Ludum Dare 30 — August 22nd-25th, 2014 — Theme: Connected Worlds

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend (Games) | MiniLD #53 | Wallpaper (1) (2) (3) | Mailing List ]

Back to Browse Entries

Station 42

by seurimas - 48 Hour Compo Entry

http://properprotagonist.wordpress.com/

Hack your friends in this local multiplayer game. Traverse the boundaries of your universe to hop between worlds to gain an edge. Hack sentries to lay traps for your enemies. Hack portals to score points. Hack your opponents to send them across worlds.

* 3 levels
* Ouya support.
* Controller support.
* Seats 2-4 players.

WASD/TFGH/IJKL/Arrows - Move
Q/R/U/Left Mouse Button - Hack
E/Y/O/Right Mouse Button - Hop worlds

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness62%
#552Innovation3.16
#554Theme3.26
#694Humor2.13
#714Audio2.40
#830Fun2.72
#922Mood2.54
#950Overall2.79
#1037Graphics2.29

Comments

Bemmu says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 3:41am

Didn't have someone to try this with, so I could only imagine what a two player game might be like. It seems like hacking turrets wouldn't be very useful, as it tends to deal more damage to the person hacking it than it likely ever would to the enemy.

Hopping between worlds made this on-theme and is also an interesting gameplay element, although it seems like it would make it even less likely for the players to interact. I'm concerned this might turn the gameplay into mostly wandering alone and capturing flags (I mean hacking portals).

Someone try this with a group of people and report how it was in reality!

seurimas says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 3:53am

That's too bad, Bemmu, understandable though; I didn't get a chance to try it with anyone else either.

The "ideal" gameplay would involve players setting traps with turrets, then hacking their enemies into the other world to drop them into them. This is (supposedly) encouraged by level design where 1 or 2 portals are accompanied by turrets in one world.

NickFrushour says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 4:49am

Played solo, but would be a ton of fun with more people!

Jaloko says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 4:57am

Didn't have someone to play with. I can see this being fun with another person.

kidando says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 5:41am

Congrats on finishing the game. I didn't have a person to play this with so I don't know just how awesome it is.

Sogomn says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 6:11am

My OpenGL version is too old to run the game :(

JNyknn says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 3:49pm

Interesting concept. Could not find anyone to play with, but the game was also playable as solo, a bit difficult, though.

Empyrealhell says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 4:41am

Not a bad concept, though I was a little confused on the world switching as a mechanic, at least with only two people. A lot of the turrets and capture points were shared between worlds, so we ended up just hacking at the same things in a bizarre cat-and-mouse game. It was too slow to switch worlds to ever really affect your opponent, they could just run away or see you switching and start switching as well.

It was a good idea, but it needs a lot of tuning before it can really be fun with multiple people.

seurimas says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 5:05am

> It was a good idea, but it needs a lot of tuning before it can really be fun with multiple people.

This is pretty much what I was afraid of/assumed. Thanks though, it's great hearing some feedback from someone who played it multiplayer!

Dietrich Epp says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 5:43am

I think what this game really needs is a good set of instructions (maybe with pictures). It took me a while to figure things out.

gene-z says ...
Aug 29, 2014 @ 10:12am

Interesting ideia, good game, go on...

Aug 30, 2014 @ 7:13pm

Looks very fun, but as most of the people i couldnt play it with someone else. Great work tho (:

Sep 8, 2014 @ 7:15pm

Sorry, I have nobody to play with, but it seemed nice from the description :(

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]