Ludum Dare 30 — August 22nd-25th, 2014 — Theme: Connected Worlds

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend (Games) | MiniLD #53 | Wallpaper (1) (2) (3) | Mailing List ]

Back to Browse Entries

Planet Bouncer

by TimtheBo - 48 Hour Compo Entry

Hi, this is my first Ludum Dare entry.
It's a simple mouse-driven platformer where you have to jump from world to world.
It automatically times your progress and you can then race against your previous best, which appears as a ghost.

The Mac OSX Version has sound/ music, but I couldn't get it to work with the jar.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness60%
#271Fun3.41
#552Innovation3.16
#646Overall3.12
#743Humor2.07
#783Audio2.24
#848Theme2.78
#858Mood2.64
#986Graphics2.38

Comments

eruiz00 says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 8:22am

It's like Project Gotham Racing but jumping in space... simple but had a fun time in my test, once I wrap to the difficult mouse control.

SoulGame says ...
Aug 29, 2014 @ 6:41pm

Nice and original gameplay idea, but the physic is not clear enough so it's not very handy and a bit frustrating to play. A bit more work on physics and some polishing on player's interactions visual feedback, would bring more fun into the game.

kristof says ...
Aug 30, 2014 @ 11:15am

Nice little game. I like the music! The game crashed a few times in mid game on Mac OS X Mavericks though.

phi says ...
Aug 30, 2014 @ 11:48am

Interesting physics, fun to use. I found the level design a little bit odd and difficult. The simple graphics leave space for more 'special effects'. Otherwise, a nice concept and prototype. :)

ob6160 says ...
Aug 30, 2014 @ 11:52am

Good game, could do with a little more work but fun to play :)

creative630 says ...
Aug 30, 2014 @ 12:00pm

Victory! 63.07s and 19 fails.

I like your game, it was fun once I figured out how to play. I sill have no idea what the different colours mean though...

Sunflower says ...
Aug 30, 2014 @ 12:48pm

The physics were acting somewhat weird, but I still somehow managed to complete the game. Moderately fun, in general. ^^"

KEFIR says ...
Aug 30, 2014 @ 12:49pm

Nice! Simple yet enjoyable concept!

borgi says ...
Aug 30, 2014 @ 12:51pm

Interresting idea, a bit hard to get use to theis control, but I can imagine a great game based on this control!

pikkpoiss says ...
Aug 30, 2014 @ 6:34pm

Great music, and really chill atmosphere. The core gameplay mechanic is nice, and it would be cool to see the idea expanded on given more time.

frogcheese says ...
Sep 7, 2014 @ 2:07pm

Fun, fast-paced bouncy action! And a lot harder than it looks. This is really cool for your first entry, great job! :D

whalebot says ...
Sep 8, 2014 @ 5:27pm

This was pretty sweet. I loved flying through the planets.

Sep 8, 2014 @ 6:16pm

92 seconds in my second try. Good game, lots of fun. Nice the ghost system to see previous tries. It would be great to create a random stage generator.

crazyrems says ...
Sep 8, 2014 @ 7:28pm

A nice attempt. Pretty much the same thing as mine, but in 2D, and Funnier !

Razoric says ...
Sep 8, 2014 @ 8:07pm

Cool concept!

MaesK says ...
Sep 8, 2014 @ 9:10pm

Great idea! Reminds me of my own game for this Ludum Dare! Mechanic might need some polish, sometimes it was too hard, sometimes too easy. Lets say a speedrun is the best (and funniest) choice to make when selecting trajectories :D

pansapiens says ...
Sep 9, 2014 @ 1:49am

Interesting gameplay. I feel like the design of the levels didn't exploit it as well as it could have - they felt a little randoms rather than a 'problem to be solved' if that makes any sense. Still, great job, it is only 48 hours after all !

CodeNMore says ...
Sep 10, 2014 @ 12:24am

I like the game and music. A bit more polish and it'd be great!

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]