Ludum Dare 30 — August 22nd-25th, 2014 — Theme: Connected Worlds

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend (Games) | MiniLD #53 | Wallpaper (1) (2) (3) | Mailing List ]

Back to Browse Entries

connected dimensions

by akios - 48 Hour Compo Entry

so this is my first LD project

i finish the game with 2 game mechanics but unfortunately i only made 3 scenarios because all the mechanics were very buggy and takes lots of time to code (it looks something very simple but believe is hard)

and i will continue doing scenarios and mechanics for the game so if you like the idea you can found the game and my other ones

i know modelling a bit but i dont edit images, so all the scenarios and the gun were made on blender the scenario with just baked occ map, the remain textures were made on paint

so is this, i hope you like the simple idea of the game, and im sorry if its to short (and the lack of textures)

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#455Theme3.39
#649Innovation3.04
#653Graphics2.96
#755Mood2.76
#825Audio2.17
#868Overall2.89
#870Fun2.68
#1204Coolness49%

Comments

akios says ...
Aug 23, 2014 @ 1:39pm

unfortunately i had problems to put the game on web player, and i really need sleep. so i will do this later.

akios says ...
Aug 23, 2014 @ 2:06pm

just fixed, web is working on Kongregate

CrazyDog says ...
Aug 23, 2014 @ 2:06pm

it wont download, but by looking at pictures you have good chance at winning :D

CrazyDog says ...
Aug 23, 2014 @ 2:10pm

9/10 great job

lordofgears2 says ...
Aug 23, 2014 @ 3:40pm

No Linux support. You should make a linux build, a lot of linux people play and dev for Ludum Dare.

akios says ...
Aug 24, 2014 @ 2:27pm

i dont have linux :/

billknye says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 8:07pm

Could be a fun concept. My only real complaint is the controls are a bit mushy.

Aug 25, 2014 @ 8:07pm

Awesome idea, love the two dimensions in a first person view

JetL33t says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 4:00pm

Controls a bit floaty (web version) but solid and fun game. Played a few levels and I like it.

blindfox says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 4:01pm

Not bad overall, but movement was really sluggish and looking around was way too responsive. The level design is not bad, though it isn't particularly challenging. Good proof of concept here, but my personal recommendation would be taking away the pistol and replacing it with a different item. Having a pistol doesn't make too much sense when it changes the whole room.

uberscientist says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 4:07pm

That last level was interesting, it was hard to tell where the yellow block was at the end, the top and side were just one big yellow field... I solved it by walking down to the end and using the contrast against the grey wall. gg

RawboSaurX says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 4:09pm

I enjoyed it, but the gameplay is a bit slow and it makes the game seem boring. But I do like the concept and even the artwork even if it's lacking texture. It's a nice look.

akios says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 5:13pm

@blindfox the design in first two levels were made to be for player adaptation to the mechanics, the parkour will not be challenging if the movement were not floaty XD think about that, i will think about replacing the pistol for some other equipment

and thank you for the constructive critiques, glad you like the concept

akios says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 5:14pm

@uberscientist ill solve that, thank you very much for telling

akios says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 5:16pm

@RawboSaurX i will make a bit faster , thank you very much ^^

orukinawa says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 5:18pm

Reminded a lot of portal :)

Aug 27, 2014 @ 6:32am

The controls are too imprecise to have challenge on platform. Well done for the mecanics, my friend made something approaching and it seemed to be hard to code (the game is called confusing landscapes). And doesn't look like portal it look like antichamber (best game ever). Good job.

Simon says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 8:56am

The controls are too slow and it lacks levels but it's very pleasing to play. Well done!

mrexcessive says ...
Aug 29, 2014 @ 3:33pm

Hi there. Ran fine on web/Chrome/W8.1 for me. I had trouble with the wall jumping just after getting the dimension-switching-gun. There wasn't enough around to see to decide when to jump... a third person camera would have been much more doable - I realise that's more work though. Good job overall!

glbs says ...
Aug 29, 2014 @ 11:11pm

I think that the imprecise controls disserves your idea adding frustration to phases that would be great otherwise.
You could fine tune this and add a bit more levels to improve the player experience a lot. Your textureless graphics look beautiful that way, you shouldn't excuse yourself :)

dancingmad says ...
Sep 8, 2014 @ 6:59pm

Quite pleasing, and the graphics aren't bad for paint ;)

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]