Ludum Dare 30 — August 22nd-25th, 2014 — Theme: Connected Worlds

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend (Games) | MiniLD #53 | Wallpaper (1) (2) (3) | Mailing List ]

Back to Browse Entries

No Metro

by Indiestry - 48 Hour Compo Entry

No Metro is an experimental and descision-based adventure.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#873Graphics2.59
#1017Innovation2.45
#1090Mood2.00
#1170Theme1.77
#1199Fun1.68
#1219Overall1.95
#1694Coolness35%

Comments

ThisIsSoNotMe says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 10:54am

Umm... scratch... what do I do? What is this? Somebody explain to me what I need to do. How is this related to the theme?

danidre14 says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 1:25pm

Ok first off, there are no instructions. Secondly, I notice at times people'd jump over me, then run away, then follow, then fly away, and I can't really do anything but wait for the train to come and a next set of things they'd do. Really confusing, and I did not get what was there in store at all.
Care to make any walkthroughs, or gameplay videos about it?

MechanicMoon says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 3:34pm

I do not understand what to do in the game?

Z.B.G.E. says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 3:53pm

I don't think I'm too close-minded about experimental games but this is a bit too unclear to enjoy. Given the context of the Ludum Dare, all I can think of this after finishing it is: "maybe he didn't have the time to actually implement gameplay", or "well sometimes games from jams lack indications so maybe I just missed something".

At the end, it seems like I finally had an actual decision to make, but I'm not even sure the key I pressed at that moment was actually taken in account. It's sad, because I would have liked to understand what hides behind this experimental game.

yodamaster says ...
Aug 30, 2014 @ 6:29am

What's the point?

Drew Van Camp says ...
Aug 30, 2014 @ 1:57pm

This is a game? If I had to label it, I'd go with interactive waiting simulation. Like the colorful people. I could force myself to infer a social commentary out of this, but I'm pretty sure it's not a game due to lack of challenge or requirement on the player. Seems to run on its own. Please let us know if we missed something. It looks nice.

shasharala says ...
Aug 30, 2014 @ 2:01pm

That was interesting.
While I wouldn't presume to know what it was about, I did get an idea for the presumed connections the red character would have with others in their environment.
Do they connect with them? Follow them? Abuse them? Stay alone?
Human interaction is so complicated, simply reducing it to its motions can be a bit obtuse.

Artamus says ...
Sep 2, 2014 @ 5:40pm

Fun experience, congrats!

Sep 7, 2014 @ 5:02pm

I like experimental games normally, but not when they feel like they are just trying to be clever for clever's sake. I hope this is practice for when you do something that has more to say. If you make that one day, I look forward to seeing that.

Lokarunith says ...
Sep 7, 2014 @ 5:21pm

Oh, I really liked this. Experimental games are my favourite. I played it 2 times to see if I had missed something. I enjoyed the mood of the game, the message was not totally clear but I think I got the main idea.

ajopart says ...
Sep 15, 2014 @ 12:42pm

Hum... I must miss something. Like the effectiveness of the graphics, btw.

eskivor says ...
Sep 15, 2014 @ 12:49pm

I didn't understand what to do

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]