Ludum Dare 30 — August 22nd-25th, 2014 — Theme: Connected Worlds

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend (Games) | MiniLD #53 | Wallpaper (1) (2) (3) | Mailing List ]

Back to Browse Entries

Mispool

by veryfinestlions - 48 Hour Compo Entry

Just... just go after them. After, not before. Careful, friends.

Accumulate!

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness100%
#413Fun3.21
#422Innovation3.33
#574Graphics3.08
#666Overall3.10
#679Humor2.15
#729Audio2.37
#813Theme2.86
#995Mood2.40

Comments

MintArcade says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 11:29am

Nice. I even got in to space ;) Cool idea

CptDustmite says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 11:31am

Took awhile to get used to the controls, but eventually got the hang of it. Nice idea :)

midgard says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 11:32am

Had fun playing, nice controls and bouncy things! I couldn't feel the relation with the theme thought..

gatinmnsok says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 11:33am

Interesting concept, quite hard though.

shashwat says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 11:40am

Nice game. A little hard to play, but I'll get better.

Tanner says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 4:35pm

I really like physics based games.

NnelGdaBandit says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 5:20pm

Cool little monkey ball like game.

Aug 25, 2014 @ 5:33pm

nice physics and just the right music at the time the only think that i miss is some background music

Macocco says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 6:09pm

Nice but the objective could be explained little better.

Aug 25, 2014 @ 7:30pm

It is a bit obtuse, I concede. I personally think it's fun when a game is a *little* baffling, but I know a lot of people would disagree!

Donutttt says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 10:08pm

This was AWESOME! I could just roll around forever. I mean I was terrible at getting the balls in the holes but still I loved it. Great work!

Aug 25, 2014 @ 10:18pm

This is actually a really fun little physics game, but as a few other people ahve said, the objective could definitely be made a lot clearer, well done. :D

Andrew Adams says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 10:26pm

Cool. Need a power meter or some kind of force feedback. GG

OFF says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 11:11pm

I think that the goal is pretty clear. I think that the theme is a little bit too far but after 5s the game became the best pool game i ever played!

Actually the execution is pretty simple, and maybe the game could be less "pool-looked", but after that the game feel is excellent, and you drive your ball with feeling.

Could had some GUI for information but even like that the game is fun.

IDEA : add other situation like golf to change from the same set.

Robber says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 7:41pm

very interesting concept end very fun to play, could have maybe some powerups or special balls ? needs some good music..

Vallar says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 7:45pm

Well that was an interesting concept and definitely a fun game. I found that it was weird that after the others descend they come back up and I have to redo all my hard work again.

The sounds were OK but I felt it needed music. All in all, it was a really fun game and a job well done :)

Aug 26, 2014 @ 8:31pm

Stuff comes back up because it's still active on the other side! It can be frustrating, admittedly.

Originally the idea was to have the holes branch to different specific colour-coded fields, each ball having a particular destination you need to get it to (and then it'd stay there); but I ran out of time before I could get around to doing all the interesting (ish) obstacles and stuff I was hoping to put in. So instead it just makes one new barely-different field each time you've potted all the balls and followed them across.

Aug 26, 2014 @ 9:47pm

This is fun! Love it. Simple and efficient :)

Rage Paint says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 3:02am

Ah, playing pool but as the cue ball. Interesting. Could definitely use a power meter bar instead of having the screen shake so much.

zillix says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 5:27am

very sleek! the big grey ball really freaked me out the first time it launched at me :P

John Drury says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 6:41am

Physics are great! Controls are challenging to play with.

Manou says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 1:10pm

Hard to control for me :(

wdebowicz says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 6:04pm

Cool idea, very addictive! I'm still not sure if there is a way to win?

eatsleepindie says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 8:09pm

I agree that a power meter/UI would have helped, but without one this was still a lot of fun. Could probably translate to touch controls pretty easily. Hope you continue development.

Aug 27, 2014 @ 8:31pm

There isn't a proper win state as of now, no. For now you can consider yourself to have "won"-ish once you've received and potted all eight coloured balls; I might continue messing with this and going in the kind of better-structured (but more time-consuming) direction I was thinking of before, we'll see.

Scott Baker says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 10:43pm

At first I thought "where is the theme?" But now I get it. Nice game.

RobotFriend says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 1:52am

what a great idea.. kinda hard but very fun

Aug 28, 2014 @ 6:43am

This was surprisingly fun.

lkr says ...
Aug 30, 2014 @ 10:06am

Fun concept and nice physics :)
Would be cool to see more done with the idea, maybe balls with different behaviors?

Aug 30, 2014 @ 10:38am

Yeah, see above - I had more complicated plans, but ended up going with this very simple (and nevertheless sort of buggy) version because I was running out of time. Something to possibly get back to later.

rantt says ...
Aug 31, 2014 @ 1:55am

Fun idea, I liked it.

adharris says ...
Sep 2, 2014 @ 1:46am

i'm not really sure why i like this as much as i do, but it was really fun.

Sep 2, 2014 @ 1:56am

Man... I had no idea what to do in this, possibly due to my lack of experience with pool in general. It wasn't just a "little" baffling, I had no idea what was going on ._. I think that if the controls had been a little bit more sensitive or I'd had a UI to fool with, more feedback, I might've had more fun. Really liked the zooming SFX on the 8-balls, that was actually pretty damn funny and almost made getting wrecked by them forgivable ;]

Seems like a neat concept, though. Thank you for the game!

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]