Ludum Dare 30 — August 22nd-25th, 2014 — Theme: Connected Worlds

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend (Games) | MiniLD #53 | Wallpaper (1) (2) (3) | Mailing List ]

Back to Browse Entries

InterSection

by Miziziziz - 48 Hour Compo Entry

There are two worlds , the world of X and the world of Z, united upon one point, the Y axis.
The Y axis has come alive and desires to explore to the ends of both the X and Z worlds.

Mechanics: both axises are always aligned with you. If you move down the X axis, the Z will follow you. The same vice versa. Use both worlds to surmount obstacles impossible in only one.

Controls are WASD & mouse.
I suggest using the minimap to not lose orientation; realizing now I should've added some sort of compass :/

used Unity and Paint.net

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness79%
Innovation4.66
#10Theme4.32
#102Overall3.77
#239Fun3.45
#395Mood3.18
#776Humor2.00
#827Graphics2.67

Comments

maxkm5st1 says ...
Aug 24, 2014 @ 6:58pm

amazing i would buy this

TheJJ100100 says ...
Aug 24, 2014 @ 8:53pm

That is the best game I've seen so far! It's got many possibilities!

Geckoo1337 says ...
Aug 24, 2014 @ 9:39pm

It's an interesting concept - maybe with too pure design, but cool ++

thedashdude says ...
Aug 24, 2014 @ 11:49pm

I couldn't find an exit to the first level. Amazing, a little clarity would be nice. Not that I did better.

Miziziziz says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 12:27am

thanks for the compliments everyone.
To 'end' the game, you connect the gold boxes to eachother

thedashdude says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 1:22am

How do you vote? I want to vote.

Miziziziz says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 1:28am

I belive you can't until the submission hour is over

nintendoeats says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 3:12am

Interesting. I don't know where it could go beyond changing heights, but there must be some potential in there. It did find it very easy to get confused about which key was going to do what.

BinaryPie says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 3:13am

Cool take on the theme. Easy to loose you orientation though.

Cody Ward says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 3:18am

Great take on the theme, this is a really cool idea. And well executed as well!

Tom 7 says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 3:22am

This is a really neat idea, but I feel stuck in the first section, after going under the red overhang and then eventually coming to a dead-end. Hints?

vividhelix says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 3:36am

I liked this idea a lot! Very original!

Miziziziz says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 4:02am

@Tom 7
if you get stuck on one axis, it usually means you need to progress on the other axis. They work together. If you can't progress on either, try going back on one of them.

@nintendoeats
That's what kinda stumped me. I'm not really sure where to take this; I was thinking of maybe trying out levels with a Y plane that keeps the same height as your player, or maybe Anamoly blocks that don't move at all. Or I could make a sort of FPS dual-platformer rpg ;). Or mario in two directions, heh.

PapaCheech says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 4:21am

very mind bending, and gave me a real sense of vertigo when I looked around. nice job

PowerSpark says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 5:12am

This game deserves it's own category: Mind-Blown

kirbytails7 says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 5:17am

Great idea! As noted, the design is a bit artificial, but it's really neat.

khahem says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 5:23am

Very interesting, I wonder if it's possible to expand it by adding more connected dimensions, with keys to select in which subset you want to travel.

fserb says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 5:35am

great concept! :)

Aug 25, 2014 @ 1:11pm

I love this idea. Brilliant.

This is the type of thing I love to see in Ludum Dares.

Fanttum says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 3:10pm

Very cool idea and I liked how it worked. The map was very helpful but i think i got stuck somewhere

DDFranky says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 6:04pm

Wonderful concept! Love it!

NuSan says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 10:35pm

Cool idea and nice game. It give a realy strange feeling to play with axis separated like that.

thedashdude says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 11:23pm

Loved it, Always felt like I was going to fall of the axis.

