Ludum Dare 30 — August 22nd-25th, 2014 — Theme: Connected Worlds

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend (Games) | MiniLD #53 | Wallpaper (1) (2) (3) | Mailing List ]

Back to Browse Entries

SpellChain

by Riocide - 48 Hour Compo Entry

I misread the theme as "Connected Words", which inspired me to make a word game. Didn't get to spend as much time as I would've liked on it, but here it is.

This was my first comp entry for Ludum Dare. I made some silly coding choices early on, which inhibited me when day 2 came around. Ah well, live and learn. Hope all of you enjoy it regardless!

Game was written in Haxe using the HaxeFlixel framework.

Instructions are in-game. Enjoy!

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#552Innovation3.16
#661Fun2.92
#977Overall2.76
#987Theme2.52
#1063Mood2.18
#1182Graphics1.77
#1570Coolness40%

Comments

NuSan says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 10:53am

Cool entry, im not a english native, but i managed to find several world before being stuck. Keep up the good work

pythong says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 11:04am

Connected Words, eh? There isn't much to say, maybe you could use some more polishing (fonts, choice of color, ...)

43iscoding says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 1:51pm

creative typos ftw :)

Lacaranian says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 1:57pm

Some good wordsmithing a la Boggle. Kudos.

fizzd says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 1:59pm

Played till a score of 645, was pretty fun having to plan the direction i needed to expand in. Something fun would be having a faraway tile to reach to get bonus points, as a sort of secondary goal. But well done for doing something different, even if it was due to a misreading. It's definitely a unique concept!

01010111 says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 6:07pm

Very addictive! There are a lot of directions you could take with this game (mobile, multiplayer, etc) great job! (I wish the 'dictionary' was larger)

Tanner says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 7:09pm

"Words" can also be "Worlds". Nice game ;)

stvr says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 1:56pm

With a bit of polish, this would make a solid mobile game.

InfectionTeam says ...
Aug 30, 2014 @ 2:00pm

Nice ;) leaderboards would be awesome!

Shivur says ...
Aug 31, 2014 @ 3:11am

Cool idea.

Tanser says ...
Aug 31, 2014 @ 11:08am

Cool game :)

jukimv1986 says ...
Sep 1, 2014 @ 1:09am

Thank god you misread the theme, otherwise we wouldn't have the opportunity to play your game! Unique game, I could see myself playing against another person, trying to block another player's way, in what could be a good mobile game. Keep it up!

pmrsco says ...
Sep 1, 2014 @ 1:29am

Fun concept, I enjoyed quite a few rounds! With a little more aesthetic pizzazz, and maybe some sounds, this could be quite the addicting app.

Sep 8, 2014 @ 2:56am

nice overall. you got your programming working fine and it was easy enough to figure out. good work!

smizmeal says ...
Sep 11, 2014 @ 9:45pm

Very original and fun game. I think the best strategy is to spread out along the corners and watch out for areas with no vowels!

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]