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 4:12am

Loved the accapella music, but was confused when most of the screen was cut of.

Aug 25, 2014 @ 4:19am

Making your first game in 48 hours is quite a challenge, nice job! You should definitely finish it. You can also publish on www.kongregate.com as well as the ones mentioned above.

shico says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 4:42am

The game is now hosted on itch.io, but as a heads up I made this game in 1080p resolution so you may need to zoom out on your browser to see the whole thing at once. I do plan to finish this game, and the music is just me humming into my microphone and then increasing the pitch. I was really pleased with the result myself.

Roknsk says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 5:35am

Love the music!

Mr.Cassels says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 5:45am

fun game, loved the personality, and the puzzles were well-made but not overly complex. I would love it if there was more content(hard, I know) so I could play on and on and on...
nice work! :D

sez says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 2:05pm

Nice game! That awful song is going to be stuck in my head for the rest of the day :)
Why was I a flying washing machine? :D
The only really big no for me was the resolution, I could barely play it on my not HD screen. I don't know why, but somehow I could not go fullscreen in your webplayer.

shico says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 6:24pm

Now that you mention it the character in its space suit does kinda resemble an very cute washing machine... As for the resolution since this is my first game I had no idea how to fix that, and I ran out of time. I plan to fix it in the future when I make the remastered version of the game, for now zooming out in your browser or playing the windows version of the game is probably your best bet. I ported this game to web so I just glad that the resolution thing is the only obvious problem with port.

I hope lots of people enjoy it even if it does have a few minor bugs, because honestly I'm really proud that my first game turned out so well.

graebor says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 7:17pm

Congrats on making your first game! :D

Adjotur says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 7:18pm

Collision detection felt really off. Kept getting stuck on things. Also it was annoying that you die about 7 seconds after getting hit. I'd run past a detector thinking I made it only to die a moment later. On the other hand I loved the mechanic where you could push the detectors around to make your 'own path' through the level.

fallingBear says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 7:18pm

Lovely music, great entry. I's kinda difficult.

shico says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 7:36pm

The detectors take 3 seconds to launch the capture protocol and send you back to the start of the level. The only way to escape capture is to complete the level within those 3 seconds.

As for getting stuck I believe you are referring to how you can cling to walls by continuing to try and move in the direction of a wall you are touching. If you do that it pretty much makes gravity stop working on you, but that is intended the collisions work fine. The cling mechanic was intended so players could stop the character in a very specific spot at will to avoid detection in hard levels, but since I ran out of time I never made those levels, and never explained the mechanic because it isn't really important in the first level.

Sorry for any confusion that may have caused.

nintendoeats says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 11:31pm

Cute. The connection to the theme is not apparent, I'm guessing that it was cut. I like the music till it looped a million times. It took me a while to figure out that I needed to push the detectors, but once I did I thought that was a neat mechanic.

shico says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 12:01am

Yeah, I ran out of time before I could put the story into the game. So, I just gave a basic rundown on want is going on in the instruction screen. Basically you're climbing a space elevator between two planets that are quite literally connected.

Aug 27, 2014 @ 12:13am

How do you win?

shico says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 4:57am

When you reach the top of the level it will stop the timer. That is the closest you can get to winning the game currently because I ran out of time before I could make the rest of the levels.

The game is designed with speed running in mind so a low time is like a high score. My best time is 18.54ish seconds so if you want to say that your better than the games creator (at time of this post) you can use that as a goal I guess.

I'm currently working on developing the second playable character, and after that I'll begin making more levels once it is done the game will have a story and it will be possible to win. I then plan to publish the finished game.

Hippolyta says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 10:25pm

Crazy voices in my head :-)
But was fun and well done for your first LD submission.
Finish it! ;-)

udo says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 10:25pm

This is insane :D I've got that melody stuck in my head now... Not bad for a first try!

yodamaster says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 10:28pm

Really huge playing screen, can't see the whole thing even on my 30" screen.

borgi says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 10:30pm

Good start! Keep on making levels! I liked the 8dimensinal with gravity movement! And the gameplay was kind of hard but fun! Need more leves yay!

Dry Tree says ...
Aug 31, 2014 @ 10:01am

Good work - especially for a first LD :) It took me a while to figure out I had to push a detector block onto the button instead of triggering it myself, and the play area was way too big so I had to bring my browser zoom down a lot. Otherwise a great game.

MunkeeBacon says ...
Sep 3, 2014 @ 11:34pm

That was different

Razoric says ...
Sep 8, 2014 @ 8:03pm

Great job on your first game! Very challenging!

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]