Ludum Dare 30 — August 22nd-25th, 2014 — Theme: Connected Worlds

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend (Games) | MiniLD #53 | Wallpaper (1) (2) (3) | Mailing List ]

Back to Browse Entries

cross World

by gnuwind - 48 Hour Compo Entry

The core gameplay :
"To Dodge the enemy, switch to a different world of the same color as that enemy."

Controls:
Holding down [Z] to dodge BLUE
[X] to dodge PINK
Release keys to dodge BLACK

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#798Theme2.88
#868Audio2.00
#903Innovation2.68
#986Fun2.52
#1041Mood2.25
#1093Graphics2.17
#1133Overall2.44
#1319Coolness47%

Comments

Kain.Oborin says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 3:54am

XD this strikes me as a kind of rage game. I got a decent way in. But then it started bugging out. Like I'd block the Blue, but it woudl keep pushing me.

Aug 26, 2014 @ 3:06pm

Oftentimes, the enemies would overlap, causing me to be unable to dodge them...

CptDustmite says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 3:08pm

Pressed enter to start a few times, wouldn't start. Eventually started. Game sort of began before I could realise what to do with the control instructions. The difficulty was a bit strange, the first few times I tried it, the first blocks were very close together and I kept dying. After a few tries, it started off with a much easier one where the blocks/monsters were a lot further away from each other. It makes sense to me to build up on difficulty so people can get used to the game. Once you get started though the gameplay is alright and a good challenge :)

fallingBear says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 3:11pm

Cool game. When I push both keys both of the color enemies should disapear.

kdunee says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 3:11pm

As other people pointed out, sometimes the enemies overlap due to different speeds and are impossible to avoid.

commodoreKid says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 3:25pm

Good idea but I raged a little when the mechanics didn't work. Especially at the start even though I change the color, I couldn't dodge the rectangle. And sometimes obstacles collide. Still a good idea though.

Aug 26, 2014 @ 3:32pm

GREAT idea, but it really needs outlines around the enemies when you're holding down a colour button. You should develop this further!

owyoow says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 6:09pm

I like the idea. Some block are too close together and overlap but I had fun playing

SusanTheCat says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 1:30pm

The block came a little fast at the start so I had trouble figuring out which key did what. Interesting idea worth expanding.

bb_buster says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 1:32pm

Nice enough mechanic, though there was a problem when a pink and blue block appeared side by side there was no way to get past the second block. So maybe adding something that prevents 2 blocks from being too close. But other than that adding some polish could make for a nice little game, good job :)

ajopart says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 1:36pm

simple concept. the game starts to fast to read the instructions. Need polish but good start

gnuwind says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 1:38pm

@bb_buster, when the pink one very close to the blue one (side by side), try this: 1) holding [Z] to dodge blue one. 2) keep hoding [Z] 3) holding [X] at the right moment when run into pink.

Aug 27, 2014 @ 2:22pm

It is definitely a fun little game to play, although it's a generic endless runner game at its core I do like how you implemented the connected world theme within the game. I have found a bug where if you hold both Z and X down you can pass through both pink and blue at the same time. But for a 48 hour submission this is a good game.

ahmedmohi says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 10:27am

Nice game , maybe be little balancing but good work and i like the art style too .

mrexcessive says ...
Aug 30, 2014 @ 8:34am

Hi there. The dodge mechanic is interesting, found the change in movement speed of 'conveyor belt' a bit frustrating.

Gametery says ...
Sep 3, 2014 @ 9:27pm

Very hard at some places but it's fine work!

tiff says ...
Sep 6, 2014 @ 12:42am

Great idea!

Tosic says ...
Sep 15, 2014 @ 6:35pm

Very fun, innovative, kinda like guitar hero :D, I also like the sound, the take on the theme... OMG I like everything about this game!
I played it and tried to reach a big score but my best is 7!
Anyway awesome game! :D

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]