Ludum Dare 30 — August 22nd-25th, 2014 — Theme: Connected Worlds

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend (Games) | MiniLD #53 | Wallpaper (1) (2) (3) | Mailing List ]

Back to Browse Entries

Quadtris

by Headmade - 48 Hour Compo Entry

A puzzle game where you help to connect space station parts from different worlds.

Instructions:
Run the game by running quadtris.jar.

Controls:
left cursor - move part left
right cursor - move part right
up/down cursor - rotate part
space - cycle through parts
enter - start assembly

Tools used:
libgdx
sfxr
http://www.abundant-music.com/

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness70%
#473Audio2.82
#734Innovation2.92
#812Humor1.95
#891Theme2.71
#1029Graphics2.30
#1068Mood2.17
#1089Overall2.55
#1156Fun2.03

Comments

MarekkPie says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 4:58pm

Puzzle games! It is extremely confusing trying to figure out what is going on here. The direction the pieces fly in does not correspond with your perspective when setting up.

holgk says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 5:06pm

I's very confusing to figure out what to do.

c_livid says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 5:06pm

Very confusing. Nice music. Ok graphics.

ZwodahS says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 5:07pm

Interesting idea =)

jpverkamp says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 5:13pm

Neat idea in theory, could use a little work in execution. It's hard to wrap my head around exactly how the pieces will come in. The music and sound effects were nice though, if a bit 'sharp'.

Tomker says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 5:27pm

Confusing, but good idea :)

FGM says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 6:26pm

The shape orientation doesn't seem to match. Like I'll have a 3 vertical green, then it comes in horizontally. I don't know if that was intentional or not.

Jaenis says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 6:56pm

Ouch, that broke my brain! Neat idea, would be more playable if you could see all the blocks at once around the space station to be.

Konrad Zegis says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 6:59pm

Like FGM stated it seems quite weird, when I have a 3 vertical, then it comes in horizontally.

But I like music and graphics :D

doos says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 7:00pm

Could not get shapes to offset so they overlapped even when they shouldn't have? Interesting idea though.

JNyknn says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 1:34pm

It takes a while to understand the idea. A pretty challenging game, I would say.

Aug 27, 2014 @ 1:54pm

I did not figure out what to do. The pieces just instantly collided upon key input.

CodeNMore says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 2:02pm

Confusing, good music and graphics though. Neat idea.

Aug 27, 2014 @ 2:14pm

It is a good game and lies somehow on the theme.

jahmaican says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 4:06pm

I have no idea how to play this. Too confusing, sorry!

Aug 30, 2014 @ 6:21am

I figured it out at once and I think it's a really good idea.
Aesthetics and music are just top notch, and it's really challenging. Nice work!

egor-idiot says ...
Sep 15, 2014 @ 6:33pm

Crazy game %)

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]