Ludum Dare 30 — August 22nd-25th, 2014 — Theme: Connected Worlds

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend (Games) | MiniLD #53 | Wallpaper (1) (2) (3) | Mailing List ]

Back to Browse Entries

A Darker World

by Last Man Standing - Jam Entry

In "A Darker World" you start in a procedurally generated world, and every block you mine out is replaced with a block from the dark world.
As more of the dark world is brought into the normal world, dark creatures get to the normal world to find and kill you.
You must try to stay alive as long as possible and kill as many dark creatures as possible while mining and collecting new tools dropped from the monsters.

Please note that the game will appear to freeze when loading a new game. This is normal, it did not crash it just is generating the world, which takes some time. Just wait a few seconds and it should load just fine.

This game was made in 72 hours by Last Man Standing Games, who is a one person team- 16 year old "Maxr00"
Last Man Standing Games is currently developing a game by the name Element Bender and used some scripts from the game in this project, which is why it is in the Jam not the Compo.
The game was rushed near the end so some things are not fully working.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#497Graphics(Jam)3.08
#563Humor(Jam)1.82
#590Audio(Jam)2.17
#671Theme(Jam)2.24
#673Mood(Jam)2.33
#682Innovation(Jam)2.32
#700Overall(Jam)2.65
#735Fun(Jam)2.14
#1730Coolness33%

Comments

ivanhlb says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 5:17pm

I don't really see how it relates to the theme...

But great effort for a 1 man team! Good graphics.

CoolIron says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 5:41pm

Great idea! But I wasn't able to play too long. Game froze after a while. And ability to dig block deep inside earth is strange :)
Some sound effects would be nice.
Good job! It would be nice to play some post-compo version with fixes and more features :)

Tommislav says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 8:01pm

Graphics looks good, but the physics needs some tweaking. I jumped far up in the sky (by holding down the jump button) and it took a long time to come back down again.

OinkIguana says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 8:29pm

Looks great, but plays kind of weird. Couldn't really figure it out. Jump was strangely high, and mining/fighting felt weird. Music is alright, but there are no sound effects.

ChronusZ says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 8:36pm

I like the concept a lot, but I don't really see a point to it. Why dig the blocks at all? I think this game would be a lot better with some clear goal.

stasss says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 9:11pm

Nice! But a little game play polish should have to be. Great work!

dancingmad says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 9:19pm

The concept is interesting, but the game is not really playable or enjoyable. There's physics issues, lags happen for no reason, graphics is not really good etc. Keep going!

LTPATS says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 1:48am

Neat game, the character felt a bit floaty which made it hard to navigate, also it seems like I could mine or "draw" on any blocks, even ones not near me. I'd definitely like to see this fleshed out a bit more, the overall atmosphere seemed pretty cool. Great job!

Aug 27, 2014 @ 5:41pm

Interesting concept, but gravity is way too low, and performance is an issue

MunkeeBacon says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 12:10am

Interesting from a technical standpoint, but not sure on the relation to the theme, good job regardless.

Scott Baker says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 1:10am

I got locked up after doing some digging and I couldn't move away from all the spawning monsters.

christopf says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 11:24am

i agree on the comments above, that the idea is interesting, but the state of the game isn't enjoyable to this state. +1 for the creatures looking cool

pmrsco says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 5:08pm

I don't understand how everyone else is missing out on the theme, the concept, if I understand correctly, is that mining blocks from the world is what causes beings to cross over from the "darker world". I think it's a great concept, and I love the monster design! If it were polished, expanded, and made a bit more clearly distinct from games like terreria this could be an awesome game. That being said, this is quite the accomplishment for one person in such a short period of time, particularly someone so young.

Tanser says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 7:28pm

Nice graphics!

alvivar says ...
Aug 29, 2014 @ 2:36am

(16 years old, wow)

excellent work!

EndingChaos says ...
Aug 29, 2014 @ 2:38am

Great graphics man! and neat mechanics! Well done for the amount of time allotted.

Tomker says ...
Aug 29, 2014 @ 3:30pm

Nice graphics, good job

rd127p77 says ...
Aug 29, 2014 @ 7:15pm

reminds me of terraria :), graphics are great

Aug 29, 2014 @ 8:37pm

The art was nice, and the world generation was pretty neat. I did spawn inside of a mountain, and I couldn't figure out how to mine a block.

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]