Ludum Dare 30 — August 22nd-25th, 2014 — Theme: Connected Worlds

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend (Games) | MiniLD #53 | Wallpaper (1) (2) (3) | Mailing List ]

Back to Browse Entries

Soul'd Out

by puppymythril - Jam Entry

Our first game jam! We are very inexperienced, so the game might feel a little bit incomplete. There is no game over screen, so if you fail just reload it.

Kat has been trapped in a dungeon. But this isn't any dungeon. Adventurers who enter it must master their presence both in the world of the living and of the dead in order to survive! Defeat enemies in the living world to send their souls to the underworld. collect enough souls and you gain more health, but beware: traps in the underworld will hurt your living body!

Controls:
movement: arrow keys
attack: space
reload game: R

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#260Theme(Jam)3.43
#326Graphics(Jam)3.52
#399Humor(Jam)2.38
#528Innovation(Jam)2.78
#553Mood(Jam)2.78
#695Fun(Jam)2.35
#700Overall(Jam)2.65
#1598Coolness39%

Comments

everystone says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 3:40pm

Cool concept, nice graphics, bit buggy. Enemies stacking on top of each other etc.

Techblogogy says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 4:36pm

Very nice.

puppymythril says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 6:59pm

The enemy stacking issue is due to a little problem with triggers that I only realized I forgot to turn on after submissions were over. I swear they aren't as stupid in the dev version :P

Rage Paint says ...
Aug 29, 2014 @ 11:38pm

Cute little graphics / animations

pansapiens says ...
Aug 30, 2014 @ 6:59am

Very cute little character sprites :) This is an interesting mechanic to explore, although I found switching my gaze constantly between two panels a little distracting. One alternative would be to overlay the left and right panels (with the underworld one being more transparent) .. maybe with the spirit-you slightly trailing the position of the real-you. It may become too cluttered to look at like this, but tweaked right it could turn out feeling more natural.

rd127p77 says ...
Aug 31, 2014 @ 2:03am

Love the graphics and idea, also a little buggy but other than that enjoyable to play.

AlbertoSM says ...
Aug 31, 2014 @ 10:44am

Might have been better with some sound. Cool idea, but it needs better implementation.

puppymythril says ...
Aug 31, 2014 @ 4:39pm

Thanks for the feedback, everyone!

Regarding sound, I won't lie, neither of us are very experienced, so we thought it was more important to get at least the core concept on a playable (albeit buggy) state before worrying about "refinements". That said, I do realize sound could go a long way with cues that can guide the experience better (say, traps warning before they trigger)

Aug 31, 2014 @ 5:57pm

Very nice graphics, game view size was too small to see anything, I had to zoom it up. Other than that it was cool.

jukimv1986 says ...
Sep 1, 2014 @ 12:59am

It does feel incomplete, and it is difficult to play, but at the same time it is a very nice result for being your first game jam. Good effort!

yodamaster says ...
Sep 2, 2014 @ 11:30am

Yeah, nice idea. Debug please, then add sounds and meaning and levels.

sephyka says ...
Sep 2, 2014 @ 3:37pm

Cool entry. Graphics are nice. I also really like the gameplay idea which is very interesting. As you says it a bit incomplete, it might be great with more polish and sounds/music.

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]