Ludum Dare 30 — August 22nd-25th, 2014 — Theme: Connected Worlds

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend (Games) | MiniLD #53 | Wallpaper (1) (2) (3) | Mailing List ]

Back to Browse Entries

Uplinked In

by cptnwaffles - 48 Hour Compo Entry

Teleporting stuff isn't as easy as science fiction made it look. People are made up of a LOT of data and take a long time to download, so links between planets must be solid in order to ensure all ears, elbows, and vital organs make it to the other side in one piece.

Uses HTML5 and ImpactJS, so no plugins are necessary to play it.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#55Theme4.00
#75Audio3.70
#246Innovation3.57
#409Graphics3.32
#586Overall3.18
#730Mood2.79
#840Fun2.71
#1265Coolness48%

Comments

DrCicero says ...
Aug 24, 2014 @ 4:49pm

There is no link yet, lets look back later.

I head a similar idea at first! Hard-connecting planets :) But my idea was to connect them one after another until you have a big linked mess. (And any still unlinked planets could crash the whole thing.)

And then i made something completely different :)

Jellycakes says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 3:07pm

Nice, the mechanics were a little hard to get the hang of, like correctly orbiting the satellites, maybe not having the downloads reset back to 0% would be a little more forgiving. Pretty fun though, nice work.

DJWizardCop says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 3:11pm

Nice idea and impressive solar system construction.

nitram_cero says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 3:31pm

Cool idea!

I'm super bad at playing but I get it. I like its easy to learn/hard to master style. Also straightforward and uncluttered.

It would be good on mobile.

kidanger says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 4:33pm

Really nice graphics and audio! Nice game!

Hyoga-3D says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 5:58pm

Could not win, but very nice concept;

zatyka says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 3:36am

This was a somewhat unique take on the theme. It could definitely use a bit more gameplay and polish. Even after playing a few times, I wasn't able to do very well. I'd suggest making the purpose of the satellites more apparent. Also, one of the round I played had 2 planets named the same.

Rozaxe says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 5:47pm

Nice game !
Good use of the theme !

Aug 26, 2014 @ 5:49pm

Love the idea, does seem a but tough though.

remmy says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 5:54pm

really grat, nice idea and beautifully done :)

Ramori says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 5:55pm

Pretty fun, great music!

mrexcessive says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 8:20pm

Hi there. Interesting idea, found it impossible to get any transfer to complete though... the reset back to zero every time another planet gets in way is pretty frustrating. Nice look.

snooze82 says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 8:20pm

quite hard :) nice concept :)

Scipio Xaos says ...
Aug 30, 2014 @ 3:25am

Pretty cool! Took me a while to realize you could use satellites for maintaining connections. It was difficult to get them to stay where you wanted to. Maybe add in an estimated orbit for the satellite during launch so you could fine tune the launch.

Pretty cool, though!

sbarrio says ...
Aug 31, 2014 @ 8:23am

Awesome idea and very well executed. It kept me hooked for a while. Great job!

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]