Ludum Dare 30 — August 22nd-25th, 2014 — Theme: Connected Worlds

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend (Games) | MiniLD #53 | Wallpaper (1) (2) (3) | Mailing List ]

Back to Browse Entries

Dude Launch

by smizmeal - 48 Hour Compo Entry

Dude Launch is an arcade-y type game featuring:
- a giant sea of rolling
- an oscillating moon, within the reach of a hair's-breadth
- a lonely boat of dudes who are trying to defy gravity and jump across the gulf of space onto the moon (safely)

Instructions:
- Launch Dudes to the Moon! (safely)
- CYAN means safe, RED and BLUE mean death.

Modes:
- Normal Game: There are 10 levels. Can you beat it?
- Endless Mode: What's the highest score you can get?
- Infinite Dudes (Sandbox Mode): Launch as many dudes as you want, no regrets!

Controls:
***warning: similar to QWOP, because steering a boat and ladder while launching dudes ain't easy***
- Press and HOLD A to accelerate the boat to the left.
- Press and HOLD L to accelerate the boat to the right.
- Press and HOLD S to rotate the ladder left.
- Press and HOLD K to rotate the ladder right.
- Press SPACE to launch dudes.
- Press ESC to quit the level.
- Press M to mute the music.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness74%
#30Humor3.87
#58Innovation4.02
#279Fun3.40
#411Mood3.16
#416Audio2.93
#417Theme3.43
#454Overall3.30
#902Graphics2.53

Comments

Aug 25, 2014 @ 11:08am

Really original control/ gameplay mechanism, great job!

panurge says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 3:16pm

Very creative and intuitive control scheme. This could be expanded into a full game with a bit more story, obstacles etc. It's really fun as it is and there's something strangely beautiful about seeing a host of little naked dudes caught up between the moon and the sea - Calvino would have approved. :)

carlmartus says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 3:34pm

Nice flow

badlydrawnrod says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 3:52pm

Is it wrong that I enjoyed squashing the dudes? Very original concept.

Tate says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 4:23pm

Cool stuff. I'd love to have the ability to change the controls (like left hand controls the boat... right hand controls the ladder). Great idea overall though.

tillrobby says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 5:42pm

Very funny game :D And really original :) Great job.

StrideWide says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 6:14pm

This game has an awesome premise, I approve.

nikki93 says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 6:55pm

Funny stuff. Almost cracking up again (I say again because the last game I played was hilarious too). I managed to land a few dudes. What was real fun was going into infinite dude mode, making the boat move real fast and just spamming dudes everywhere.

Maybe a little more explanation as to what constitutes a safe land exactly? Seemed a bit random to me.

andrewkennedy says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 11:14pm

Hilarious, love the name and concept :P. I did think controlling the boat and ladder was a little tough.

evilentity says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 12:52am

Damn nice idea, but i find the controls unusable.

Zigsfi says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 1:16am

Any game that involves launching dudes (Mount Your Friends, anybody?) is a winner in my book.

Empyrealhell says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 4:52am

It would have been nice to have an alternate control scheme so I didn't have to switch my keyboard layout just to play the game. Once I got into it, it was hard to tell when my guys would actually go to the moon, and when they would seem to just fall helplessly off the end of the ladder. With the long time in between attempts, it got really frustrating when the ladder was almost touching the moon, but you still lost the guys.

Great concept, the controls were actually kind of fun to play around with, but lack of accessibility and high iteration time on game feedback kinda killed it for me.

Aug 26, 2014 @ 6:25am

Shooting naked men into the sky under moonlight makes for a very good game apparently.

SteveSalmond says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 9:01am

I can safely say that I've never enjoyed launching dudes off a ladder more.. :)

alpha_rat says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 1:45pm

Great idea overall! The gameplay is challenging but intuitive
Very original and fun

Ofursnati says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 3:11pm

Different and original. I like it.

xRubbermaid says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 3:23pm

Definitely one of the most original games I've seen this compo. Throwing naked men at a giant rock is exactly as fun as it sounds.

LexGear says ...
Aug 29, 2014 @ 10:34am

This was tons of fun. A++ for everything. Only thing that lets it down is the graphics. But the DUDE fireworks at the end makes up for it. :D

lkr says ...
Aug 29, 2014 @ 6:22pm

That was an original take on the theme :)

Made it to level 7 before I lost too many dudes to complete the level. Then I sent the rest of my dudes into space, because - well - I could. Fun was had, even in defeat :)

Nice and catchy music also!

havana24 says ...
Aug 30, 2014 @ 7:31pm

Nice concept and nice use of the theme! I think you should revise the controls, they're not so smooth... However the game is enjoyable! :)

jukimv1986 says ...
Sep 4, 2014 @ 11:55pm

You got time in 48 hours to implement several playable modes!? Wow, amazing! A very innovative take on the theme, though I had a hard time with the controls. Keep it up!

Blobby101 says ...
Sep 5, 2014 @ 12:05am

Pretty fun and interesting game! Controls were a little bit awkward, was expecting to use A and D for the boat and W and S for the ladder, Worms style. Good start though! I actually quite liked the complete lack of explanation as to why I was launching these dudes xD

Riley Adams says ...
Sep 5, 2014 @ 12:27am

Really inventive gameplay!

I had a hard time with the controls, but with "similar to QWOP" in the description I imagine that's not entirely unintentional :P

okmmjyygv says ...
Sep 11, 2014 @ 9:53pm

Very innovative. I like it a lot. Good job!

Sep 11, 2014 @ 9:53pm

I love it! Really imaginative idea/setting and fun gameplay. The game over screen and the Italo Calvino quote are nice touches. I'd love to see more of this.

martim00 says ...
Sep 12, 2014 @ 10:54pm

I really liked this game. The minimalist art and retro music are so cool! nostalgic feelings here...

sandbaydev says ...
Sep 15, 2014 @ 7:19pm

Cleverl little game. I would have liked more polished controls: ladder steering, movement... felt not so "under my control"... not so sure about S/K buttons for that either. I dont know why my lads got crushed by the moon, but I guess that's the risk moonlanders must take... :D

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]