Ludum Dare 30 — August 22nd-25th, 2014 — Theme: Connected Worlds

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend (Games) | MiniLD #53 | Wallpaper (1) (2) (3) | Mailing List ]

Back to Browse Entries

Operation Ad-Hawk

by Clyde - 48 Hour Compo Entry

In the wake of the Great Bandwidth Throttle of 2016, the world must be re-connected... with a huge ad-hoc network?

Hook up cables and dodge dachshunds in this connective platforming adventure vaguely sort-of tangentially about net neutrality! (but more about CAT5 and dogs)



(ALSO hit R if you need to restart the level, forgot to put that in the README... whoops!)

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness50%
#56Humor3.64
#401Audio2.96
#413Fun3.21
#420Mood3.15
#445Graphics3.24
#454Overall3.30
#568Theme3.24
#677Innovation3.00

Comments

Aug 25, 2014 @ 2:49am

This is super fun. I really like the animation and music. I found that it is tricky at first to connect. Once I realized I had to have my hand right on the computer I was able to play.

nintendoeats says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 2:53am

I got through to the level where challenge starts to happen (the one where you have to outrun the dogs). It started to feel interesting there, but I couldn't make it through. I still don't fully understand how to guarantee that I'll start a connection, and there is no noise to indicate when you've started.

The daschund's effect is pretty awesome though! I also like the music.

Aug 25, 2014 @ 2:54am

its like... kindof fun. i didn't see r to restart until after playing.

OnlySlightly says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 2:55am

I had a lot of fun :) . It had an arcadey feel, and I giggled when I got to the last level. Both when I saw how I had to run for dear life and when I dropped into the bit and got bounced around like crazy by touching the dogs. Awesome job!

rlangewi says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 3:34am

Was decently entertaining, though I felt like the connecting of the computers was just an extra thing rather than the main game mechanic as far as what it actually took to beat the levels. I personally found the controls a bit awkward, I would have rather had W be jump than space give the use of WASD, but that might just be a personal preference. Good job!

NuSan says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 12:31pm

It's realy funny the way you spin realy fast but can still control and sometimes jump while your character is upside down. Using a rotating arm instead of just the body to activate is interesting.

eott says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 6:44pm

The game glitched out on me on the last level (a lone dachshund cornered me after I used him to catapult me upstairs again), but it was fun get so far. The music got a bit repetitive, but it was still bearable.

Canyon says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 2:22am

I tried to run it but it stayed minimized and in Task Manager said "Not Responding".

Is it possible to make a web build?

Empyrealhell says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 3:41am

Pretty simple game overall, but it all fit together well. It seems like you hit your target scope dead-on. The collision response was a bit iffy at points, especially when falling though. Also, bonus points for dachshunds being bad.

Clyde says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 11:38pm

Thank you everyone for the comments and for checking out my game. :)


Canyon, sorry to hear that it didn't work! I'll try putting up a web version.

jukimv1986 says ...
Aug 30, 2014 @ 6:27pm

hahahaha dach was the best dog ever :D loved the final stretch too. great work!

Nooner Bear says ...
Aug 31, 2014 @ 11:04pm

Simple yet entertaining. Only issue is occasional collision causing me to get stuck. Nice art.

Gametery says ...
Sep 3, 2014 @ 9:25pm

Literally connecting :P a bit buggy on collisions but good work! Keep up

Sep 5, 2014 @ 7:03am

It's a bit fun, but also felt too easy...

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]