Ludum Dare 30 — August 22nd-25th, 2014 — Theme: Connected Worlds

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend (Games) | MiniLD #53 | Wallpaper (1) (2) (3) | Mailing List ]

Back to Browse Entries

Get Physical

by blindfox - Jam Entry

Must be run in 16:9 aspect ratio!

Space Bar resets the level.

Made by Blind Fox Studios!

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness77%
#116Innovation(Jam)3.59
#192Audio(Jam)3.46
#200Overall(Jam)3.48
#208Fun(Jam)3.35
#240Mood(Jam)3.35
#498Humor(Jam)2.11
#617Graphics(Jam)2.78
#624Theme(Jam)2.47

Comments

Aug 26, 2014 @ 1:37am

Really great game!! I found this game to be really awesome; while it had a simplistic look and easy controls (throwback to 2007, anyone?), it was a surprisingly challenging and addicting game!! Overall- visual 9/10 (try spicing up the game with different themed levels?), controls 10/10, and gameplay + effective timekiller 10/10 !

blindfox says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 3:37am

Wow, thanks for the feedback!
Having different themed levels was a plan of ours, but as with every jam, time ran out and we had to go with just one theme. We plan to keep working on the game, and we'll make sure to put in different themes.
Again, thanks for your time.

mrexcessive says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 8:38am

Hi. Not reviewed yet. Dropbox says no such page...

rooter4 says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 2:53pm

I really loved the audio in this game.

everystone says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 2:57pm

Great! I love the creepy feel to it, reminds me of the movie Cube. I enjoyed the way the boxes in the background reacted to the physics.

blindfox says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 3:08pm

rooter4: Thanks! More sound effects and perhaps adding some percussion to the end credits music is a fairly high priority here right now. We also plan to try adding procedural sound generation (similar to the pings you hear in-game) that is based on object collision!

everystone: Oh boy, I remember Cube. I may go back and watch that again and pound out some levels based around some of the traps once we get some more complex mechanics implemented. At this point it is pretty easy for the whole team to design and implement new levels, so theoretically we could be creating large handfuls of levels each day and having them tested and added to the game weekly. As for the physics affected objects, we also have plans to make that a much bigger part of level design (similar to what you would have seen in the final stage but to a greater degree, if that is what you liked). Thank you for the feedback!

guimonpa says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 3:50pm

Nice game!
I love how the controls and such are part of the game and get pushed around.

blindfox says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 3:54pm

Thanks! We came up with as a spur-of-the-moment idea and it just stuck.

radmars says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 3:55pm

Really fun puzzle game :D I wound up playing it for quite a while. I think id like to have the gravity a little stronger, & reset the level when you're out of moves. Otherwise, awesome job~

Skyfish says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 3:57pm

Very nice game mechanics, at the first few levels were enjoyable to speed through, then as soon as the 2 rotating squares appeared i hit a rock wall in difficulty and promptly ragequit, the physics no longer seeming to do what I wanted them to (of course, my attention was drawn to it after my many attempts) I also realized that there were limited amount of moves on this level- I found the game challenging enough as it was, let alone limiting how much i could swap gravity, made it not possible for me to complete.

blindfox says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 4:05pm

radmars: Thanks for the feedback! We're working on different level themes that might incorporate different strengths of gravity. Also, simply press space to reset the level!

Donar says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 4:12pm

That's really nice. Simple game mechanic but pretty effective and fun.

blindfox says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 4:13pm

Skyfish: We will continue to work on balancing the difficulty of early levels in the future. We have received some pretty mixed results from testing. On the one hand, I find the fourth level to be difficult though not impossible after a several attempts once the rotations of obstacles is considered. One of our designers, however, was able to beat the level in 3 moves on the first try and continued to be consistently good at it. Finally, I know of at least one other person who had the same difficulty with this level as you did. Ultimately we will most likely place a few levels in between the fourth and third stages so that players become more familiar with the physics of the game. Thank you for the feedback!

Squidtank says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 5:07pm

This was awesome to play and really challenging! I didn't understand what "Shift" was until I realized it was dwindling every time I'd smash into something :P

Nice!

Razoric says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 5:10pm

Enjoyed the game. The shifting mechanic is cool and it gets more intense as you progress. I also like the simple control method so it's easy to get right into. Great job.

Budaniel says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 5:14pm

Had fun, but it was hard as nails to get by the level with the gravity fields, so I stopped there. Wasn't as fond of the rainbow goals, but they served their purpose.

Robber says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 5:19pm

cool! some really good game ideas here, music also fits very well, could have had some explosions or effect when you hit a barrier..

Ramori says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 5:21pm

Simple, yet challenging. Nice game, took me some time to finish. Background objects moving with player is a nice touch. And as other people said: difficulty scales a little too fast.

blindfox says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 5:22pm

Squidtank: Thanks for the feedback! To be clear, your number of "shifts" will change every time you press WASD or the arrow keys. This will alter gravity for the player and some objects that we allow. We are interested, however, in possibly providing some consequences later on for high velocity impacts.

Razoric: Thank you so much for taking time to play our game!

