Ludum Dare 30 — August 22nd-25th, 2014 — Theme: Connected Worlds

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend (Games) | MiniLD #53 | Wallpaper (1) (2) (3) | Mailing List ]

Back to Browse Entries

Universal Information Superhighway Connectivity Simulator 2014

by egdob - 48 Hour Compo Entry

Universal Information Superhighway Connectivity Simulator 2014 puts you in the hot seat as the chief network engineer for a fledging new telecoms expert in the era of the space race.

Establish connectivity on planets before joining them up with juicy high-capacity back-haul to become the Ultimate Telecoms Giant.

Improve your infrastructure by upgrading exchanges, but keep an eye on your Network Rating - keep it above 1000 by maintaining a ratio of 16:4:1 exchanges and having enough capacity for all your customers.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#446Overall3.31
#468Innovation3.27
#1907Coolness24%

Comments

eatsleepindie says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 8:17am

I really enjoyed this game. I found it much easier to play in a small browser window (in a maximized window the buttons were too far from the game play area). The animations on the planets as you interacted were great and helped me keep my focus where I needed to.

Dimir says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 2:21pm

Super job! Great pixel grafics!

fizzd says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 2:25pm

This is really well done, even though i don't usually play games in this genre. In Safari on OSX the text box blocks some of the options though.

isal says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 7:36am

Awesome :D. beat it on 3rd attempt. Especially love the animations around the planets to keep me informed about whats going on.

Aug 26, 2014 @ 6:49pm

Fun game! I laughed at "Febember".

elkiwydev says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 6:59pm

Good job but I feel a need of a better explanation of what is going on when i start the game

INC$D021 says ...
Aug 29, 2014 @ 10:48am

Hard but fun :)

mechabit says ...
Aug 29, 2014 @ 10:52am

Fun game, first try I was expanding on all planets at the same time. Much easier just to max out the infrastructure and marketing on a single planet first by which time you have enough money to just build back hauls on all the other planets without worrying about customers to win the game.

Rage Paint says ...
Aug 30, 2014 @ 12:02am

I liked the small animations in the game, though I wish the screen was a bit bigger.

zazery says ...
Sep 3, 2014 @ 10:21pm

Really cool concept. I ended up failing but I'm not sure why. Sometimes it was hard to figure out how each of my actions affected the different numbers.

HuvaaKoodia says ...
Sep 6, 2014 @ 1:34pm

Overall I enjoyed playing through the game, but balancing the stats is a bit arduous as the rating value is rather arbitrary for a few reasons:

- Why 16:4:1 ratio? Why wouldn't everyone just want to use the tier 3 exchange?
- Who is keeping track of this rating value. Is there a Universal Telecom Council who terminate companies that hit the bottom. Wouldn't threatening with termination be a more effective option. After all it's going to be real big hassle to deal with all the infrastructure and workforce left over from the termination.
-Why is there only one company in control of the Superhighway project. If this was the case there would be a project deadline rather than an arbitrary rating.

So keeping these things in mind here are a few suggestions.

The rating value should be indicative of how well the populace perceives your corporation and how willing they are to stick with your services.

Otherwise they'll change to a competitors service, driven by AI opponents.

The rating is based on:
- Connectivity (how many planets/people are connected)
- Speed (the less congestion the better)
- Price (you can set it to whatever you want!)

Upgrading hardware only increases the speed but has no other effect on the rating. Choosing between copper and fiber isn't really a question for most people.

Kayelgee says ...
Sep 15, 2014 @ 7:17pm

Fun Game. I enjoyed it till the end. I actually lost the first time around because my rating randomly plummeted but I won the second game :)

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]