Ludum Dare 30 — August 22nd-25th, 2014 — Theme: Connected Worlds

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend (Games) | MiniLD #53 | Wallpaper (1) (2) (3) | Mailing List ]

Back to Browse Entries

Space Kittens Will Not Save The World

by Praron - 48 Hour Compo Entry

Arcade game about space, planets, strange anti-gravitation thing, giant evil robot, coins and kittens!

Control:
Z and X(or Space)
mouse in menu
R - restart level
M - mute sound
Esc - return in main menu

Collect all coins to unlock a bonus level.

Used: Scirra Construct Classic, GraphicsGale and BFXR.

Warning: may contains hardcore elements, bugs and KITTENS!

Game by Praron
My blog: http://praron.tumblr.com/

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness84%
#151Theme3.80
#161Overall3.66
#215Graphics3.68
#229Humor2.94
#239Fun3.45
#250Innovation3.56
#451Mood3.11
#610Audio2.62

Comments

Praron says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 3:19pm

Small cheat: you can press numbers on your keyboard to unlock levels in menu.

holgk says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 4:30pm

Hard to play. But nice game.

SaintHeiser says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 4:51pm

Visually is PERFECT!
Text effect is awesome!
But game is TOOO short! And gane don't fit the theme!
I understand about 48Hours, yeah.

Also I made something simillar on previous LD =)

SaintHeiser says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 4:55pm

Sorry. I wrong by game when alt+tab. About this one - visually looking good. Game mechanics very interesting. Too hard yeah. I'll beat it soon!

SpringPowered says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 7:32pm

Awesome!

Konrad Zegis says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 7:35pm

Wee! I feel like when I was playing Kuru Kuru Kururin on GBA in my old games. Love that comics at the begining, and well... visually it really IS perfect :D

elkiwydev says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 7:38pm

Very very very very creative mechanics of gameplay...I love the idea behind it. Also graphics and sounds are nice (would love to hear some background or ambient music..) 4/5

taviandir says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 7:40pm

Really interesting mechanics! Nice gameplay, nice graphics! :) Great work!

Zupoman says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 7:42pm

Very hard, I had no patience to beat it whole - sorry. The movement mechanics are original and difficult to get used to.
Awesome game.

lkr says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 7:43pm

Fun game :)
I liked the visuals, especially the small story sequences.

It was quite hard to visualize where and when to swap planets and/or direction, which unfortunately meant that I ended up not bothering with coins after a few levels into the game, as I was more likely to die than collect them all. I'm sure collecting them all would be a good challenge with more practice though.

Nice touch with the boss at the end.

Aug 27, 2014 @ 5:28am

Lovely lovely lovely pixels - tough game though :D

Endurion says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 5:32am

Holy crap, this is hard. Really hard.

Very polished entry. Crashes on exit.

bobrocks says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 1:12pm

Love the art style, very simple and appealing. The game is pretty hard, not a bad thing at all. Great entry!

mechabit says ...
Aug 29, 2014 @ 10:21am

I like the literal take on the theme and always love me some pixel art. very cute.

jpcote says ...
Aug 29, 2014 @ 10:36pm

Good game. Level are tough but fun to play !

dancingmad says ...
Aug 29, 2014 @ 10:42pm

Really good idea, gun to play and challenging. Well done!

kidando says ...
Sep 3, 2014 @ 1:29pm

Not sure what it has to do with kittens but I really enjoyed this game. Man, that was a serious concept. this game would also be awesome for mobile. Awesome work. Salute!

Logan says ...
Sep 4, 2014 @ 6:19am

For some reason, I just could NOT wrap my head around how to properly move around. I did manage to shuffle through it, but had a lot of difficulty with level 5.

Nonetheless, it's a really novel concept, and it's pulled off very well.

Sep 6, 2014 @ 8:03am

Simple idea making a great result! Its very tricky to wrap your head around how the movement works, especially when you need to both switch planets and directions quickly. The constant turning means you also have to react quick, that makes the game a lot harder than it would be otherwise. This is pretty much a finished game, congratulations! One of the most complete games I played here so far.

Code White says ...
Sep 6, 2014 @ 10:28am

Nice game, really fun and cute graphics. Well done!

bluesky says ...
Sep 7, 2014 @ 4:38pm

I'm very impressed with the gameplay, well done.

Sep 7, 2014 @ 4:55pm

Pretty great :D I like that you made it challenging. I made something a bit similar once, check out number 29 on this list: http://zeppelincaptain.wordpress.com/2013/11/06/31-games-in-31-days/
My Ludum Dare entry is actually also a little bit similar (not much, but the similarity is there!).

StMatn says ...
Sep 7, 2014 @ 11:22pm

Very cool idea!
Some levels were really hard, but very fun to play.
Great entry!

Sep 8, 2014 @ 7:14pm

Nice entry, I fell that worlds are connected in this one. Fun to play and humorous pregame scene. Difficult one, too.

MRvanderPants says ...
Sep 10, 2014 @ 5:39pm

Love the comic at the start, and a really interesting game concept! Great work!

spartangeek says ...
Sep 10, 2014 @ 9:24pm

cool concept and old-school graphx! I find the game a bit too hard, though and the sound could be much better

Sep 11, 2014 @ 1:35pm

Wow, that one is hard to learn. But really well made solid mechanics! Keep up the good work! Also good looks!

Cash says ...
Sep 12, 2014 @ 7:57pm

I thought it was going to be easy after learning to play but it's really hard. It's still a pretty good game,good job

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]