Ludum Dare 30 — August 22nd-25th, 2014 — Theme: Connected Worlds

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend (Games) | MiniLD #53 | Wallpaper (1) (2) (3) | Mailing List ]

Back to Browse Entries

Diorama

by Nooner Bear - Jam Entry

[Windows XNA] For those who already have the XNA framework
[Windows EXE] For those without the XNA framework redist.
[Linux Mono] For Linux users via MonoGame framework (Coming Soon)

This game leans more on the aesthetic and creative side of development. I spent a significant amount of my time just creating the scenes and characters alone. It's funny that this was the first thing I thought of when I read "Connected Worlds", but overall I'm glad it was my interpretation!

Diorama is a rather short, but well illustrated adventure game about helping the diorama residents. If I wanted to, it would be exceedingly easy for me to extend the game or refine the stories.

This was my first ever solo Jam and being honest, I put many, many, highly intensive hours into making this. I'm glad that at least now I can sleep!

I hope you enjoy the game. As long as you get something positive out of it, my goal is accomplished.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness100%
#42Graphics(Jam)4.43
#70Overall(Jam)3.81
#77Mood(Jam)3.82
#83Audio(Jam)3.77
#119Humor(Jam)3.26
#148Theme(Jam)3.66
#162Fun(Jam)3.44
#314Innovation(Jam)3.16

Comments

liquidminduk says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 2:24am

Having trouble downloading (might be my internet) But from looking at the shots it looks great!

bluemaroo3 says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 6:53pm

Beautiful game, really enjoyed playing it. Like the use of the rhyming dialogue. Superbly illustrated. Would love to play an extended version.

alaslipknot says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 1:34am

i really love the art style and the dialogue make the game a lot more... "alive" Great job man !!

MechanicMoon says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 1:39am

Nice graphics!

5T4MP5 says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 1:44am

It's really good looking, and I really liked the sound. It's simple but feels very polished. Really good application of the theme too.

Aug 28, 2014 @ 1:44am

Really cool idea. Can't say I've ever seen something like it before.

nerd burglars says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 2:21am

Very unique. You obviously put a lot of creativity into this :)

ramoncb says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 2:22am

Impressive! =O

Very polished and beautiful (and nice musics too)! Congratulations!

You should really make an extended version! ;-)

drstik says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 2:22am

Far too difficult. The parrot mini-boss killed me at least 50 times before I succumbed to a fit of blind rage and put my fist through my monitor. One star each for fun, humor and mood because going to the hospital is neither fun or humorous and now I'm in a bad mood. I liked the graphics.

Aug 28, 2014 @ 3:10am

Great job, really well done in 72h, very polished!

SwiftIllusion says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 3:22am

Absolutely loved it, has a brilliant whimsical style to it both with the visuals and the great dialog. An awesome interpretation of the theme and it had a great flow from beginning to end, each story was satisfying and sweet, great job :D.

ninjascript says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 3:56am

I love everything about this game! The poetry was a really fantastic touch. Bravo!

rRootagea says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 4:25am

A fantastic tale, so skillfully told, if this was contest, you'd surely win gold

Spencer Alves says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 4:38am

Really incredible! It looks like we might have had similar ideas. I didn't like that I had to install it, though.

RHY3756547 says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 3:02pm

Very nice - I loved the graphics and music! I played another game with the same gameplay style called Dead Land, which I also liked. I think the appeal is very much the same, you both have a charming story & setting and the puzzles are well thought out.

Aug 28, 2014 @ 3:19pm

Nicely done!

hadesfury says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 3:35pm

Really cute!
Congratulations on doing it on your own.
Though I agree on what was said above, installation aren't cool!

kibertoad says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 3:36pm

Pretty and fun to figure out. Great writing.

slowfrog says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 8:08pm

Great game. The graphics and music are really good.
Of course the mechanics are not new, but the story is interesting and fits the theme quite well.
And the fact that it's short is to be expected for a jam. But it's a "complete" short game, that's what's important.

Lvyn says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 8:41pm

Thats great :) I wish it was longer too ;)
Great graphics, nice mood, peaceful music.

dook says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 10:26pm

Ah very nice. Sweet little game with a lot of style! I would definitely play a much longer game with a style like this.

EndingChaos says ...
Aug 29, 2014 @ 2:14am

Wonderful art style man!

Nooner Bear says ...
Aug 29, 2014 @ 2:21am

Nerd Burglars you've said that same comment on multiple games.

Nooner Bear says ...
Aug 29, 2014 @ 2:28am

That said, I'm glad you have had an eye for creative games. I just realized that comment could certainly have been taken the wrong way.

hbocao says ...
Aug 29, 2014 @ 2:38am

Looks amazing! The writing is pretty good too! I love adventure games, so it's good see one between the entries. Nice job!

01101101 says ...
Aug 29, 2014 @ 10:56am

What the config required please , ... unable to run on my computer. Seven 32/64 bits ?

