Ludum Dare 30 — August 22nd-25th, 2014 — Theme: Connected Worlds

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend (Games) | MiniLD #53 | Wallpaper (1) (2) (3) | Mailing List ]

Back to Browse Entries

Hers and His

by dadman - 48 Hour Compo Entry

Super simple story game made using twine where you choose what actions you'll take next. I wanted to add as many options as possible in the given time, so there's lots of branching paths to explore and tones of different endings.

The 'Connected Worlds' theme is incorporated in that you can go through the same story as a male or a female and see what different options you get and the different ways people react to you as a result. Some branches are only accessible as one sex or the other.
The initial idea was to be some kind of social commentary on the differences in the way men and woman are treated, however if it turned out anything close to that you be the judge. I started to go in a different direction with it when I was writing.

Just be warned, things can get a bit odd.

If people could please comment saying which ending they got first I'd be fascinated!
Enjoy.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness64%
#122Humor3.27
#568Mood2.97
#586Overall3.18
#645Fun2.94
#958Theme2.58
#1039Innovation2.41
#1194Graphics1.68

Comments

Crowbeak says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 4:21am

If Dropbox is really the only way you have to distribute this, you should be able to just put the file(s) in your public folder, unzipped, and link to it so people can play without having to download anything.

Jvdo says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 1:18pm

Even though it does not really connects to the theme in my opinion, it is as enjoyable as it is weird. Totally my kind of thing!

McFood says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 1:54pm

The more 'connected worlds' part of it was a bit far fetched and loopy. I can see what you mean when you said you got off track. It felt like a very unusual exploration of odd thoughts.

What if you did that thing that popped into your head randomly? Few people would explore that aspect of multiple choice type games because it often ends suddenly exactly how you'd expect.

All in all this set of stories was really interesting, I did get the social commentary feeling from it as well as many other odd and interesting themes which I thoroughly enjoyed exploring.

Great work!

mrbungle says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 1:56pm

Woah, some of that is disturbingly random. Cool idea though and some good writing.

43iscoding says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 2:00pm

Dat ending :D

mess110 says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 5:17pm

gj

Aug 25, 2014 @ 6:28pm

Got that frozen fish and slapped 'em. One of the best decision I've ever made in a game.

PaperBlurt says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 7:12pm

Interesting little Twine.
Nice with that many choices...

staarland says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 2:49pm

Got to go clubbing in an infinite loop :D Seriously, love the concept, really nice idea. Is a bit off track from the overall theme but is fun otherwise. Sure i'll end up spending more time reading though the other branches.

ReddogStone says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 5:36pm

Hmm, this is a very interresting and unusual story. I liked it. But it rather feels a bit linear. Although there are lots of different endings, most of them feel incomplete. Fighting the rabit-man was really fun, however :)

g0wen says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 7:37pm

Part interesting, part hilarious, nice job!

TrickFishPie says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 10:46pm

Good job on these. A lot of effort to come up with the storys

cstudios says ...
Sep 3, 2014 @ 9:50pm

The only problem with this "game" was that i had to zoom way in. its kind of hard to read white on black (however i code that way), especially when i review LD games before sleep.
So, bigger text with inverse colors would be nice.

The game is good! its an interactive book, like the RPG books i used to "read" when i was a kid. Nice job :)

reicha7 says ...
Sep 7, 2014 @ 1:10pm

Dem Endings...

Sascha says ...
Sep 7, 2014 @ 9:26pm

Wow, this is sooo big. I mean wow! I went clubbing and slapped people with a fish, and tried out doing the story in sync with the male/female versions to see the variations.

Then I (luckily) found the part where they meet themselves and the rabbit, and wow! The story just kept going! I really liked the idea of a synced him/her, and them being out and exploring. The reset-universes idea was pretty neat, too. (But as a side-note: hey, when a supernova bursts, planets don't just fly out of it immediately ^^)
I most liked the very-far happy-ending with the resonating thems feeling their presence.

All in all, am amazingly huge piece of work! Especially for 48 hours! Some of it a maybe bit far-fetched, some of it genius, and all maybe a tad unorded, making it hard to follow a central storyline. But overall, a great adventure I enjoyed immensely!

osthekake says ...
Sep 15, 2014 @ 7:39pm

My only complaint is that it could really have done with a spell-check. Replayability very high :)

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]