Ludum Dare 30 — August 22nd-25th, 2014 — Theme: Connected Worlds

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend (Games) | MiniLD #53 | Wallpaper (1) (2) (3) | Mailing List ]

Back to Browse Entries

Heart Earth

by Team Sloth Fox - Jam Entry

This is our first Jam Game. Sloth did the programming, Fox did the art. Sound was a joint effort.

Story

Help revitalise the Earth by learning from a nearby planet.

How to Play

Use left and right arrow keys to move, and space to change screen/interact with the world. Pay attention to the narration, it will guide you on your quest. Remember to check up on Earth to see the effects your discoveries have had.

Made in Gamemaker, art made in MSpaint, sound recorded with Audacity.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#133Humor(Jam)3.21
#249Theme(Jam)3.45
#284Audio(Jam)3.29
#309Mood(Jam)3.22
#379Innovation(Jam)3.04
#480Fun(Jam)2.86
#518Graphics(Jam)3.00
#597Overall(Jam)2.89
#1204Coolness49%

Comments

pinion says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 12:10pm

Are we there yet?

Tomker says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 6:36pm

Lol strange idea ;o but nice graphics :)

FineSpun says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 7:57pm

Strange but nice graphics.

stephenhaney says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 8:34pm

Hi, I'm not on Windows so I can't play your game, but it looks very interesting from the screenshots. I just wanted to say thanks for the review on Starlight. Keep up the good work!

Andrew Adams says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 9:16pm

Why you no Mac?

igoramendola says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 1:15am

Ohh, I really liked the narration feature. Also, I get the impression that Calvin isn't very cooperative hahaha
Cool idea... it is pretty funny! :D

dvdking says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 5:53pm

That was weird.

anserran says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 5:54pm

Weird and fun. Great!

MechanicMoon says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 5:58pm

Sorry, I can not understand this game is not for me xD

Satyre says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 6:05pm

Great idea. Your narration is nice.

ob6160 says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 8:05am

Love the concept of this game :D Graphics are cool too!

GrooveMan says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 10:23pm

Christ this game is cute. I love the narration and sarcastic back-chat. I like that there's a signal when you're near to something you can interact with, but I think an audio cue for when you successfully collect it would convey things better.

Thanks a bunch for making this! Hopefully we'll see you guys at the next jam~

Nooner Bear says ...
Aug 30, 2014 @ 7:04pm

Interesting, but rather odd visuals

Crefossus says ...
Aug 31, 2014 @ 5:26am

Spaceship sfx are the best. I would have liked to see lose conditions or at least something funny happen.. maybe picking too many flowers? The triggers where the ! appear could be larger.

Snicklodocus says ...
Sep 4, 2014 @ 2:10am

Haha really charming. Nice to play games like this every once in a while. I really liked the graphics. The heart Earth and star backgrounds were very well done. Great job.

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]