Ludum Dare 30 — August 22nd-25th, 2014 — Theme: Connected Worlds

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend (Games) | MiniLD #53 | Wallpaper (1) (2) (3) | Mailing List ]

Back to Browse Entries

Galaxy Bowling

by suyoku - 48 Hour Compo Entry

This is my first game done in Unity (and my first Game Jam done alone). I went in the opposite direction of the theme, and made a game about disconnecting world instead via explosives. The main mechanic is angling your rocket and accounting for gravity to snake your rocket into a shiny galaxy system.

I'm pretty happy with how it came out. The game mechanic played out exactly how I imagined in my head, and so that was exciting to see on screen.

I spent a lot of time just learning the tools but luckily a lot of the artwork could just be handled with perlin noise and shaders, so I think that saved me time in the end. I wish I had been able to generate more levels but unfortunately I spent much too much time making it look nice and not as much on the level design. I really would have liked to have had more of a puzzle-type game play since the current gameplay is more trial-error, but unfortunately time just didn't permit it. I really wanted black holes, but maybe another time.

Thanks for checking out my game!

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#61Fun3.83
#241Audio3.27
#248Overall3.54
#317Graphics3.48
#389Humor2.61
#534Mood3.00
#538Innovation3.18
#650Theme3.13
#1694Coolness35%

Comments

gillenew says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 3:25am

this kind of mechanics that uses gravity is cool, nice game!

r0x0r says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 5:35am

the linux link, is the same as the source code

suyoku says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 5:44am

Thanks for pointing that out, I've fixed the linux link.

micdoodle8 says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 6:23am

Nice job, I expected this to be a regular bowling game :P Turns out it was much more innovative.

Jaenis says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 6:27am

Great game! Nice to see a linux game here! Fun to play, last level took a while before I found out that I can zoom out with Q and then it was possible to complete.

Aug 25, 2014 @ 6:30am

What a fun game! Great use of the idea of gravity wells to drag the missiles across. Got totally stuck on that third level though!

r0x0r says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 7:19am

Nice game! i'm a rocket spammer =P

3CGames says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 2:14am

Great-looking planets, nice and simple and fun.

H1S2 says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 2:17am

interresting interpretation of the theme.

ruthiepee says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 2:18am

First time using Unity AND first game jam?... No way. I'm seriously impressed. I like that the puzzle aspects of gameplay (e.g. limiting the number of shots you can take) are gone-- the frustration of restarting a level over and over isn't worth it. Sometimes it's fun to just shoot missiles all over the place. Anyway, the gameplay is a blast (ha ha ha) and the gravity system you've made is really nice. No bugs as far as I could tell. I couldn't get past the 6th level or so (the one that's in the thumbnail). Anyway, thoroughly enjoyed it, thanks for submitting!!

Marcellus says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 2:18am

reminds me too much of gravity wars but I had fun playing until the last level. Great use of the theme, it was connectED worlds and not connectING worlds, and your game is the first one that took it the right way. very good entry.

Rothens says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 2:19am

I really loved this entry :) I've made a planetary simulation arount a month ago, and I love things like this. ^^

halogenica says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 4:29pm

I love the procedural planets, and the gameplay is solid. Very impressive that you completed all the major aspects to the game (usually people cut sound/music and tutorials to make up time), especially for your first individual LD! I got stuck at the level with the 3 planets blocking the galaxy, and another red/orange planet sweeping across the screen. Great job!

OrangeeZ says ...
Sep 8, 2014 @ 7:07pm

Man, that last level was HELL! Great entry, the lo-fi graphics looked good and physics was pretty awesome!

skiddings says ...
Sep 8, 2014 @ 7:41pm

Took me a while to work out I could zoom out.

shatterhand says ...
Sep 8, 2014 @ 7:46pm

The music was made with thay Python program that does music automatically, wasn't it? :D

I liked the game overall. It seems that a missile travels out of screen its not destroyed at all, and if you keep firing like crazy the game starts to crawl, probably because there are dozens of missiles out of screen doing nothing that should had been removed from the game :P

Ramiel says ...
Sep 11, 2014 @ 8:31am

Very cool game. It's quite fun to play. I think the trial-and-error form it has now might be more fun to play than a puzzle-type gameplay might have been. Great entry.

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]