Ludum Dare 30 — August 22nd-25th, 2014 — Theme: Connected Worlds

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend (Games) | MiniLD #53 | Wallpaper (1) (2) (3) | Mailing List ]

Back to Browse Entries

Ice Cream Aliens

by snowconesolid - 48 Hour Compo Entry

My entry for the connected worlds LD challenge. This is my very first time participating in a LD challenge. I had a lot of fun and am extremely satisfied with the game I created.

"Ice Cream Aliens" is a challenging puzzle platformer game without any jumping! Venture off to various colorful puzzle worlds that all connect to each other, meet aliens and get the ice cream at the end!

Controls: Move with WASD or Arrow Keys
Use the mouse to interact with some stuff.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#251Graphics3.62
#527Theme3.30
#585Fun3.00
#586Overall3.18
#611Innovation3.09
#1626Coolness37%

Comments

INC$D021 says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 6:26am

Like the graphics. Nice take on the theme. :)

zkenshin says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 6:32pm

Quite a pretty entry. Well done. :)

Konrad Zegis says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 6:46pm

Nice graphics. I've feeling that after some polish it'd be great platform for children :D

RFMTeam says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 1:03pm

Darn those red blocks...

snowconesolid says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 12:09am

Haha thanks guys. @RFMTeam, yeah those red ones will get ya :) its all about timing. And you can run across the red blocks diagonally. Diagonal running is the key! ;)

nerd burglars says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 12:16am

Fun and challenging! Nice!

hbocao says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 12:19am

Nice mechanics and graphics. Maybe adding checkpoints after each puzzle?

DragonInstall says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 12:20am

Very good graphic. Like the shader. Simple yet good gameplay.
If you plan on improving this in the future you could use some camera work and check points.

Resonious says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 12:21am

Definitely teaches you to appreciate being able to jump in most platformers!

JoeEliTommy says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 12:51am

Nice 3D platformer with no jumping! The graphics are nice and the game is reasonably fun.

The camera motion could be better, but I eventually got used to it.

The yellow blocks made me hate your game designer's rotten guts. I guessed incorrectly 3 times and had to start over at the beginning each time. Furthermore, I was dissatisfied with the "correct" arrow because it turned out to just be a teleportation tile rather than a moving platform like everything else. If I had known I was looking for a teleport block, I might've been able to guess correctly on the first try!

Otherwise, great job!
-- Tommy

snowconesolid says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 2:54am

Thanks for the kind comments everyone! :)

@JoelEliTommy, haha I actually hated myself a little bit to after creating the yellow blocks section. Especially since there is no check points, the yellow blocks section has to be the most hated part of my game. lol :)

tchem says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 3:16am

Great mechanic and theme idea.... i like the game design difficult,, cool!!!

Crefossus says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 6:30am

The camera control could use some work (possible right click to have complete rotation control?) however it does work somewhat without being too frustrating.

I like how you didn't lock each section so that you could rush past it if you die (like falling onto the first straight away). However, there should be checkpoints especially for the "fake arrow" on as I didn't want to replay the entire game to get there again. Maybe make the fake arrow more obvious?

The chat bubbles were nice, however maybe they could have the same text on both sides so you can read it if your camera rotates around.

Crowbeak says ...
Aug 29, 2014 @ 11:58am

This is a great idea, but the controls killed it for me.

skiddings says ...
Aug 30, 2014 @ 12:05pm

It's good, but some form of checkpointing would have helped!

Trilby says ...
Aug 30, 2014 @ 11:40pm

It's a nice looking game.

The camera angles are a bit annoying at times and the speech bubbles are also annoying when they're backwards.

tiff says ...
Sep 6, 2014 @ 12:40am

Great job with the graphics!!

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]