Team Luminous says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 1:50am

Novel take on the theme, interesting gameplay mechanics.

andrewkennedy says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 1:51am

I got a little lost - but it was a pretty neat concept!

shimage says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 7:09am

It is quite new experience for me. Good work!

mechabit says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 2:48pm

The screen shots reminded me of the old pipes screensaver on windows 98. The use of theme and game mechanics are godly but not sure if it could be expanded to a full game. The moving platforms actually reminded me of the moving gantry bit in the film hitch hiker's guide to the galaxy for some reason lol. Good job.

jgthespy says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 5:46pm

Wow this is incredibly clever. I'd love to see it expanded on. Excellent work!

OFF says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 10:02pm

This is insane.
The idea is brillant, but not enough explain, when you understant exactly how to perform that's really amazing.

The level design is maybe not perfect but we could imagine expansion on the same idea, to make it more playable.

The idea of the two views help a lot, but it's hard to understand to see what we do in the giant screen.

I think that there is a way to make the thing more suitable : working with a small scale level design, that's the player could see from his point of view, with more real-time, ennemies on different track and less puzzle, or removing the big screen to focus on the second view to make it a more abstract puzzle game, more based on action and less on jump, and trajectory.

That's awesome, your insight is so powerful that he could bring so many games. We saw Crush, Fez, Paper Mario, bring the play between 2D and 3D, you could imagine the same with the play between 2D and 2D ;)

Miziziziz says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 1:00am

@mechabit, haha, now that you point it out, I see the screensaver.

@Off, thanks for the critique and ideas. Good points about the screen; maybe it would be better to focus on the farther away view. Dang. The problem was, I got a bunch of good ideas after the 48 hours were over (I had finished like 8 hours early and was sitting around, :/ ). Thank you so much for the kind words

SnoringFrog says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 2:21am

Super interesting idea, but I just couldn't seem to make much progress.

Aug 27, 2014 @ 4:27am

Great idea! Very interesting, novel game mechanic. I would have liked a little more in-game explanation for how to get started.

ponk says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 6:15pm

IT'S BRILLIANT !!!
So much awesomeness, insanely fabulous

Aug 28, 2014 @ 1:44pm

Such a great concept really enjoyed it and was interesting how easily it would mess with my sense of perception. Challenging but well done puzzle game.

TD5 says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 8:41pm

A bit mind-bending at first, but an awesome idea! I would love to see this idea expanded upon, perhaps adding other objectives or enemies etc.

jukimv1986 says ...
Aug 30, 2014 @ 6:15pm

Wow. Amazing and mind boggling take on the theme. Best approach so far! Could do with some work on the graphics and some UI to help the player, but this idea has lots of potential. Keep developing it!

PapyGaragos says ...
Aug 31, 2014 @ 2:15pm

This is a great idea, but I think the difficulty curve could be a bit better.

With that gameplay you could do puzzles and platforms sections, but the very first challenge you face is both a puzzle and a platform (the first "room" after you go under a red wall).

It was easy to fall from a plateform to. If you are not perfectly aligned to the axis you wich to move in, you will move slowly on the other axis and eventually fall.

Good job overall. clever concept.

Pat AfterMoon says ...
Aug 31, 2014 @ 9:28pm

Very interesting concept, I agree with the compass need, and something that show where the player is looking on the minimap.

Like mentioned below, I see two ways to explore: puzzle, with more complex path and arcade, with enemies and moving platform.

All in all, keep up the good work ;)

alhvi says ...
Sep 6, 2014 @ 11:32pm

Brilliant idea! I only could reach one of the golden spots and after that I fell, made a lot of mistakes and ended locked in two spots where I could not get out. I will take a break a maybe try later. My head hurts of too much thinking XD. Excellent job! :D

Tosic says ...
Sep 15, 2014 @ 6:07pm

Fun and innovative but can get confusing.

Shaun LeBron says ...
Sep 16, 2014 @ 1:00pm

Amazing idea. Love that motion in one dimension doesn't affect the other. Mind-bending.

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]