Ludum Dare 30 — August 22nd-25th, 2014 — Theme: Connected Worlds

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend (Games) | MiniLD #53 | Wallpaper (1) (2) (3) | Mailing List ]

Back to Browse Entries

The Two Sides of the Rio Grande

by mfagerlund - 48 Hour Compo Entry

The Two Sides of the Rio Grande is a Sim City like game that takes place on the border of Juáres and El Paso.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness55%
#140Humor3.22
#291Theme3.61
#559Innovation3.15
#628Overall3.14
#642Mood2.88
#766Graphics2.78
#811Fun2.75
#981Audio1.50

Comments

hypp says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 10:56am

Turned out pretty good!

mfagerlund says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 6:06pm

Thanks!

Aug 26, 2014 @ 6:08pm

Not bad at all, good job!

Chaoseiro says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 6:14pm

Nice interpretation, and a technically good game!

JangoBrick says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 6:15pm

Nice job! Funny concept, well executed.

Peping says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 6:40pm

Maybe it's because I'm not american, but I didn't seem to get the point of this game. The graphics are nice, the gameplay seems to be fluent, it nicely displays the dynamics of people going to work or to bars, but other than that... I don't even know if it's a game more than it is a simulation.

mfagerlund says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 9:26pm

That's a fair point - would you consider sim city, which is also open ended, a simulation or a game? Sim City is vastly more complex, but it doesn't have any goal other than for the user to try stuff.

PaperBlurt says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 10:15am

Filled with humor and ripe for parody.
Good going.

tbamberg says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 8:04pm

Cool game, I'm surprised at how well polished everything is, considering the difficulty the engine had to give you.

gwa says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 8:12pm

Nice Game liked to play it.

LabOne says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 8:22pm

Well done.

borgi says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 8:38pm

Nice gameplay, interresting idea!

ix says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 8:45pm

I love the concept of this, but I don't feel like there is much to the gameplay. Is there anything we want to optimize? What does the simulation reveal about these two worlds? I hope you continue to develop this idea.

Lvyn says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 8:50pm

Good game! I enjoyed playing it! :)

nilstastic says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 8:54pm

Pros: Very nice simulation, like an antfarm but with mexicans. I also enjoyed the "I'm going to work" things.
Cons: The graphics could need some work =)

Nooner Bear says ...
Sep 1, 2014 @ 12:32am

Certainly an interesting take on the theme. Well done.

magmaCrab says ...
Sep 1, 2014 @ 3:47pm

great work and idea! more of a simulator than a game, but still pretty fun to play with it. Something complete different, if you link to a website with also a download, you should call it "website" instead of "web".

whilefun says ...
Sep 1, 2014 @ 4:53pm

Super cool entry! I played for a while, and got up to 605 Mexican residents. However, I think there was a bug or something because the American residents capped out at 46. It was really neat to play in fast forward and see everyone swarm to their destination. I would have liked to see some kind of constraint on building though, as I could just build as much as I wanted all the time, so there didn't seem to be a downside to doing things wrong or a benefit for doing them right. In any case, I had fun playing your game. Good work! :)

vividhelix says ...
Sep 1, 2014 @ 5:11pm

Interesting take on the theme. A bit open-ended, would have liked to have some currency of sorts to limit building and influence new inhabitants showing up...

DarkCart says ...
Sep 8, 2014 @ 10:36pm

Not really "Web", just another link to the Windows download.

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]