Ludum Dare 30 — August 22nd-25th, 2014 — Theme: Connected Worlds

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend (Games) | MiniLD #53 | Wallpaper (1) (2) (3) | Mailing List ]

Back to Browse Entries

Space Merchant

by Pierce_Z - Jam Entry

First jam I've ever done, made this alone. If you have an android device, let me know what you think.

The game involves you tapping on planets to establish trade routes between them. Each planet has resources it needs and resources it produces. The goal is to get each planet what it needs to move on to the next galaxy.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#306Theme(Jam)3.33
#391Fun(Jam)3.00
#493Innovation(Jam)2.84
#544Mood(Jam)2.80
#629Overall(Jam)2.81
#641Graphics(Jam)2.68
#1598Coolness39%

Comments

caranha says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 4:26am

Very nice idea for a puzzle game. I like how you used the Android Style to make the game "flow" with the system.

That said, the game still feels a little "barren" - connecting "A" "X" and "Z" resources is not as interesting as if the resources were something more concrete. Also sounds and music would make this game much more attractive to play.

vividhelix says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 4:33am

Good start and interesting concept!

Alexander says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 1:53pm

I think this could use a bit more variation and maybe some moving parts, the screen looks a little bland

MrSylar59 says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 2:48pm

I can't play it...

MrSylar59 says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 2:49pm

I can't play it... (Android only)

RobotFriend says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 3:42pm

Clever puzzle game. I couldn't figure out how many lines I had left before losing a level.

Sargonius says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 1:49pm

Can't play it, sadly :(

Pierce_Z says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 1:22am

Sorry for those who can't play - is the minimum version of android too high (4.0.3)?

Aug 28, 2014 @ 1:51am

Yeah, a lot of devices are 2.3 still. That's what I usually build for.

LesInk says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 1:53am

Nicely done game. Simple yet deep enough of a puzzle game to make you think and keep you wanting to play. I like.

Pierce_Z says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 2:58am

@SevenKingdomsSurvivors I updated it to support back to 2.3. It should update on the play store in a few hours. Had to hack my code up a bit to do it but it seems to be working.

Pierrec says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 10:45am

A Nice little puzzle. It would be more appealing and less confusing if the ressources weren't letters though (The X is really confusing since it also marks a used road)

Pierce_Z says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 1:34pm

@Pierrec yeah I didn't think much of it until after the fact. I actually had lots of time left to make icons and add music but I was jut happy to do my first game jam and finish the game. Using X twice would be an especially easy change to make. Maybe after the voting ends I'll do an update.

J-d-H says ...
Aug 29, 2014 @ 8:11am

Liked it.

goerp says ...
Sep 6, 2014 @ 7:55pm

It's the first trading game I've played this Ludum Dare. And it's a puzzler too.
Well made for mobile, smooth experience.
Nice idea. The first few levels I thought it was impossible to go wrong, but out got harder.my only criticism is that the use of letters in a row is a bit confusing

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]