Ludum Dare 30 — August 22nd-25th, 2014 — Theme: Connected Worlds

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend (Games) | MiniLD #53 | Wallpaper (1) (2) (3) | Mailing List ]

Back to Browse Entries

KHIVY

by PhilippeAnder - Jam Entry

KHIVY



The evil aliens are bringing chaos to the

world. And now kidnapped RoboGirl and

dismantled your parts. You have to recover

the pieces of RoboGirl and bring her back to

life.



SPACE TO SHOOT

ARROW KEYS TOMOVE



PROGRAMMER: JANIO SOUZA

ARTE E AUDIO: PHILIPPE ANDERSON

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#204Theme(Jam)3.55
#304Graphics(Jam)3.57
#345Audio(Jam)3.16
#461Mood(Jam)2.94
#487Innovation(Jam)2.85
#548Fun(Jam)2.74
#594Overall(Jam)2.90
#1659Coolness36%

Comments

abayb says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 5:24pm

Pretty cool! I liked the music a lot. My biggest complaint is that the graphics are really hard to read, and I had an extremely difficult time identifying platforms.

CryoGenesis says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 5:24pm

Great implementation of the theme. Good graphics and audio also.

JangoBrick says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 5:26pm

Good idea, remarkable graphics and audio, also pretty fun.

bb_buster says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 5:34pm

I like the concept after I got my head around it a little :P at first I was a little confused about being upside down.
The flipping between worlds could do with tweaking because it was a little difficult at times to get it to register and I'm not 100% sure what the 2 bars represented in the top left corner as they seemed to go down as soon as the game started.
But other than those 2 points I like the concept and would love to see it further polished. Good job and well done :)

tschmitz says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 5:37pm

Always nice to see a 2D platformer with gravity reversal. The graphics and music were quite nice. The theme is satisfied by the upper planet and lower planet with interacting gravity.

Without a health bar or other indicator, it was difficult to tell how much danger I was in. The enemies were tough to avoid, which was frustrating, but I was able to survive quite a lot of hits. A victory screen would have been nice, so that I could feel absolutely certain that I defeated the final enemy, and not the other way around (and that I collected all the robot parts!).

The gravity reversal was also frustrating because it was difficult to understand when the reversals would happen. At one point, I found myself standing on the underside of a grassy platform, which didn't seem to make sense.

darkshadow says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 5:40pm

The game would have played better if switching between the up/down orientation was done with a button. It was changing erratically, which made platforming annoying at times.

I think a health bar and game over/you win screens would also have been nice. The art is pretty neat, and it was fun to play anyway!

lion123 says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 5:54pm

Very good graphics and sounds. Good luck on the compo!

creative630 says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 7:57pm

Cool, I finished it. I liked the artwork and parallax. The music also created quite a dark/bleak setting which was awesome. I would have liked a health bar, also I found it really confusing to tell when you would flip gravity.

dook says ...
Sep 3, 2014 @ 7:53pm

Sweet little platformer. The graphics and music was great, I also found it pretty hard to see what was going on, and the gravity switching was a little awkward at times. Very solid entry all in all, though!

torvik88 says ...
Sep 8, 2014 @ 6:51pm

Simple but fun game. Spot on the sounds, graphics and gameplay. Really nice game.

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]