Ludum Dare 30 — August 22nd-25th, 2014 — Theme: Connected Worlds

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend (Games) | MiniLD #53 | Wallpaper (1) (2) (3) | Mailing List ]

Back to Browse Entries

Seeds of Hope

by lucidsheep - 48 Hour Compo Entry

Tools used:

Code: FlashDevelop (AS3), Flixel
Graphics: Paint.net
Music: Autotracker
Sfx: BFXR

I wanted to do something with parallel worlds without going for a super obvious approach. Several elements of the wild-west world influence the plant world, and vice-versa. Some are more subtle than others.

The game has four endings; the "true" ending is pretty hard to get, so congrats if you can reach it!

Please follow me on Twitter if you'd like to see more by me!

http://www.twitter.com/lucidsheep

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness66%
#568Mood2.97
#582Audio2.67
#773Innovation2.86
#774Theme2.91
#776Humor2.00
#777Graphics2.76
#816Overall2.95
#850Fun2.70

Comments

capsizedmoose says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 3:56am

the accuracy is WAY to bad :/

gillenew says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 4:11am

pretty hard to play, but thought it was cool

shashwat says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 6:32am

Very hard to shoot accurately. And just one shot stays on the screen at a time. One bullet fired incorrectly means you're effectively dead.

danidre14 says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 4:02am

I got the INFINITY ending, which is the best ending to the game! I think!

lucidsheep says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 7:53am

Thanks for the feedback guys. Darn, so temping to go back and tweak the accuracy values a little, but that would be cheating! @danidre14, that's the second best ending. There's a TRUE ENDING as well; the game hints at how to reach it, but it's tough. Kudos if you can find it!

mrexcessive says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 8:54am

Hi there... Interesting game, like the timeout from fighting in the garden, though that was manic second time around. Like the writing too. Good job!

Josh Riley says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 3:21pm

Had fun, and really liked the going back and forth between the two game modes, I think it kept things fresh a lot longer.

Like other's said, the starting accuracy is a little crazy haha, but I put all my points into it after the first round and it wasn't an issue anymore.

kirbytails7 says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 5:26am

I like how the accuracy started very low and could be upgraded. Also, the multiple endings were nice.

nonetheless says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 1:36pm

Nice idea, it's good to have the rest from shooting for some gardening. Great job :)

PapyGaragos says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 6:51pm

You should say somewhere in the description that there is more than the poor accuray part at the beginning, because that one is REALLY frustrating. I have to admit I was tempted to quit but I didn't only because I saw in the screenshots that there was something else

Aug 27, 2014 @ 7:08pm

At first I thought the accuracy was bugged then I discovered it could be upgraded. That's a nice touch. I tried to get to the good ending (at least I thought so) but it's hard!

DeathPidgeon says ...
Sep 7, 2014 @ 6:50am

This was an interesting approach to the theme. I liked the game play.

Noah Ratcliff says ...
Sep 7, 2014 @ 3:10pm

Cool idea, however the accuracy was unbearably bad at times.

Artamus says ...
Sep 7, 2014 @ 3:56pm

Nice game, congrats!

sephyka says ...
Sep 8, 2014 @ 12:01pm

It isn't very easy but interesting entry. I like the simple graphics using pixels.

Xanjos says ...
Sep 9, 2014 @ 12:50am

Pretty interesting game. I actually like how your actions in the plant world can help upgrade your character in the wild west world.

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]