Ludum Dare 30 — August 22nd-25th, 2014 — Theme: Connected Worlds

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend (Games) | MiniLD #53 | Wallpaper (1) (2) (3) | Mailing List ]

Back to Browse Entries

Shared Destiny

by Pesty - 48 Hour Compo Entry

A vague story open to interpretation, portrayed in the form of puzzles.

Let me know how far you get by level number/name!

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#144Theme3.81
#269Overall3.50
#318Fun3.33
#475Mood3.08
#479Innovation3.26
#752Humor2.06
#897Graphics2.54
#1265Coolness48%

Comments

ShaunJS says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 6:52pm

I like it! I think it's cool you managed to get so much content out of just a few mechanics. The difficulty ramps up very quickly, but the mechanics are very easy to get to grips with!

I think gameplay wise one of my only concerns would be that some levels take a very long time, or look very intimidating from the beginning which may dissuade people from playing to completion. This is always something to be wary of in single-screen puzzles. Especially where failure resets the whole thing. My own entry is guilty of this sometimes as well.

I think you focused on the right things, and 'did what you could' with the presentation to give it a neat aesthetic despite obviously being very simple. Always the wise choice if you're not artistically confident.

Good stuff!

Andrew Adams says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 9:58pm

Why you no Mac?

Pesty says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 10:04pm

I have no mac of my own for testing i'm afraid, sorry

Jellycakes says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 10:19pm

Pretty cool, nice mechanic and I liked the meaning behind some of the gameplay. Nice work.

OnlySlightly says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 10:21pm

Really cool mechanic and very challenging puzzles. Great job!

OFF says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 10:25pm

Simple but powerful, you made real intersting level but maybe you could imagine a morepregressive way. The black and white style is intersting but the graphics and the font could be maybe better to create a more trendy look, more classic.

Actually some level are maybe too scary for a free game, even if there is a solution...

At the end i'm always impressed by puzzle design and here it's well done even with hard puzzle... the hardest to design ;)

Konrad Zegis says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 11:32pm

Great submission!

I really appreciate your level design - I once created puzzle game and 99% of comments was "it's too easy", while difficulty in yours scale up nicely.

KuGrou says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 2:36am

Good job, I like that it feels like there's a good variety to the puzzles using the simple mechanics.

MattThePie says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 5:37pm

Really clever puzzles, not too keen on the story though..

danidre14 says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 3:19pm

It's great! Mechanics, and all that!

Aug 28, 2014 @ 4:08pm

Soooo great level deign! Very good entry!

Rehacked says ...
Aug 29, 2014 @ 10:58am

Good idea And Level design.

Aug 29, 2014 @ 11:58am

Liked the game a lot. It is an easy to play - hard to master mechanic, very clever level design, and lot of fun to play.

CodeNMore says ...
Aug 29, 2014 @ 7:20pm

Difficult, fun, simple! Great!

Aug 29, 2014 @ 8:35pm

The fact that you restart the level when you touch something is very annoying in a puzzle game.

I love it when someone tries to tell a story with a game though, keep it up :)

I made it to "Don't get distracted" before getting frustrated.

DvanderAart says ...
Sep 3, 2014 @ 7:31pm

I like the concept and it works well. I have seen this done a bit more polished but very nice going on this one.

apiotrw says ...
Sep 13, 2014 @ 4:19pm

Solid entry

Catmoo says ...
Sep 15, 2014 @ 7:05pm

The game works really well and can get quite tricky to master, but it seems to always be accomplishable. Very good puzzle design!

DesignerNap says ...
Sep 15, 2014 @ 7:23pm

Great solid design skills here. I really appreciate the thought of the puzzles. A bit of audio and you have a great game here!

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]