Budaniel: Right now I think we are seriously considering placing some levels in between the ones we included here to introduce concepts like the gravity fields slowly so that players can get used to their strength. We tested this game to death, so we are quite used to the levels we made, however we are noticing that players are having some difficulty. It is possible that this could be resolved if there was more time for attempts and players weren't trying to play as many games as possible, but that is, after all, the point of a jam like this. As for the goals, we are actually a bit torn as a team on those. They were one of the first things we implemented and hold a special place in the hearts of a few of us on the team, if you will. Of course, if the response to them is negative we will probably come up with an alternative. Thank you very much for your feedback!

blindfox says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 5:30pm

Robber: An idea being tossed around between the team is prodedural music based on player collision with objects. We feel like that is the direction we want to go thematically rather than explosions. We DO want people to know that we understand an audio cue for impacts with objects is something we are planning (outside of the jam, of course, along with all other gameplay facets we are discussing). After all, in space, nobody can hear you collide with solid objects. Or scream in frustration at difficult levels.

Ramori: We have got this several times already, unfortunately. One of our primary goals was to demonstrate several different hazards and obstacles while at the same time showing how these would potentially scale on harder levels that we will be designing in the future. We probably overestimated the strength of the learning curve since we constantly tested these levels for a couple days. Our solution will most likely be to add levels in between that slowly ease the player into handling each problem rather than reworking the problem levels (we tested each one to make sure it was possible to complete and had a general strategy that always worked when executed properly), however if problems persist then we won't be opposed to just removing those levels entirely and replacing them. Thanks for taking the time to comment. :)

SilverToad says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 5:38pm

Awesome hardcore puzzle!

SwiftIllusion says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 5:42pm

That was a really brilliant use of puzzle physics :D, easily one of the best I can recall, and the graphics and simple controls complemented it perfectly :D. Was consistently fun to try and get through each level, and the final level was a great way to end the experience.
Also that credits sequence was perfect :)!

blindfox says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 5:50pm

SilverToda: Thank you so much! :D

SwiftIllusion: I think everyone on the team can die happy knowing that someone made it to the credits. We were all pretty proud of it. :')
We are so glad that some are enjoying the game so much! Thanks a lot for taking the time to provide your opinion! :D

blindfox says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 5:52pm

Also, we apologize in advance for any typos that sneak there way through between commenting and trying out games that others made. The lack of an ability to reply, edit, or delete posts is a little frustrating (this is our first LD), but we are enjoying every part of it (especially hearing player feedback) nonetheless!

Aug 26, 2014 @ 6:02pm

I enjoyed playing this game. I wish there were more levels :>

Toubib says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 9:30pm

The audio is good, takes time to understand the game. Difficulty increases a little bit too fast imho, i ragequited.

blindfox says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 11:25pm

Toubib: We're planning on adding more padding levels between the difficult ones. This way, we can slowly introduce the player to new mechanics and lower the learning curve. We just got excited and wanted to implement all the mechanics for the jam!

Maxium says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 1:04am

Nice game! I really like how you built upon the base mechanics as the levels progressed.

handkor says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 1:07am

Nice concept, had a glitch where in fullscreen I couldn't see the targets.

blindfox says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 1:11am

Handkor: Did you run the game in 16:9? In any other ratio, parts of the screen get cut off.

nonetheless says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 6:24am

Great concept, moody music, nice entry :)

Nichii says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 1:05pm

This game is fun and addictive, and there was quite an amount of levels. The last two levels got me frustrated, but I got through anyway. It's a fun game, but the slowness got me so frustrated :D Especially the blue squares that sucks you in.

fil00dl says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 3:08pm

difficulty based on inertia, very good idea

martim00 says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 5:03pm

Great mood! I really liked the sounds and mechanics.

ponk says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 5:55pm

Nicely done !

blindfox says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 10:54pm

Thanks a lot for taking the time to try out our game! Glad you all enjoyed it.

barryrowe says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 11:12pm

This game was really fun. Nice platform puzzler! I played all the way to the end, but took me a while!

rnlf says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 1:14pm

Please don't tag Unity Web Versions as "Web". Please use "Web (Unity)". There are a lot of people out there who cannot play Unity Web games. Also, please provide native versions for other OSs if possible.

blindfox says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 2:07pm

barryrowe: Thanks! I'm glad you stuck it out to the end!

rnlf: Sorry about that, I've fixed that discrepancy. We're working on porting right now, and have more native versions soon.

jukimv1986 says ...
Aug 30, 2014 @ 8:57am

Very innovative gameplay and really fun to play! However that level with the two moving squares was too difficult for me, it would have been good to have a less steep learning curve and more levels in between. Nevertheless, great game!!

Tanser says ...
Aug 30, 2014 @ 10:02am

Interesting game, i like it! :)

v23v says ...
Aug 30, 2014 @ 4:09pm

Really enjoyed this! Thought the idea was pretty innovative but still very simple. It's like you took the classic jetpack style space movement and flipped it on it's head. I like that you kept drag in too as preserving momentum would have gotten a little frustrating. Awesome!

popcorn897 says ...
Aug 30, 2014 @ 6:41pm

Really interesting. A bit confusing at first but you're definitely able to figure it out, with some trial and error. and error. and error.
Fun game

Sep 1, 2014 @ 1:03pm

Great puzzle game, enjoyed the challenge but wish there had been more of an easing into the difficult levels. Loved the music and thought it worked so well.

blindfox says ...
Sep 3, 2014 @ 2:54am

Thanks for playing, guys and girls. :D

plash says ...
Sep 12, 2014 @ 9:39pm

This is an excellent & challenging mechanic. The music placed the mood very well. There was a big leap in difficulty at one level, though it's a better progression than most LD games.

Nitpicks:

- The exit and portal graphics don't fit with the rest of the game.

- Linux package does not retain executable bit.

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]