Ludum Dare 30 — August 22nd-25th, 2014 — Theme: Connected Worlds

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend (Games) | MiniLD #53 | Wallpaper (1) (2) (3) | Mailing List ]

Back to Browse Entries

Cosmos Kings

by Mr. - Jam Entry

Art by Vine (vine2d.com)
Music by Ryuno (soundcloud.com/ryunocore)
Programming by Mr. P

W, A, S, D = Movement
Left Click = Fire Weapon

In Cosmos Kings you travel endlessly from floating island to floating island, killing baddies along the way. Never stop moving or you'll find yourself in the abyss.

I (the programmer) had to learn to use Game Maker from the beginning in the process of making this. It was a fun kind of torture.

EDIT: Fixed a last minute bug where new islands would always spawn in the opposite direction.

EDIT: Lowered the enemy spawn rate and lowered the quality of game audio to greatly reduce file size. The theme is also included separately from the game now. I hope this change is not against the rules as I never intended for it to be so ridiculously difficult, I simply had no time to balance it before release.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#49Graphics(Jam)4.39
#66Audio(Jam)3.84
#162Fun(Jam)3.44
#173Overall(Jam)3.54
#210Humor(Jam)2.89
#259Mood(Jam)3.32
#368Theme(Jam)3.19
#608Innovation(Jam)2.59
#1265Coolness48%

Comments

schizokoa says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 9:43pm

Wow, nice one : good graphics, good looks, good idea. Surprised no one commented!

Axebane says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 9:44pm

I really liked this one. Excellent pixel art, fun run & gun gameplay, and satisfying music/sound effects. The only issue I had was that the difficulty seemed a little too high. Maybe ease the player into it after a few minutes of gameplay. Anyway, great work!

Dissiden7 says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 9:46pm

Nice job. I feel it's a bit too harsh. Enemies jump you like there's no tomorrow...
Love the art style. Will give it more goes. Well done. :)

Snicklodocus says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 9:46pm

Very impressive to learn Game Maker in that time frame! The art is really nice. I like the music too. At first I would just stand on the bridge and shoot the enemies, but then I realized I had a time limit so I was more adventurous. Sometimes it's hard to walk across the diagonal bridges. Overall, great job.

schizokoa says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 9:47pm

(It's a bit hard to navigate through diagonal tiles without falling though)

Magdev says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 10:46pm

good job on learning game maker

ZoneOne2 says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 12:06am

Looks and sounds really nice.

capsizedmoose says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 1:30am

wow! them graphics! :O

damrem says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 8:19am

Beautiful, but very difficult!

Pinqu says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 12:26pm

Nice looking game, love the graphics and the atmosphere you created. It can be hard to walk over the bridges though.

PERECil says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 3:07pm

Very cool game, but hard as hell :D. You should ensure that the paths connecting the planets don't do any diagonals as the fall box is a bit unclear.

SkyWolf says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 6:53pm

seems like someone played Nuclear Throne recently ;) it's still a solid entry, with delicious pixel art. Hard as nail. 4/5!

TautNerve says ...
Sep 3, 2014 @ 7:48pm

Gets a little messy at times but overall a really good entry
with very cool visuals and solid audio. I love how the blocks
appear and disappear, well done!

burgerdare says ...
Sep 3, 2014 @ 7:51pm

I like the idea of this game, the graphics and the music are nice, and the combat is satisfying, but everything is ruined by how clunky and needlessly difficult it is to cross over the very thin bridges that the game builds for the player.

Ditto says ...
Sep 5, 2014 @ 4:16pm

You learning gamemaker is both impressive and kindof explains the very minimal gameplay, I pretty much walked halfway across the bridge, clicked until my hand got tired, walked to the next bridge, repeat.. :P
Graphics are super fucking nice, sounds too, and the way the tiles come down look really cool! It's a bit like in Bastion!^^ Great job considering! :D

Ramiel says ...
Sep 8, 2014 @ 7:28pm

Cool game. But the enemies really mean business (played the not-updated version). ;)

Chaoslab says ...
Sep 14, 2014 @ 9:49pm

That was some fun! :-)

01010111 says ...
Sep 15, 2014 @ 12:35am

Such a cool Kings game! Great work man!

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]