Ludum Dare 30 — August 22nd-25th, 2014 — Theme: Connected Worlds

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend (Games) | MiniLD #53 | Wallpaper (1) (2) (3) | Mailing List ]

Back to Browse Entries

Noli

by chipcaramel - Jam Entry

You wake up to realize that your sister's missing. As you look for her, you hear her calling for help!!

Search for your sibling as you traverse across multiple worlds, with each new place making you more desperate, but opening new strengths to discover...

Jimun
Engine, Bugfixing, Code, Characters, Controls, SFX, Script

Chip Caramel
Environment, Level Design, Graphics, Music, Concept, Script


*Some Key Notes!*

We've spent far too much of the effort to present a well-polished game; so much so, that we've run out of time! What you have is an unfinished project, sadly, with a postmortem version in the works.

The game lacks a victory condition or a death condition right now - the game's 'end' is when you see the legendary Air Shark.

As for LD Jam, this is our game! We hope you enjoy it!

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#34Audio(Jam)4.04
#64Mood(Jam)3.86
#74Overall(Jam)3.78
#76Fun(Jam)3.65
#85Graphics(Jam)4.22
#213Humor(Jam)2.88
#415Theme(Jam)3.09
#601Innovation(Jam)2.62
#1659Coolness36%

Comments

darklightteam says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 1:33pm

Good work! =D

FinnMacd says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 1:39pm

Great game!

snade says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 1:48pm

Good job :)

few points though:
- Attack sound is very loud
- When you start and stop walking it takes like half a second to get to full speed or stop completely, thats very anoying when jumping from platform to platform, especially the small platforms since you slide of it

Trilby says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 1:50pm

It definitely feels polished, well done.

It would be convenient to make the jump or arrow buttons advance the dialogue so I wouldn't have to move my hand around the keyboard.

x1212 says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 1:53pm

great game, high quality, looking forward to the postmortem-version :D

Knowledge says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 2:02pm

Good game. But controles are a bit of buggy.

lolofinil says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 2:04pm

I got to the air shark! nice polishing through!

Sunflower says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 2:36pm

The most outstanding entry I played so far; I really like Metroidvania games, and this time it's no different. The controls were confusing at the very beginning (personally, I'm more accustomed to Z = interact/proceed setup, so having up to interact, space to jump and enter didn't feel so convenient). Also, you might want to reduce inertia a little; as it is now, it's rather difficult to contol.

Still, the audiovisuals were pretty great; I really like the animation, especially the adorable expression of Noli while running. A lot of work went into that game, and it shows. Too bad it's incomplete, but that's what you get with 72 hours of time, I guess.

(oh, and one more thing: I'd suggest having all core instructions presented before there's any split to multiple ways; I went left at the beginning, and thus didn't have information about jumping or running)

Jimun says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 4:32pm

Thanks for all the comments, folks. We put a lot of work into this, and I'm glad to hear it was well received.

Regarding control input, I intentionally avoided using Z as a default key for anything in case anyone was using an Azerty layout.

There's full controller support and key binding if you press F2 and go into the input configuration, so feel free to rebind controls as you like it. "Interact" and "up" are actually separate key configs that can be bound differently.

If you have an X-Input controller, key bindings should be set up for it by default (A = Jump/Accept, X/B=Attack/Cancel, D-pad for movement, Left Shoulder for sprinting), but other controllers will work too, you'll just have to configure them.

Dialog progression is based on the 'accept' key which can be rebound as well, but I'll add Jump as a key it responds to for the post-jam version.

As far as sounds go, I'll do some audio balancing post-jam so it's not so jarring. In the meantime, there's a volume control there in the options menu for sound effects, so you can adjust the sound volume there.

I'll certainly experiment with the inertia too, to see if I can improve that handling there.

Thanks again for the feedback, everyone!

lkr says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 9:07pm

Fantastic visuals and audio, and the beginning of a game I'd love to play a lot more of!

Aug 28, 2014 @ 5:18pm

Really nice game. I'd love to see where this goes.

Erkberg says ...
Sep 1, 2014 @ 7:35pm

This is a great foundation to build something awesome upon. I like the graphical style and the music very much. The sound effects sounded a little cheap compared to the music and the movement was sometimes a little too draggy. Apart from that, I enjoyed this a lot.

whalebot says ...
Sep 10, 2014 @ 12:30am

Very polished.

Moosefly says ...
Sep 10, 2014 @ 4:54pm

Cool to see even settings in a Ludum Dare game! The gameplay needs work though. High inertia and unusual forward-jump made platforming pretty rough and the short range of my attacks combined with how many times I needed to attack made the combat somewhat tedious.

Anssi@MooseflyGames

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]