Ludum Dare 30 — August 22nd-25th, 2014 — Theme: Connected Worlds

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend (Games) | MiniLD #53 | Wallpaper (1) (2) (3) | Mailing List ]

Back to Browse Entries

Mike and the Quest for the Missing Ham

by *FaceDesk* - Jam Entry

Controls:

Movement - W, A, S, D
Build - Left Click

RUN IN 1280x720!

BASED ON A TRUE STORY
Introduce yourself to Mike and help him find his missing ham. Connect your worlds by building his.

Made by Team FaceDesk.
Michael Kopp-Jones @mikeykoppj
Rebeka Lewis @rebykschne
Steven Hooke @cpt_hooke

This is our first entry to Ludum Dare ever but our second jam as Team FaceDesk. We hope you enjoy our game!

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#163Humor(Jam)3.05
#502Audio(Jam)2.72
#670Mood(Jam)2.35
#695Theme(Jam)2.17
#722Fun(Jam)2.20
#723Overall(Jam)2.58
#733Innovation(Jam)2.05
#745Graphics(Jam)2.05
#1523Coolness42%

Comments

esayitch says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 6:49pm

Liked the concept here, but I think the graphics need to be a bit more consistent throughout. I loved the parts of it that were low-res mess (like the font), but they don't work alongside the sprite for the main character because it is more high-res.

I also think that the vertical movement mechanics and controls need some tightening up.

Sound was great IMO, and so was the humor! Good luck in the jam :)

Sunflower says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 6:49pm

Alright, the graphics were quite inconsistent, I didn't really felt use of theme here and the engine was somewhat terrible, but this game is so silly that I still like it, somehow. ^^"

Chaoseiro says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 6:50pm

I'm not sure if I liked or not the character talking to me, but the collisions didn't work on many places, and there was a run where I got stuck changing scenes after the cathedral...

Hyoga-3D says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 3:07am

Had some troubles on collision too, I tip so more persons can play you game as you made on unity, you could make a web version, so it's easy and will encourage more people to play.

TeamFaceDesk says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 3:14am

@Hyoga-3D, thanks, if it is possible I will try and get a web version up tomorrow.

TeamFaceDesk says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 5:26pm

The art was shared between two of us, hence way it's a little inconsistent. None of us are really artists so we didn't really have an artistic direction. Thanks for the kind words otherwise! - Steven

nerd burglars says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 9:39pm

Fun and Funny! Thanks for sharing!

danidre14 says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 4:06pm

I like the concept, and the theme was not really all that suitable, but still a great job!

Sanguine says ...
Aug 29, 2014 @ 10:55am

Funny game! Ran into some bugs though, like not being able to build sometimes and the default resolution wouldn't show the full level.

ReactorScram says ...
Aug 30, 2014 @ 6:14pm

I couldn't figure out what to do. I eventually got the player character to walk in from the left side of the screen, but after lots of running, jumping, and clicking on things, I couldn't figure out how to progress.

teamawesome says ...
Aug 31, 2014 @ 5:23pm

ReactorScram - the default res has an issue here but I think any widescreen res should work.

teamawesome says ...
Aug 31, 2014 @ 5:24pm

Quite a buggy game, I lost the character to a different screen at one point. Enjoyed the music and the humour. Was the theme link the world of the player and the world of the character?

mocker says ...
Aug 31, 2014 @ 5:46pm

I couldn't do anything, the resolution left the sides clipped. After the "someone stole my ham" dialogue I just ran back and forth clicking and nothing happened.

Nooner Bear says ...
Aug 31, 2014 @ 10:26pm

Ran into a few issues, but not a bad game at all. Good use of humor.

Sep 8, 2014 @ 6:59pm

Link ham and cheese and that's it. I couldn't play it correctly, it went out of the screen on one side or the other and did not go to another screen. But I hope the quest for ham continues! Nice try.

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]