Ludum Dare 30 — August 22nd-25th, 2014 — Theme: Connected Worlds

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend (Games) | MiniLD #53 | Wallpaper (1) (2) (3) | Mailing List ]

Back to Browse Entries

Tether

by Jamage - Jam Entry

Two planets are trapped in an asteroid field and their only resource is an energy tether that locks them together. Destroy asteroids with the tether and try not to let anything hit the planets!


"Pure" Experience: WASD -> Move


Extra: "E" reverses auto-rotation
"Q" toggles manual rotation with Left and Right Arrow Keys


Unity project done in 72 hours, with 16 hours spent at work in the middle.


By: Joel MacFadyen
Twitter: @JamageArts


Thanks to Bongi Chirunga (@ChiruroM) for some code guidance~

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#1948Coolness22%

Comments

ZNCatlaw says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 4:34pm

The link says "web" but is a link to a Unity Web player, which does not support Linux. Could you provide a linux build for download (or at least change the "web" link to say "Unity Web"?)? Thanks! (your game looks cool and I want to play).

Jamage says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 7:02pm

Hey ZNCatlaw, sorry about that!

I built out a new version that you should be able to download and edited the web link so that it's more accurate.

Thank you for the comment! I hope you enjoy :)

pythong says ...
Sep 12, 2014 @ 10:16am

dude. this is LD, and with just a few days left and you having just a few ratings, I was wondering how many entries of others you already rated. looks like you rated: 0. if you don't rate other ppls games, your game won't appear on the to-rate-lists and you get a "loser" status :/ so get to rating ASAP! like..now!

Jamage says ...
Sep 15, 2014 @ 1:40am

Aaah! This is my first time so I wasn't really sure how it all works. :O
I'll try to play and rate a bunch of people tonight! Thanks for the heads up!

Linkigi says ...
Sep 15, 2014 @ 1:47am

Wow this game is really tough. It's fun. It could've been improved with different sounds for when the planets got hit or the tether got hit so you don't have to keep looking up to check what happened. Then again, I suppose that's a risk/reward in itself.

porglezomp says ...
Sep 15, 2014 @ 2:13am

This is tough. I'm glad you added to options to make it easier, things like that are always a nice touch. What I feel is wrong here, is that with manual turning it's boring, and with automatic it's just frustrating.

Some balancing needs to be done to make this properly fun, perhaps making the connecter longer would help some?

Nut says ...
Sep 15, 2014 @ 3:32pm

The rotation is too fast! I can't hit anything unless I switch to manual.

Jamage says ...
Sep 15, 2014 @ 3:42pm

Thanks for the feedback everyone~ It looks like I need to take some time to really balance the size and pacing of everything!

I wanna come back and polish this at some point, add power-ups (invincibility, connector length changes, planet size), actual graphics, different planet formations, etc. :)

CoolIron says ...
Sep 15, 2014 @ 5:56pm

Good work! Yeah, I'm first timer too and you need to rate other games in order to get your game rated :) Good luck!

Tosic says ...
Sep 15, 2014 @ 6:03pm

Very innovative idea, the game is very fun as well! :D

romandtom says ...
Sep 15, 2014 @ 9:57pm

Liked your game, never seen somthing like it before
Its funny how the more you try to plan is the more you fail lol.
my high score is 10 :)

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]