Ludum Dare 30 — August 22nd-25th, 2014 — Theme: Connected Worlds

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend (Games) | MiniLD #53 | Wallpaper (1) (2) (3) | Mailing List ]

Back to Browse Entries

Fourth dimension

by Slowian - 48 Hour Compo Entry

Click on the walls as fast as possible.

Story:
You've died of cancer 4 days ago, and your family moan in grief.
You've left your husband and one year old daughter.
Currently you are residing in the fourth dimension.
You will not find a peace until you give your family a sign.
It will let them know that you are now in a better place and they should continue with their lives.
You've struggled, tried to conjure a wind, take down a glass from the table or at least touch your husband,
but the blurry walls always stopped you.
Your body starts fading away, and your power is weakening every second.
There is not much time any more for you in this dimension, for one last time try to break the walls.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness53%
#420Mood3.15
#716Theme3.03
#812Humor1.95
#976Audio1.55
#1020Graphics2.31
#1097Overall2.53
#1105Innovation2.24
#1184Fun1.89

Comments

BlueSama says ...
Aug 24, 2014 @ 8:08am

Mind Blowing

Yanthir says ...
Aug 24, 2014 @ 7:36pm

Never played such an amusing game. 11/10 would play again.

hypp says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 7:24am

Very arty!

Oxeren says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 1:47pm

Well, starting screen text made me curious, but alas... it could have been interesting if there was something more meaningful then just clicking.

mrbungle says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 9:43pm

Erm... well I gave myself RSI...

dook says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 9:46pm

Heh, way too silly a mechanic. I kinda liked the art, though. It's moody and a little creepy without being scary.

Snail_Man says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 9:46pm

Nice game. Pretty simple, but I liked it.

Aug 27, 2014 @ 9:47pm

Great idea, very dark. Would have been nice to have more than just a tapping mechanic.

imdigitaljim says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 12:14am

I may have broken my mouse but with 4 seconds to spare! GG I was entertained!

wobbleboxx says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 3:59pm

I liked the instructions.
14.something seconds left.
Nice drawings :)

FinnMacd says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 4:05pm

nice concept, but next to no gameplay. also i broke my are with 1second to spare

nerd burglars says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 4:09pm

Very original storyline and artwork! Great entry!

barleyarley says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 10:35pm

Interesting concept delivered with no fluff. Definitely well executed, my only critique would probably be that the writing seemed a little ham-fisted and would have had much more impact had it been a little more nuanced. Great job overall though.

OFF says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 10:39pm

You kill my arm! ;)

The game could deserve better graphics with a such simple idea, more like art and also a powerful game, the purpose make our action a little bit despair, but that's really a beautiful game.

The game could deserve some events or even to clik at some point on a certain object, even more element.

By using more realistic/graphical element, and various sound, the game could became more creepy/sad and powerful,in my opinion.

For now that's the based ghost-game i ever played!

dylanwolf says ...
Aug 29, 2014 @ 12:05am

The story behind the game is really good, as are the win and loss screens. I wish there was more to it than clicking, though.

Toubib says ...
Aug 29, 2014 @ 8:21pm

well, what a great gameplay!

INC$D021 says ...
Aug 29, 2014 @ 8:22pm

Time left: 15.71587s Poor mouse ;)

rantt says ...
Aug 30, 2014 @ 1:12am

great story, made it feel very frantic. I enjoyed it, nicely done.

RFMTeam says ...
Aug 30, 2014 @ 12:11pm

i think the idea and the mood (with the text intro) are quite original, but then the game it's just clicking! haha

Aug 30, 2014 @ 6:02pm

I broke my mouse haha !

cardboard says ...
Aug 30, 2014 @ 6:39pm

What a struggle! The button at the start that says "Start Struggle" isn't a figure of speech. I managed to touch my husband with 17.15784 seconds left. I was expecting something deeper, but I am satisfied with myself after having clicked a nearly blank screen a bajillion times.

Moosefly says ...
Aug 30, 2014 @ 7:14pm

Both my hands and my mouse are dead after having to click trough those walls twice (didn't make it on the first try). I just hope they have enough life in them to give us a sign in the form of a rating on your game...

Not the most riveting gameplay, but hey, it still made me click like a madman.

Anssi@MooseflyGames

sbarrio says ...
Aug 31, 2014 @ 8:58am

It was difficult to click that fast with a laptop's touchpad. Interesting concept though!

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]