Ludum Dare 30 — August 22nd-25th, 2014 — Theme: Connected Worlds

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend (Games) | MiniLD #53 | Wallpaper (1) (2) (3) | Mailing List ]

Back to Browse Entries

Prim

by Vulture Tamer - 48 Hour Compo Entry

this is my first try. I had very little time but was dedicated to join in!

it's a rough game, not finished at all! But it's a proof of concept ;-)

how to play:
link two blocks by clicking them after eachother :-)
every box gets gold per second per connection with another box

the intention I had was setting up a high score to who can link all boxes ( more than 4 boxes ofcource xD ) the fastest, but only had time to build this crap :p

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness58%
#1001Theme2.48
#1004Audio1.33
#1113Mood1.65
#1129Innovation2.15
#1201Fun1.64
#1204Graphics1.33
#1220Overall1.94

Comments

wolfmother says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 2:52am

Not a bad proof of concept! But this is very far from a playable game.
My thoughts are the next step from here would be growing the world as you take over more boxes.
Perhaps you could use a Lindenmayer fractal to create a detailed world (don't be scared by the name, they're dead simple to program -- google L-systems).
Example: http://www.cgjennings.ca/toybox/lsystems/dragon-curve.png

dokidoki says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 3:26am

I'm not exactly sure where you were planning to go with this, but I can certainly identify with not having enough time!

Vulture Tamer says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 3:58am

thanks wolfmother, I'll look into that after I finish my exams ;-)

Sogomn says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 6:01am

The game concept is good. Unfortunately it doesn't look like a finished game. If you invested a little more time it would have been a great game, I'm sure!

Njord says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 10:09am

The basic concept sounds good but there isn't much to do so far! I'd add some more visual feedback on what you can / can't do, and introduce a mechanic to generate more boxes.

FeYbraNt says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 10:09am

I don't know others but i couldn't play it...I click on each part of the screen and nothing happens :(...I followed you instructions and also nothing happens...Sigh...

hirsch says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 5:28pm

I do not really get the game mechanic. Can you explain it in the description?
I also found out that it does not work with chrome (with firefox it does).

Vulture Tamer says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 10:04am

I made it using Chrome so it should work :-)

maybe refresh the page? my click triggers are poorly set up so it might bug out on you xD

the main thing is that a box get's 1 gold per second per connection with another box,

the intention I had was setting up a high score to who can link all boxes the fastest, but only had time to build this crap :p

coleott says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 6:58pm

it's a decent little nugget of an idea—to have the player basically monitoring the little things happening on-screen and looking for connections to be made. in it's current state I have to click at least 10 times to make a connection (it seems like you need to click the upper-left of the box? but even that doesn't work most of the time?), so it's not very playable at all, but... baby steps!

Z.B.G.E. says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 4:02pm

Hey it's like a Candy Box variant, in which as long as you wait nothing happens! Awesome ;)

I hope you'll have more time next LD to achieve something more complete!

Piscythe says ...
Aug 29, 2014 @ 5:01pm

I like the idea, it would be interesting to see a post-compo version with a greatly expanded world, more workable controls, and perhaps some special box types with different effects.

Vulture Tamer says ...
Aug 29, 2014 @ 5:16pm

@ piscythe, I'll deffinatly work on that after my exams ;-)

Nooner Bear says ...
Aug 31, 2014 @ 11:01pm

It's an interesting concept, but you'll need some more explanation. I think I know what's going on but I'm not sure since sometimes nothing happens.

dancingmad says ...
Sep 8, 2014 @ 7:22pm

Sound promising but unfortunately it's not very playable... Nice try anyway.

bluesky says ...
Sep 14, 2014 @ 3:02pm

Good job!

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]