Ludum Dare 30 — August 22nd-25th, 2014 — Theme: Connected Worlds

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend (Games) | MiniLD #53 | Wallpaper (1) (2) (3) | Mailing List ]

Back to Browse Entries

Reach

by Caliber_Project - Jam Entry

This unfinished text-based novel is created in Twine and my Debut entry to Ludum Dare. Reach is about a lonesome resident living in a motel, who experiences certain dreams when interacting with people.

I do have an interest in improving it in the future,where I would like to include audio (especially ambient) for instance that fits with the scenarios.

[Update 8-26-2014]
- Link has been fixed. Thanks Snoother!

The theme within context of the game is supposed to have symbolism socially and metaphorically.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#423Mood(Jam)3.00
#614Innovation(Jam)2.58
#698Theme(Jam)2.16
#749Fun(Jam)2.00
#762Overall(Jam)2.36
#1694Coolness35%

Comments

Snoother says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 11:46am

It has promise, and it's good that you fiddled with the default Twine format to make it look more unique. But obviously it isn't complete so it's hard to fully judge.

Also I recommend that you host it on http://philome.la/ At the moment you've put it up as a web link but it actually has to be downloaded -- this will probably annoy people, trust me, and you may well lose potential players because of it.

Aug 26, 2014 @ 6:35pm

Thanks Snoother for the hosted site referral. I recently edited the link for quick acess.

Capitals says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 8:06pm

It's always difficult to rate text adventures, usually the stories are not interesting and I often am watching something while I test these games. This caught me off guard.

Spang says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 8:08pm

Nice Novel ^^, thanks for changing the link now works better.

bluemaroo3 says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 8:13pm

Great to see another twine story/game on here. Good luck with developing it further post jam :)

OinkIguana says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 8:15pm

Interesting story, but I kept reaching unfinished endings and then gave up trying to find a not-unfinished one. There were also a few typos in the text. No sound or graphics, due to it being a text game. The layout was fine, but didn't seem to add to the lonely motel guy atmosphere.

PixelFeet says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 2:35pm

Very interesting story, wished to have seen more of it completed but i totally understand not having time for it all.

GrooveMan says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 8:51am

It's always a shame when text-based entries have unfinished dead ends. Sometimes narrowing your scope and revising your story so what you /do/ have comes to a functional conclusion is the best option, even if it's not your initial vision.

PaperBlurt says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 9:25am

A good start, but would be fun to see the entire thing.

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]