Sanguine says ...
Aug 29, 2014 @ 11:11am

Amazing atmosphere! Really loved it! Had some problems giving stuff from my inventory to people sometimes, but that was no biggie!

mechabit says ...
Aug 29, 2014 @ 11:14am

Amazing entry, love the aesthetics and theme and artwork. You should definitely release a full version, I'd pay money for it.

Fanatrick says ...
Aug 29, 2014 @ 6:14pm

Pretty good, doesn't have any major cons.

Jod says ...
Aug 29, 2014 @ 6:36pm

That was beautiful. Great mix of graphics and music!

Zerkruemler says ...
Aug 29, 2014 @ 8:38pm

Fantastic graphics and music. A very creative interpretation of the theme. Well done. I had a lot of fun playing your game!

jomomomo says ...
Aug 29, 2014 @ 9:36pm

I can't play on windows... any chance for a web version?

Almax27 says ...
Aug 29, 2014 @ 9:56pm

Very polished, particularlly love the transitions between stages

DinoHeaven says ...
Aug 30, 2014 @ 7:58am

Very unique! I like the story and the rhyming :)
Much fun to play, great job!

jahmaican says ...
Aug 30, 2014 @ 11:08am

Brilliant. Top rates from me, I loved it, too bad it's so short. Make a sequel, now!

Otrora Games says ...
Aug 30, 2014 @ 3:22pm

Awesome take on the theme. Those graphics are the best I've seen so far

Nooner Bear says ...
Aug 30, 2014 @ 5:16pm

I'm currently working to create a port to Linux

Moosefly says ...
Aug 31, 2014 @ 10:14am

Really nice mood and even though it was short I was very satisfied. Especially loved the rhyming, wish I could do it too (hehe).

There were a few bugs / things I didn't like too:
- Lonley?
- Mouse to move, space to advance dialogue, why not just make the whole game controllable by mouse.
- The characters would say the line about giving something to you even after they had already given the item to you. I think this broke the immersion more than the other lines they were repeating.

Anssi@MooseflyGames

bluesky says ...
Aug 31, 2014 @ 8:16pm

I'm very impressed with the gameplay, well done.

CatOnMars says ...
Sep 1, 2014 @ 2:33am

I like the art style and simple story, although I think the puzzles are too easy and straight forward, I prefer more challenge. Overall it's a nice game, hope you could elaborate it more :)

OxyOxspring says ...
Sep 1, 2014 @ 2:46am

Beautiful art-style and incredibly well polished!

Jedi says ...
Sep 1, 2014 @ 9:44am

Woohoo! Great game! The only problem I saw was that the NPC's would tell you to take things they'd already given away. Aside from that it was a perfect adventure game for Ludum Dare. Really appreciated the humor, the writing, art, audio and mood.

Great Job!

malf says ...
Sep 1, 2014 @ 5:39pm

Pretty game I liked the graphics, the rhymes and the play

Too short , and it failed me , I wasn't able to give the pirate his parrot

spotco says ...
Sep 2, 2014 @ 3:51am

Really really cute graphics, but not a whole lot of content. Enjoyed what there was though (very sierra/monkey island/etc style)

vividhelix says ...
Sep 2, 2014 @ 9:11am

Short, but really nice. Appreciated you taking the time to make things rhyme. The art style was lovely and overall I liked the whole stage feel...Great job, one of the better entries.

ztiromoritz says ...
Sep 2, 2014 @ 11:42am

I really liked the wavering ship effect. Nice game.

lowcade says ...
Sep 2, 2014 @ 3:25pm

Awesome game! I LOVE the art style! Great job!

Artamus says ...
Sep 2, 2014 @ 5:26pm

Very nice and polished game, congrats!

Lokarunith says ...
Sep 2, 2014 @ 9:02pm

Nice entry, with a + for it's original presentation.

igoramendola says ...
Sep 3, 2014 @ 3:39am

I had a problem with the EXE installer ("an error occurred during the installation of assembly 'Microsoft.Xna...'"). That happened with my desktop computer and the laptop. So, I uninstalled everything, then I installed .NET from Microsoft's site and finally I could install the EXE without error.

Anyway... the game is really nice and it was worth the effort to install (although, I'm not a fan of installations hehehe)
Unfortunatelly, I couldn't finish it because the mouse doesn't reach to the guitar guy and I suppose the telescope is for him. I don't if this issue is related to the .NET previous problem.
But the illustrations are gorgeous. Also it has an interesting gameplay and the music of each place gives a cool ambience.
Good work! :D

Kep says ...
Sep 3, 2014 @ 7:12pm

Short and a little buggy, but it is a fantastic concept worth developing further. Well done!

Razoric says ...
Sep 4, 2014 @ 4:59pm

Very creative and great graphics! One of my favs!

Dohan says ...
Sep 9, 2014 @ 4:24pm

The game seems great, but I've been unable to finish it because of my outdated aspect ratio of 5:4. Nevertheless, I was able to play until I gave the parrot to the pirate with no much trouble.

JonathanG says ...
Sep 12, 2014 @ 12:40pm

Nice little story, well done with the graphics and the sound!

apiotrw says ...
Sep 13, 2014 @ 4:17pm

Really good entry

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]