Ludum Dare 30 — August 22nd-25th, 2014 — Theme: Connected Worlds

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend (Games) | MiniLD #53 | Wallpaper (1) (2) (3) | Mailing List ]

Back to Browse Entries

Secret Place

by MJamesShort - 48 Hour Compo Entry

Secret Place is an erotic Twine game about existential lust.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#300Humor2.79
#315Mood3.28
#575Innovation3.13
#912Overall2.83
#1001Theme2.48
#1015Fun2.47
#1150Graphics2.00
#1204Coolness49%

Comments

Crowbeak says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 3:49am

I liked it, but that font is so very hard to read.

oranebeast says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 4:03am

I don't know what to say, but it's great you've created a twine game with a.... Twist.

Hypnohustla says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 6:14am

You dirty old man... :D Not a huge fan of Twine games but this was very well written. Great job!

PaperBlurt says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 10:40am

Erotica.
Haven't seen that before.
Interesting..

dadman says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 11:35am

Weirdly enjoyable. Felt a bit like I was stumbling around in confusion with the other person more than everything. I'm curious to see how many places it goes.

xrm0 says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 1:09pm

Same as @Crowbeak, the font used makes it difficult to read.

Snoother says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 11:47pm

Twine erotica. Quite possibly my favourite niche. There were some really weird, great lines in it -- "early wetness as you melt inside me", "a silent hiss of chemical infatuation". Congrats.

ruthiepee says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 1:52am

You could probably make an industry out of this game. Love how vague and open it is to interpretation. I didn't have any problem reading the text (in Chrome) so I'm not sure what the other reviewers are talking about.

The word "exist" leads to a blank page though. If that's on purpose-- good job, I think it's poignant and serves its purpose. If it's not on purpose... oh well. It was a game jam. Enjoyed it, thanks for making it!

MJamesShort says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 2:26am

@Ruthiepee - Glad you enjoyed it! The blank page after "exist",at the end, is on purpose . Thanks for playing!

MJamesShort says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 2:27am

Thanks Snoother!

Aug 26, 2014 @ 10:59am

Interesting take on the theme, liked the writing style.

MJamesShort says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 2:21pm

Thanks Franklins Ghost!

BuffaloPhil says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 6:50pm

Needed a smoke after that. I think that it's fair to call you a pioneer in this genre

JNyknn says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 1:20pm

Now I know what it feels like to play a poem...

gnuwind says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 1:32pm

Great job! I like the style of your game and the story.

AlexDJones says ...
Aug 30, 2014 @ 12:18am

Really interesting twine, I like your writing style a lot.

GrooveMan says ...
Aug 31, 2014 @ 8:49pm

It's funny, while the characters (and myself?) are not explained in detail, the sex of characters involved reads really clearly. I'm reminded of Pippin Barr's Hot Coffee, where it turned out that writing erotica or sexual metaphors without clearly attributing sex is actually pretty hard.

I love that you can end the scene on a blank page. It's something that I never considered for a Twine game and it just- /works/, you feel me? Great job.

Sep 1, 2014 @ 12:34am

Nice game. I included it in part 13 of my Ludum Dare 30 Compilation video series, if you’d like to check it out :) http://youtu.be/RYkx3DRuabw

MJamesShort says ...
Sep 5, 2014 @ 10:15pm

Thanks Grooveman!

Sascha says ...
Sep 7, 2014 @ 8:59pm

Very interesting style! Liked a lot of the imagery and uses of the dialoges as side-thoughts. I kind of lost the continuity of what was going on once, but other than that I enjoyed the game! Good job!

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]